Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Editors' Page: 2014 Pickup Trucks
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 2842 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 114 | Next

Great truck, runs well

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great truck, good for work,"

Cons: "Gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have an 03 silverado with a 5.3 and z71 package and this truck runs great. I bought it used with 112k miles and now have 116k on it. When I first bought it we had to replace the transfer case (dropped in used one) because it would grind in 4 low and kept getting a service 4wd error. Catalytic converter went out so replaced that and oxygen sensor to pass emissions. Rear diff had to be replaced because gears got worn out and oil was leaking. Also replaced alternator. However, I do not know how hard the truck has been ridden before I bought it and how much it has been offroading. Ever since I fixed it up it has run fine. Engine has had no problems, neither has transmission. Hauls well, and drives great. It is a great work truck and I use it also as a daily driver. Like I said the only main issues I have had were the diff and the transfer case.I can't blame GM because I do not know the whole history of truck before I bought it. I bought it from a guy who said he got it from Main a year ago but wanted a smaller truck. Has been reliable since and starts right away every time even in winter."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Bought a 2001 in 2013

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, quiet ride, comfortable & practical design"

Cons: "Some interior rattles, not a big conern"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the truck as-is, needed a few minor repairs I did myself. Replaced the radiator, ignition cylinder and heater blower motor resistor circuit. All were not very difficult, I'm not a mechanic. I'm very impressed with the way it rides. The 4.8 V8 engine seems great, smooth, quiet and plenty of power. I like that it doesn't seem as high as Dodge Ram of the same year, makes for easier loading. This truck sure doesn't feel like it has 177k miles on it. It's for occasional use, based on other reports I've seen the high mileage shouldn't be a concern. I like that the truck is not over-designed, I prefer the styling of this generation over anything else."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent Truck. Durable, very dependable

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Milage, durability, dependabiliy"

Cons: "Transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If Chevy would have made Transmission using harder parts where they break most. This truck would be a 10. Had to go to a third party to get transmission rebuilt using better parts then what GM had put in it. Everything else has preformed very nicely."

Power train great, the rest no good

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great drive train, smooth ride"

Cons: "Bad electronics and paint, cheap interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This truck has the 5.3L V8 and has hauled/towed everything I have asked, including a few that should have overloaded it. No issues and minor ordinary repairs to the drive train. The interior on this 2005 truck has been an issue. Most of the electronics (dash cluster, radio, window controls, etc) have been replaced at least once, the headliner is coming down, and the cab is leaking around front and back glass. The sport metallic red paint began peeling off the roof after just 7 years and the hood is now peeling as well."

Best Truck I ever Owned

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very dependable,"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Black Beauty

"This is without a doubt the best truck I have ever owned. Good gas mileage, comfortable, dependable, no problems."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My Black Beauty

Bought new, Best truck I've ever owned

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First used as daily driver first 80k, job gave me vehicle, so it has only been used to tow RV trailer. Tows close to max cap., never breaks a sweat! KBB shows as 3 door, but it's production date was June 2000, so it has some crossover w/2001 model year, including 4 doors."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

SET ASIDE GAS MILAGE, BEST TRUCK TO DATE

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "LOTS OF POWER, LEATHER, HEATED SEATS, BOSE STEREO"

Cons: "13MPG HWY, TORSION SUSPENSION"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

4"CST LIFT 33"BFG'S 2"BLOCKS 2WD

"MY ONLY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS TRUCK IS THAT IT USES TORSION BAR SUSPENSION UP FRONT AND ITS NOT VERY NICE TO YOU WHEN YOU CRANK ON THEM AND ADD A SPINDLE LIFT PLUS BFG A/T TIRES. OTHER THAN THAT, ID TAKE THIS TRUCK OVER A DIESEL FOR RELIABILITY AND IM A HUGE DIESEL FAN. I HAVE NEAR 60K MILES AND BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW. NEVER LETS ME DOWN AND IS VERY DEPENADABLE. WISH I WOULD HAVE GOT THE 4X4 BUT OTHER THAN THAT, NO COMPLAINTS. THIS TRUCK WILL MAKE IT TILL 300K NO PROBLEM."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

4"CST LIFT 33"BFG'S 2"BLOCKS 2WD

The most comfortable, reliable truck ever

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "280,000 miles & going strong."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought a 2013 Silverado equipped the same way this truck was but we sure would have liked to have swapped some of the creature comforts inside the cab for what the 2003 has. The 2003 has much better style and quality of interior. We are loyal Chevy owners. We are sad GMC saw fit to sacrifice what they already had going for them."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2003 Silverado 1500 HD crew

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and powerful"

Cons: "unfinished metal rusting."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the original owner. Have had no major issues at all. Speedometer had problem at 10,000 miles but was corrected under warranty. Steering also had issues (clunking sound over bumps)and was corrected but the problem has returned. The only real complaint I have is the lack of attention to detail with metal preservation. The bumpers and many other metal parts are rusting from the inside out."

Great truck for the money.

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great ride & mileage."

Cons: "Transmission rebuilt like other models I owned."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased used at 29000 miles. Very dependable and get very good fuel mileage. Only consern is the tranny blew at 168000 just like the last two 1500 models I've owned. Even with proper servicing. Put in a rebuilt and it's running great. Fluid & filter changed every 2800-3000 miles. Watched the owner manual for maintenance on vehicle. It's been a great truck but having mental issues with high miles and want something with less mileage. Would like to find another 02 with less miles to replace it. Am having trouble letting it go. It has been a great vehicle but nothing lasts forever."

Worth the money spent.

