Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Chevrolet Malibu Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $21,604 - $22,181.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $23,165

Fair Purchase Price $21,893
Fair Market Range ($21,604 - $22,181)

Invoice $22,383
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.1 of 10

10/7.1

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 105 Ratings for the 2013 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 ... 21 | Next

Attractive car and good value

By on Sunday, June 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 850

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Space and gas mileage"

Cons: "No push button start"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am very happy with my 2013 Malibu. I like the interior and exterior design of the 2013. It is a big improvement over the 2012. I bought the 1LT in taupe gray W/sunroof. It handles great and is comfortable to ride in. The interior and trunk are spacious. Plenty of headroom. I am also happy with the gas mileage. The back up camera has a large screen and is clear. I love the touch screen. It is easy to use. I wanted an American car. I seriously considered the Cadillac ATS and the Jeep Grand Cherokee, but I spotted the 2013 Malibu in a showroom and thought it looked great and was impressed by the sticker price. We test drove it and loved the way it handeled. I bought during the Memorial Day promotion when Chevy had $2,500 incentive. I was able to save a lot of money by buying the Malibu and I am happy with my decision!!!"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

hate it

By on Wednesday, May 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "stereo is ok, back up camera ok"

Cons: "see above..................HATE!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"this car has too little trunk space, no get and go on the highway, cheap interior and leg room in back seat is non existent. Hoping for a tree to fall on it and total it."

2 people out of 22 found this review helpful

This is a great car and I would recommend it to

By on Wednesday, May 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, enjoy driving in town & on the hwy"

Cons: "Cheap caepet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"any one. It gets great gas mileage. I averaged 38 MPG on the highway and I have averaged 32.7 MPG overall. The only negative I have is they should have installed a better quality carpet. The carpet is almost as thin as paper. Overall this is a great car and I am very happy with my purchase."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Midsize comfort with compact size fuel efficiency!

By on Wednesday, May 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the 2013 Chevrolet Malibu Eco (2SA equipment package) and couldn't be happier. This Malibu is the quietest interior of any vehicle I've owned. The new Chevrolet MyLink radio is fantastic and I use the hidden compartment behind the radio all the time. I'm currently getting right at 36 MPG on the highway and have an overall average of 27 MPG. If you are in the market for a midsize car and want the latest technology, luxury features like a sunroof, back-up camera, and heated leather seating, and great fuel efficiency, then you should consider the 2013 Chevrolet Malibu."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A Great Car and a Great Value

By on Friday, May 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling, quietness of ride"

Cons: "Backseat legroom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The new 2013 Chevy Malibu is an attractive, comfortable mid-sized four door sedan. This car features a lot of impressive technology under the Chevrolet "MyLink" banner which displays the car's stereo and Bluetooth smartphone functions, among other things, on a large 7-inch screen in the center of the dashboard. Chevrolet's OnStar system is featured as well, something that is little more than a cell-phone subscription for your car. There's a backup camera as well, which The view from the rear view camera is displayed here. It's fortunate that this car includes a rear view camera because the rear view from the driver's seat is very poor. Those who prefer a more firm feel and much lumbar support will appreciate the seats in this car. This driver finds them comfortable, even on long trips. Others who prefer a softer surface may consider the seating hard and uncomfortable. Interior fit and finish is good on the LT trim. Some might find the two-toned seat color schemes on higher trim levels a bit gaudy and unrefined. All seats are quite firm regardless of whether they're leather or cloth. This car is very, very quiet, possibly the most quiet cabin this driver has ever been in. Wind noise is virtually non-existent at any speed. Handling and especially steering are excellent, but may take some getting used to depending upon the driver's experience with previous vehicles. This driver transitioned into the Malibu from a GMC Envoy, which has completely different handling characteristics. This driver also owns a classic, 1971 Chevy Impala which stands in sharp contrast to the 2013 Malibu in many ways. The Malibu demonstrates how far automotive technology has come over the years. The 2013 Malibu is a sure-footed, nimble and responsive car but offers minimal road feel. This is like the best of both worlds in that the driver enjoys many of the characteristics of a larger car without every road imperfection being transmitted to the driver. It's no exaggeration to say that on the highway, the spirit of land yachts like my 1971 Chevy lives on in the 2013 Malibu. Like it's ancestors, this is a car to just point and cruise down the highway! But unlike them, this is a thoroughly modern, refined car and delivers a ride that is remarkably responsive and handles as well if not better than a much smaller car. One of the factors at play behind the the Malibu's handling is electrically assisted power steering which is very light and sensitive for this driver's tastes. This is where the transition from another vehicle really comes into play. Driving a car with steering that is as sensitive as the Malibu's does take some getting used to, but its worth it. The payback comes in the form of a car which handles like a sports sedan on a winding country road, and is an almost effortless cruiser on on a long highway drive. Again, the best of both worlds. The 2.5 liter engine - which is the same as that found in the Cadillac ATS - is smooth and competent most of the time, however, there have been other times where it seems lacking in confidence and torque. However, the 6-speed transmission is smooth and delivers a consistently refined performance whether on the freeway or driving at slower speeds. Fuel economy averages around 26 MPG, which is just about average for it's segment. This driver doesn't have any problem with the roominess of this sedan (except for back seat leg room) and the mileage is impressive for a car of this size. This car's styling, which has taken cues from the Camaro, is a very handsome car. The overall build quality is quite good, the paint and fit and finish on the exterior are are outstanding. The sticker price for the LT trim level is in the mid twenties, but a good deal can save you thousands of dollars. In this driver's case, the sticker price was $25.5K which was negotiated to $21.5K with another $5.5 shaved off from that for my 2003 GMC Envoy with 112K miles. $16,000 plus a 10 year old SUV for a brand new car that looks great and is fun to drive. This driver is very happy with this deal and the value, and looks forward to many miles of driving in the years ahead."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 ... 21 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.