Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 2880 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 116 | Next

One of the fastest & best trucks i have ever owned

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and a show winner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Real good on gas for a 6.0 engine 18 + hwy. 15 city no problems great pick up"

One of the fastest & best trucks i have ever owned

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and a show winner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Real good on gas for a 6.0 engine 18 + hwy. 15 city no problems great pick up"

One of the fastest & best trucks i have ever owned

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and a show winner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Real good on gas for a 6.0 engine 18 + hwy. 15 city no problems great pick up"

One of the fastest & best trucks i have ever owned

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and a show winner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Real good on gas for a 6.0 engine 18 + hwy. 15 city no problems great pick up"

One of the fastest & best trucks i have ever owned

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and a show winner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Real good on gas for a 6.0 engine 18 + hwy. 15 city no problems great pick up"

One of the fastest & best trucks i have ever owned

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and a show winner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Real good on gas for a 6.0 engine 18 + hwy. 15 city no problems great pick up"

Good value, dependable, mediocre gas mileage.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very good drivetrain and quality interior."

Cons: "Very poor lower body rust prevention."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought privately, have owned for 18 months, mechanically very sound, strong engine, transmission, and 4WD. Interior was in great condition, all controls/lights work. Exterior, good paint but "MUCHO" rust along both side rocker panels, and over both rear fenders. Seems to be an inherent problem with all 1999-2008 Chevy Trucks. Too bad GM couldn't or wouldn't put more effort into a better design to keep salt and corrosion build up out of these areas. Otherwise this truck could last a lifetime. For 4wd this truck gets between 12-15mpg average."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A great Truck

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned and driven this truck for 10 years with no problems, rides and drives great."

The best truck ive had. It 1000x better than my gm

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good room for regular cab."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"VERY VERY GOOD truck"

always changer oil 4000 miles

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"car is in good shape, all highway mileage, needs minor repairs"

Solid and reliable

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, AWD"

Cons: "Weight, fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my 2004 Arrival Blue SS Silverado in 2005 with 5600 miles on it. This truck has been nothing but reliable and fun to drive. The AWD has been the best feature for this truck. I'm able to drive in winter conditions with ease and the torque at acceleration is a blast. I've performed all the maintenance at the required intervals and have never had any mechanical issues. Just hit the 110,000 mark and the truck still looks great and performs like it did when I purchased it. The only complaint is the fading of the stereo/heater buttons from normal use (typical GM issue)."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid and reliable

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, AWD"

Cons: "Weight, fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my 2004 Arrival Blue SS Silverado in 2005 with 5600 miles on it. This truck has been nothing but reliable and fun to drive. The AWD has been the best feature for this truck. I'm able to drive in winter conditions with ease and the torque at acceleration is a blast. I've performed all the maintenance at the required intervals and have never had any mechanical issues. Just hit the 110,000 mark and the truck still looks great and performs like it did when I purchased it. The only complaint is the fading of the stereo/heater buttons from normal use (typical GM issue)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Such a great truck that I keep buying another one

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything but brakes"

Cons: "BRAKES DONT LAST LONG ENOUGH!!!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Chevrolet Silverado is such an awesome truck, but my only gripe is that after 2004 they make the trucks with front disc brakes and rear drums. I constantly go thru brakes more so with all of the Silverado trucks EXCEPT MY 2002. The 2002 went 104,000 miles before I forced my brake guy to change them and at that time he said it really wasn't need yet but I did anyhow because it blew me away that I got that many miles out of original brakes. My 2005, 2007,2009 all have the 2 different types front / rear and they do not last long at all!!!! Other than the brakes, this truck is so awesome and gas efficient and dependable!"

Great truck, runs well

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great truck, good for work,"

Cons: "Gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have an 03 silverado with a 5.3 and z71 package and this truck runs great. I bought it used with 112k miles and now have 116k on it. When I first bought it we had to replace the transfer case (dropped in used one) because it would grind in 4 low and kept getting a service 4wd error. Catalytic converter went out so replaced that and oxygen sensor to pass emissions. Rear diff had to be replaced because gears got worn out and oil was leaking. Also replaced alternator. However, I do not know how hard the truck has been ridden before I bought it and how much it has been offroading. Ever since I fixed it up it has run fine. Engine has had no problems, neither has transmission. Hauls well, and drives great. It is a great work truck and I use it also as a daily driver. Like I said the only main issues I have had were the diff and the transfer case.I can't blame GM because I do not know the whole history of truck before I bought it. I bought it from a guy who said he got it from Main a year ago but wanted a smaller truck. Has been reliable since and starts right away every time even in winter."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Bought a 2001 in 2013

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, quiet ride, comfortable & practical design"

Cons: "Some interior rattles, not a big conern"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the truck as-is, needed a few minor repairs I did myself. Replaced the radiator, ignition cylinder and heater blower motor resistor circuit. All were not very difficult, I'm not a mechanic. I'm very impressed with the way it rides. The 4.8 V8 engine seems great, smooth, quiet and plenty of power. I like that it doesn't seem as high as Dodge Ram of the same year, makes for easier loading. This truck sure doesn't feel like it has 177k miles on it. It's for occasional use, based on other reports I've seen the high mileage shouldn't be a concern. I like that the truck is not over-designed, I prefer the styling of this generation over anything else."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent Truck. Durable, very dependable

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Milage, durability, dependabiliy"

Cons: "Transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If Chevy would have made Transmission using harder parts where they break most. This truck would be a 10. Had to go to a third party to get transmission rebuilt using better parts then what GM had put in it. Everything else has preformed very nicely."

Power train great, the rest no good

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great drive train, smooth ride"

Cons: "Bad electronics and paint, cheap interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This truck has the 5.3L V8 and has hauled/towed everything I have asked, including a few that should have overloaded it. No issues and minor ordinary repairs to the drive train. The interior on this 2005 truck has been an issue. Most of the electronics (dash cluster, radio, window controls, etc) have been replaced at least once, the headliner is coming down, and the cab is leaking around front and back glass. The sport metallic red paint began peeling off the roof after just 7 years and the hood is now peeling as well."

Best Truck I ever Owned

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very dependable,"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Black Beauty

"This is without a doubt the best truck I have ever owned. Good gas mileage, comfortable, dependable, no problems."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My Black Beauty

Bought new, Best truck I've ever owned

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First used as daily driver first 80k, job gave me vehicle, so it has only been used to tow RV trailer. Tows close to max cap., never breaks a sweat! KBB shows as 3 door, but it's production date was June 2000, so it has some crossover w/2001 model year, including 4 doors."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

SET ASIDE GAS MILAGE, BEST TRUCK TO DATE

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "LOTS OF POWER, LEATHER, HEATED SEATS, BOSE STEREO"

Cons: "13MPG HWY, TORSION SUSPENSION"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

4"CST LIFT 33"BFG'S 2"BLOCKS 2WD

"MY ONLY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS TRUCK IS THAT IT USES TORSION BAR SUSPENSION UP FRONT AND ITS NOT VERY NICE TO YOU WHEN YOU CRANK ON THEM AND ADD A SPINDLE LIFT PLUS BFG A/T TIRES. OTHER THAN THAT, ID TAKE THIS TRUCK OVER A DIESEL FOR RELIABILITY AND IM A HUGE DIESEL FAN. I HAVE NEAR 60K MILES AND BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW. NEVER LETS ME DOWN AND IS VERY DEPENADABLE. WISH I WOULD HAVE GOT THE 4X4 BUT OTHER THAN THAT, NO COMPLAINTS. THIS TRUCK WILL MAKE IT TILL 300K NO PROBLEM."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

4"CST LIFT 33"BFG'S 2"BLOCKS 2WD

The most comfortable, reliable truck ever

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "280,000 miles & going strong."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought a 2013 Silverado equipped the same way this truck was but we sure would have liked to have swapped some of the creature comforts inside the cab for what the 2003 has. The 2003 has much better style and quality of interior. We are loyal Chevy owners. We are sad GMC saw fit to sacrifice what they already had going for them."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2003 Silverado 1500 HD crew

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and powerful"

Cons: "unfinished metal rusting."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the original owner. Have had no major issues at all. Speedometer had problem at 10,000 miles but was corrected under warranty. Steering also had issues (clunking sound over bumps)and was corrected but the problem has returned. The only real complaint I have is the lack of attention to detail with metal preservation. The bumpers and many other metal parts are rusting from the inside out."

Great truck for the money.

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great ride & mileage."

Cons: "Transmission rebuilt like other models I owned."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased used at 29000 miles. Very dependable and get very good fuel mileage. Only consern is the tranny blew at 168000 just like the last two 1500 models I've owned. Even with proper servicing. Put in a rebuilt and it's running great. Fluid & filter changed every 2800-3000 miles. Watched the owner manual for maintenance on vehicle. It's been a great truck but having mental issues with high miles and want something with less mileage. Would like to find another 02 with less miles to replace it. Am having trouble letting it go. It has been a great vehicle but nothing lasts forever."

Worth the money spent.

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "resonable price, excellent ride"

Cons: "wheel bearings and brake pads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The value received vs cost was where it should be for quality and comfort. Great work truck or personal recreational truck. Never let me down..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Long line of Chevy trucks- all have been excellent

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything about it is great"

Cons: "only three doors on extended cab"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had these trucks for a long as 25 years with minimal upkeep and they just keep running."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 116 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details