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "resonable price, excellent ride"

Cons: "wheel bearings and brake pads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The value received vs cost was where it should be for quality and comfort. Great work truck or personal recreational truck. Never let me down..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Long line of Chevy trucks- all have been excellent

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything about it is great"

Cons: "only three doors on extended cab"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had these trucks for a long as 25 years with minimal upkeep and they just keep running."

great truck

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "dependable, capable, nice driving, comfortable"

Cons: "front wheel bearings don't last like they used to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Z71 package is phenomenal. great in snow and off road. this is a great truck. I have put a lot of miles on it, some of them at or well above its towing and hauling capacities and quite a few of them off road. with the 5.3 engine it has plenty of power to do anything you have any business doing with a half ton truck. I have pulled 3 tons of hay out of a river bottom hay meadow up a very steep hill and on down the highway, an over loaded u-haul across country, drove 4 hrs on the interstate so loaded down the axles were touching the over load bushings, and have pull started a fully loaded dump truck. I work in construction and love the great outdoors so believe me i have put this truck through more than it was meant for and it has been no worse for the wear. the back seats could use a little more leg room but are still adequate, I have had to replace both front wheel bearings. The 4 wheel drive once acted up because of a bad sensor, the ac/heater fan went out once, 1 or 2 of the back lights for the buttons on the steering have gone out and I had to replace the mass air flow sensor to pas inspection recently. I have 160,000 miles on the truck and have put it through its paces its whole life; it still runs and drives very well and doesn't burn any oil. it has been strong, dependable, capable, nice driving, easy parking, comfortable and easy to take care of vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love to drive this truck.

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Purchased truck with 31,000 on it. Previous owner ordered it loaded. It's a 4x4 with chrome tube running board, has Bose stereo, leather, etc. At 126,000 miles had 2 rod bearings go out(don't know why)so bought a used 5.3 with 45,000 on it and it currently has 154,000 on it. Have replaced both front wheel bearings, shift lever, brakes couple of times & on 3rd set of tires. I've always been a Chevy truck guy, but it really shook my faith when the engine let go. Cost me $1675 to replace it. I know I got a deal. My employer say's I need to trade up to newer vehicle so not sure what I'm going to get. They want $44,000 for a similar vehicle( don't look near as good)."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best pickup I ever owned, better than the 2012 own

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Rides good, comfortable, good mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck, as a first year model it was almost flawless! Great tow truck, most of miles had a trailer of some type behind it. Great paint after 15 yrs. only problem was slack in the power seats. Good fuel mileage with the 3.73 rear end. Nice styling. Love this truck!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Truck like new. Nothing wrong with it. Low miles.

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Bought new truck. No longer need it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Retired and bought new truck."

I love this little truck

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "full size truck look with a small size truck feel"

Cons: "clear coat chips off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first truck and I love it to death. It goes anywhere and does everything I need it to do. You can take it off-road and still do what larger model can do. I would recommend this truck to anyone!"

Very powerful and comfortable at the same time.

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,760

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and very good price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this truck. Never fail us. Agressive and smooth ride. Has all the right elements for a long ride and economical when freeways. In winter is perfect with heated seats. Powerfull and comfortable. Love it"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "dependable to the maxx."

Cons: "no power windows or locks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my truck. Have had only minimal repairs. Nothing major just mainly upkeep. I've done the things you are supposed to do . Rotate the tires, change the oil, replace brakes, etc. It is still an excellent truck. I now have grandsons and need more space. So I'm looking for an extended cab."

Bought it new in 2003

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "solid, powerful, fun, useful"

Cons: "poor gas mileage at 13 mpg, but minor to me."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had this truck since new in 2003, taken it camping many times, driven on very rough trails & bumpy dirt roads, and no problems with it. I love this truck! I was putting 20,000 miles/year for a while when it was my daily driver, then it sat in my garage for about 4 years while I drove another car with better gas mileage. It really is built like a rock, and I have had NO major problems with it. To this day, engine is clean with no leaks whatsoever, and I've replaced only a fuel pump and fuel filter at different times about 4 years ago. Other than those two things, it's been trouble-free and reliable. I don't think they make them like this anymore. Still drives like new!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great truck for someone. I no longer need a 2nd tr

By on Friday, February 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "GREAT TRUCK"

Cons: "LOT OF NEW OR REBUILT PARTS , BODY IN GOOD SHAPE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"New rebuilt tranny, new radiator, new shocks, new brakes, 5.3 engine does not use any oil between changes, change oil every 4000/4500 miles. I have used chevron 10/40 oil since I have had this truck. A REALLY GOOD TRUCK !! $7000 is not a bad price for this truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Going on 250k with no problems

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 243,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome truck, never owned a more dependable vehicle in my life."

Well maintained , Never missed a service.

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Custom build camper, truck is in great condition ,"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Disapointing exterior quality. But drives nice.

By on Monday, February 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Still smooth with high mileage. Nice body style."

Cons: "Overpriced and overrated."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Drives like a dream. The body is weak (tinfoil). Prone to dings. Seats are weak. Quiet and smooth."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Coolest truck I've ever owned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all wheel drive, horsepower, held its value!"

Cons: "poor gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my SS! I use my Truck for everyday driving. It performs fantastically. I'm an old hot rodder and get into the occasional drag race with a Mustang, Challenger,or even a Lightning F-150 and as long as they are stock ,like my SS i clobber them. Its great in the winter as I live in the Ozarks where the small mountains and hills are treacherous in snow. I've never had trouble even in 14 inches of snow. Great truck!!!!!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 114 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals