Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 2918 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 117 | Next

DISAPOINTING FROM THE START.

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"HAS HAD CONTINUOUS PROBLEMS. DASH INDICATOR LIGHTS ALWAYS MALFUNCTIONING, FRONT END PROBLEMS, NOW ALL BRAKE AND FUEL LINES NEED TO BE REPLACED, ALL U-JOINTS ARE SHOT, RIGHT HUB SHOT,CRUISE CONTROL DOESNT WORK. THIS TRUCK HAS ALWAYS BEEN GARAGE KEPT AND HAD AN EASY LIFE. WHAT A LEMON"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very Reliable

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great engine and powertrain"

Cons: "limited space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The vehicle only had 17,000 miles when I bought it in 2000. It has been used to pull a trailer loaded with newspaper bundles (80 miles roundtrip) 4 nights a week. It has been very reliable and has over 183,000 miles. Great Truck."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best truck ever!

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, ride , power, handling,gas mileage."

Cons: "Windshield wipers- so-so"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best truck by far that I've ever owned. From the very first moment I got behind the wheel, as well as 220,000.00 miles later, I feel the same. The comfort, ride, and handling is second to none! My next truck will definitely be another Silverado, and nothing else!!!"

Good truck

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "It's a basic work truck gets the job done"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Bought this truck used. We added a transmission cooler and tow package for our 29' RV. It has performed remarkably well, with no major problems. Only odd thing that continues to occur is the dashboard indicators not working properly...milage report, temperature indicator, etc. seems to be a common thing, from what I have read."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love it"

Bought new. Still daily driver.

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Durability, reliability, looks and comfort."

Cons: "So tight, -need to slam doors to latch right."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I order and bought 15 years ago and this is still my daily driver. This is the best "thing" I've ever bought. Would drive it across country tomorrow. I have a new one sitting in the garage, would rather drive this. Still drives good, looks good, incredibly reliable. Only mechanical failure is an 85 dollar alternator a year ago. Two cars have been totaled out hitting it, it's had some sheet metal repair, never any mechanical problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

still like a rock

By on Saturday, November 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "not alot of high cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive this Truck,always cranked,towed got me were I was going,going to buy a brand new one.looked hard at it,said no.Already picked out a new one ready to sign the papers.I figure I will keep this truck till it want go anymore.Always done the maintained vehicle ourself.Great Truck after 15 yrs it was put on the road 1999.call it the eagle.American Made!!!!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Work Truck with a Towing Package!

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Price, Seats 6, Great Work Truck"

Cons: "Rust around Wheel Wells"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have had our 2002 Chevy Extended Cab Silverado Work Truck with a tow package since it was new. It has always been a reliable truck! We even used it to tow our camper. We had a young family of 5 and it was GREAT! The down side of this truck is that it does have some rust around the wheel wells."

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

this is a very nice pickup

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I want this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This pickup has never been wrecked or has ever been painted It is a two owner and been taken real good care of"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

the best chev i have ever own

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,899

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was new in 99 it is very dependable and very good Transportation.I have replace the dual ex. replace all the break system front &back.replace Front and back break lines DUE TO RECALL . the engine is all org, nothing has been replace at all of it works real good .inside is all in very ex condition.no rips or tears in the seats or headliner. The out side is not been wreck or bang in to front or back.it has bug steal, window guards f & b. rail both sides.mud flaps f & b. 9000 labs tow bar . trailer light factory install . wheel locks on all 4 wheels. It has a custom lide cover on the bed with a lock. The collar of the truck is putter.(it don't show the dirt real good). All & all very good truck."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Front

""I had this truck for about 10 years and its been a pleasure to own. Ive worked it hard hauling heavy loads in the box and on a trailer. It has cost me next to nothing to own with very minor repairs.that is it besides regular wear and tear parts." Original engine and transmission. Replaced the following items recently: New battery, new change engine oil, brake oil, and trans oil, replaced New spark plugs and wires at 111,ooo miles,and replaced front and rear brake pads. replaced rear calipers replaced tires last winter None of this is an exaggeration or fictitious, and I don't take it easy on the truck either. I use synthetic oil and change it every 5,000 miles. This truck has sold me on Chevrolet trucks period. Many others I have talked to have had similar experiences - they run forever. They drive very nicely too, I am very impressed and very happy. The truck does not burn or use any oil and runs flawlessly, has never left me stranded, and I love it, not because I'm a "fan", but because it has treated me very well.""

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Front

Great Reliable Vechicle

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "Normal Chevy rust on box"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 4.8L V8 silverado 4x4 at around 90,000 miles. I now have 197,000 miles on it and it runs like a top. I have only had to replace the fuel pump and maybe a belt. This pickup has been great, no problems with transmission and doesn't burn any oil. I just keep up to date with normal maintenance and let it warm up before I drive it. I had never owned a car over 100,000 miles before this vehicle, and I had only ever owned Japanese cars. After seeing the reliability out of this Chevy, I will not hesitate to buy another."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

owned Ford all my life-this chev is the best

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "just a great vehicle"

Cons: "piston slap on start up-not an issue"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Go chev."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Disappointing truck I have ever owned

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Poor quality"

Cons: "Reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Since I have owned this truck, I have replaced the thermostat twice, the fan resistor relay, the catalytic converters with the entire exhaust and the automatic transmission all with less than 80,000 miles. Fortunately the exhaust and catalytic converters were covered. The airbag light constantly comes on and off. A very disappointing purchase."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

it very good truck

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the truck is very nice it also have twim pipe"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The best first vehicle ever!

By on Tuesday, September 30, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Couldn't pass up a great deal to buy my dad'struck

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive,strong, powerful, smooth, looks good"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best first vehicle ever! My dad bought "Big Blue" brand new when I was little and handed it down to me when I turned 15. 4 years and 65,000 miles driven by me; it's grown to be one of my most loved and valued possessions. From camping trips (many times towing a 30ft travel trailer at about 6,000 lbs), road trips (thousands of miles),everyday driving, hauling loads of yard material, furniture, kayaks, bikes, fishing poles; to towing trailers holding Marching band equipment, utv's, and cars: This truck has done it all without any complaints or failures (on the truck's part). With a humble 2wd, she's gone offroad in situations where a lifted Jeep would second guess attempting to navigate through the terrain. With very minor modifications limited to a k&n cold air intake and Magnaflow exhaust which combined were icing on the cake. 22 mpg was a common appearance on road trips. All in all, my relationship with my truck is closer than most, but aside from that a fabulous vehicle for anyone. The 5.3 is probably my favorite engine.... ever."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great work truck

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great truck have all paperwork for anything done"

Cons: "rides stiff on roadwork areas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"father owned it new@81 passed now i own"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Blast to drive right off the lot. Bought new.

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "New Michelin tires matched; Rear air shocks Bl Max"

Cons: "needs some paint work.Interior flawless. Embroide"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"New air shocks,"Airaid: cold air intake w/throtlebody vortech air chamber spacer. Cat back exhaust; :true two dual exhaust pipes @ 3'in/3' out; all welded. Flowmaster 40 exhaust mufflers. "Flashpack" superchips programmer.Dual floor mats; embroidered carpet mats & heavy duty rubber floor mats; no wear.Ice cold A/C & heat. Radio has the 'AUX button to control a 3.5 mm male jack for smart phone jack ins for music/ipods. FACTORY INSTALLED WIRE HARNESS FOR aux fUNCTION. fACTORY FOG LIGHTS. hEAVILY TINTED WINDOWS.Engine bay is immaculate.New delco High crank battery (5yrs) w/ foam insulation sleeve for cold winter driving.New radiator/rack & pinion power steering, with steering pump flushed & refilled. Brand new Michelin tires9 extra wide. Rides real nice."

i love this truck!

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "power comfortable seating good leg room drive awso"

Cons: "cant really think of any its a great truck!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck for years and has given me very little trouble just the normal things i hand the trans rebuilt at 195k water pump once fuel pump once then just reg maintenance."

Enjoyed this truck, plan to keep a long time.

By on Saturday, September 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,852

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "$33,000 when new, love to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new. I have truly enjoyed driving and owning this Silverado LT truck."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very Reliable Truck

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "It does consume fuel but very good on highway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great truck, takes me and my family everywhere. Minor part change has been done."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

dependable,great towing capacity,comfortable

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great towing, comfortable,nice trim package"

Cons: "fuel mileage, dash problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"lousy gas mileage,which I knew before I purchased. About 13 mpg. Considering that I have had the truck since new, it has been very dependable. The only real complaint I have had with this truck is the dash indicator light problems. have researched this and it is a common problem,but no recalls. Only listed as driver concerns with GM. I feel as it should have been a recall item, because there have been many complaints to GM on this. Repair would cost $600-800. overall I'm satisfied with this truck. Plan on buying new in the next year,will probably go with HD next time."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is a very good running Regency conversion

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "With the fiberglass cap it is a real work horse."

Cons: "Ussual bumps and scratches nothing major."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this pickup for a few years and it has never failed to start and runs very good. It originally had dual exhaust with sort of loud pipes that I took back to single and quiet. I have driven this pickup and used it in my business in Canada and it has never failed to start. I has a block heater and a battery heater installed so it is set up for the 40 below weather."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best mileage of the big 3 trucks

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best mileage in it's class and age"

Cons: "Rusting out too early"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I test drove a Dodge Ram, a Ford F150 and my Chevy Silverado. I was challenged by the dealer to compare mileage so I did. Chevy turned out to have the best mpg. I drove the Chevy to Iowa and back last weekend and got 23 mpg coming home. The only bad thing, here in Wisconsin, we salt our roads a lot and my tailgate is rusting out too early. Just took it in for a tuneup at 92K and for a new right front wheel bearing. Other than that it runs great and is quiet to drive, and is lower to the ground that the other Ford or Dodge. Would recommend a Chevy."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I love my truc

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable , drives great"

Cons: "not for a short person like me haha!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my truck. I would not be selling it if it wasn't for being retired and just do not drive it enough. The Silverado is one of the best trucks around and you can not go wrong with it. I bought it for my husband and he passed away 5 years ago. It was an excellent buy."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 117 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals