Go

1999 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 3006 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 121 | Next

SET ASIDE GAS MILAGE, BEST TRUCK TO DATE

By on Tuesday, March 4, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "LOTS OF POWER, LEATHER, HEATED SEATS, BOSE STEREO"

Cons: "13MPG HWY, TORSION SUSPENSION"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

4"CST LIFT 33"BFG'S 2"BLOCKS 2WD

"MY ONLY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS TRUCK IS THAT IT USES TORSION BAR SUSPENSION UP FRONT AND ITS NOT VERY NICE TO YOU WHEN YOU CRANK ON THEM AND ADD A SPINDLE LIFT PLUS BFG A/T TIRES. OTHER THAN THAT, ID TAKE THIS TRUCK OVER A DIESEL FOR RELIABILITY AND IM A HUGE DIESEL FAN. I HAVE NEAR 60K MILES AND BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW. NEVER LETS ME DOWN AND IS VERY DEPENADABLE. WISH I WOULD HAVE GOT THE 4X4 BUT OTHER THAN THAT, NO COMPLAINTS. THIS TRUCK WILL MAKE IT TILL 300K NO PROBLEM."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

4"CST LIFT 33"BFG'S 2"BLOCKS 2WD

Quality and durability

By on Friday, October 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this truck new with 20 miles and it now has 175,000 miles. 5.3 V-8 which does not burn oil. I did have to replace the transmission at 117,000 miles. Many of the miles were cross country in mountainous terrain towing a 20' bass boat, out in UT, ID, AZ and NV. I just replaced the alternator at 175,000 miles and both front wheel bearings at 168,000 miles. Other than the transmission the repairs have been what one would expect after so many miles."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

LOVE MY TRUCK

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability is great!!!"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this thing with 180,000 and have worked it for the past 20k pulling my 16 foot trailer and hauling all kinds of stuff. This thing is a work horse and have had no problems. It's already paid for itself. Good gas mileage and power for a V6."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

The best truck i have owned.

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has 175000 miles on it and drives like a brand new truck. This is by far the most dependable and comfortable truck I have ever had and I love it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

this is the best truck ever, i bought it new

By on Tuesday, November 1, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BEST TRUCK EVER, I BOUGHT WHEN IT WAS NEW AND NOW HAS OVER 140,000 MILES ON IT AND IT RUNS LIKE NEW. I THINK THE REASON IT IS SUCH A GREAT TRUCK IS BECAUSE I DO ALL OF MY MAINTANCE AT THE DEALERSHIP. I EVEN PLOW WITH THIS TRUCK"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very Good Truck

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable and good on long trips"

Cons: "Doesn't like small parking lots or tight spaces ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Does everything you ask it to do from hauling kids around to towing just about any thing you can put behind it. It is a good all around truck to have."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very good, reliable vehicle.

By on Saturday, October 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "value, comfort"

Cons: "gas mileage, have had to replace speakers twice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned a '97 F150 for 11 months prior to buying this Chevy. The Ford was in the shop 18 times in that 11 months for multiple problems. This vehicle has been in the shop twice. Once for a brake computer that failed and the other time for rework of rear brake system. Otherwise, it's been a reliable workhorse. Since the advent of ethanol my gas mileage has plummeted from 18-22 to 16-17. For a 6 cyl, that is poor in my opinion. The 18-22 I thought was awesome for a truck. Comfortable enough my wife and I take it on all road trips. Hard matching landau cap makes it very versatile and stylish. I'll keep it til it drops dead. Hope to see another 8-10 years out of it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very Reliable Truck

By on Saturday, August 23, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had my 2006 silverado 4x4 for 2 years now and love it. It has been very reliable and performs great. The four wheel drive works perfect. I had a 99 siverado with the 5.3 before this one and this has been a better truck overall so far. I highly recommend this truck."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Thursday, April 5, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought our Silverado March 20th, 2007. My husband has had a chance to pull our 16 foot fishing boat with it and he was very happy with its performance. It has all the power you need when you need it. The seats are very comfortable. It has a large interior which provides ample room for all people. The dash is laid out almost perfectly. The fuel management technology is very powerful and very fuel efficient. The first time we filled it up it was getting 17 miles to the gallon and it continues to improve. We are very happy with the truck and plan to buy another one in the future."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

what a great truck

By on Friday, August 5, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 258,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "nice ride, great a/c, towes real well"

Cons: "short bed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this towed a trailer for 5-7 years this truck has done everything I have asked of it and is still running 16 years later"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

17 yr old 63k orig mile Truck

By on Friday, June 17, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Better than new"

Cons: "17 yrs old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

I have more photos.......Awesome truck

"1 owner vehicle.17 yr old truck with 63000 orig miles. Lt model with leather, heated seats, pwr everything, etc. 5.3 liter V8, Auto trans, 4 wheel drive. Fiberglass matching landau cover over bed. Body is perfect(no dents or scratches), was repainted in 2013. Paint/clearcoat was peeling off. Taken down to bare metal, repainted original Olympic white color(Chevrolet 50). All emblems/badges and moldings left off. All handles same color as vehicle similar to a Chevy Tahoe. Charcoal gray Leather Interior of vehicle is perfect. Interior of bed has no dents. Original white paint. Heavy rubber mat. Rims are 20" chromed repro 2007-2012 texas style aluminum wheel.Goodyear tires."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I have more photos.......Awesome truck

I love my SS!!!

By on Monday, March 2, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lots of power and looks great"

Cons: "gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My SS has been a wonderful truck!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I think this is a good truck butttt....

By on Friday, April 4, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I think this is a ver good truck so that's why I am dumbfounded when I see how look the kbb value for this vehicle is. It doesn't go above 3000 dollars only slightly above 2000. I typed in virtually the same truck but 1 year older and it's value was 5000 dollars typically. I just feel that this should get examined. Thank you"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great truck, very reliable and useful

By on Thursday, January 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good price, reliable, useful, and fun to drive"

Cons: "bad brake lines, should have been epoxy coated"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This truck has been very reliable and comfortable to drive, handle and maintain. It has been very useful over the years and even though 10 years old still looks brand new. The only thing I can say bad about the truck are the brakelines which rotted a few years ago and had to be replaced, since they weren't epoxy coated."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great truck!

By on Friday, August 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A tough, dependable truck. The only thing I've replaced are the brake pads. And that was after 11 years of service. Other than that, I've changed the oil once a year or so, and have changed the serpentine fan belt a couple of times. I hate doing maintenance."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fullsize Truck/ Good Value

By on Thursday, April 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Never owned a truck, until I was 25, bought out the lease on this fleet vehicle for around $5500 bucks, came with every service/emission/ and inspection verification known. Bought it with 139,500, put 130,500 mi on it and the only thing I've changed is oil every 6000(Mobile One Full synthetic 10-30) corroded brake lines and front/rear brakes/rotors, for what I paid, for what I got vs whole market value, it was a steal- Satisfied Consumer"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very strong and comfortable truck

By on Friday, March 8, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 262,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "strong engine,drives great"

Cons: "none comes to mind"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great running truck 5.3 is all stock and with 262000 still Very stout and gets 17.4 mpg locally. the trans was rebuilt bout 2K ago. This is a great truck I Definitely recommend it..."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this truck

By on Thursday, April 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfort, power, looks good"

Cons: "gas mileage not great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really love my 04 Chev truck. Lots of power, comfy ride, tows like a champ and does not get stuck. If it got better gas mileage, I would never own another vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

99 Silverado Z71

By on Thursday, April 28, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Wanting a chevy all my life I finally stumbled across this 1999 Silverado Z71 on craigslist. The beautiful thing about it was that it had a lift installed and oversized tires meaning it has seen some horrible places. Upon buying it, it ran well beyond my standards. Never had a problem with the motor or the transmission. 4wd works phenonimally. For being a 1500 I tow a 5000lb load horsetrailer with 2 horses all the time with no problems to this day. Truck has exceeded my standards at work, in the mud, and on the road. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a reliable and extremely comfortable ride."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Friday, November 5, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

awesome

By on Friday, May 22, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"ive got 291000 and no probs so far..."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good truck for money

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"No problems in 23,000 miles. Does have drivetrain cluck when shifting gears. Dealer states normal. I found what I believe is excessive play in tailshalt and rear pinion. I have averaged 22-23 mpg at 70-75 mph. Good ride, but seats are low for short people. No locking glovebox. Comes with cheapy General tires. Allready showing 50% wear. I believe better truck $/mile than competition. Cheaper long term maintenance. You could actually access components for maintenance. Would recommend auto trans. Dual air control is nice and works pretty good."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I am original owner

By on Sunday, May 3, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Trustworthy. Good runner, warrior worth it!"

Cons: "Inside is in need of cleaning, cleans up nice!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought this vehicle Sep 2002 new from dealer. My family lived in Tennessee near Florence Alabama. I drove to see my elderly parents at least one a year if not two, sometimes three times during (2010 - 2014) last parent passed. It has a "Fold-A-Cover" tonneau cover which I was employed by the manufacturer at the time of purchase. Runs excellent. Starts every time. Has normal Mich wear & tear... can still squeek the tires from a stop sign/and a turn! It has 242,000 some miles and you'd never know it driving it. I'm a woman and have trusted this very vehicle to carry me back and from MI to TN winter, summer, spring & fall... 4 wheel auto was the best invention. I'm short so this truck is my baby. Needs a bath & cleanup interior... carpets need cleaning but all are in good shape but the driver's side has some wear & tear from the MI salt dogs. It a good looking truck, after nearly 13 years this Sept. Got to see and drive.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Bought new. Still daily driver.

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Durability, reliability, looks and comfort."

Cons: "So tight, -need to slam doors to latch right."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I order and bought 15 years ago and this is still my daily driver. This is the best "thing" I've ever bought. Would drive it across country tomorrow. I have a new one sitting in the garage, would rather drive this. Still drives good, looks good, incredibly reliable. Only mechanical failure is an 85 dollar alternator a year ago. Two cars have been totaled out hitting it, it's had some sheet metal repair, never any mechanical problems."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One of the best all around trucks

By on Tuesday, July 8, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Driving is easy. Plenty of Power. Decent on gas!"

Cons: "Gauge cluster stop working at 97000."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Plenty of power for towing. For a full sized truck it is decent on gas about 18.5 mpg around town and highway mixed driving. Easy to see out of. Cab is comfortable and plenty of room for 4."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 121 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement