Go

2012 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 588 Ratings for the 2008 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next

All around good car

By on Saturday, October 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "It is fun to drive, great looking car/handling."

Cons: "V-6 gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There is nothing about this car to not like... with the exception of the gas mileage of the 3.6L engine. It's really overpowered. That performance costs mileage. I replaced an older, larger car with a larger engine that beats the 3.6 in gas mileage. Otherwise, we love this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Gas mileage issues

By on Sunday, October 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride, comfortable, quality for the price"

Cons: "Interior materials quality cheap, mileage sucks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 2012 Malibu LTZ is the second one I have owned. I traded a 2010 for this one. I think this one drives and rides better than the 2012 did. I love everything about it except the gas mileage. It is not nearly as good as the other one. The best combined mileage I have gotten on the 2012 has been 23.7 under the same conditions on the same roads as the 2010 which routinely averaged 32 or better. I will never trust Chevrolet enough to purchase another one and will trade this one as soon as possible."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good buy

By on Saturday, October 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, nice style, quiet,"

Cons: "Fixed transmission hesitation , and head gasket."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this car used , great car overall! Good gas mileage, nice style, quiet, laminated side front windows. Large truck, comfortable seats. Looks good. Warranty repairs include: rear fender mold popping out at seam, head gasket replaced, door lock fixed, transmission switch thing fixed (there was a hesitation on acceleration ), lower control arm piston linkage replaced,"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice quiet car with good gas mileage for a 6 cyl

By on Wednesday, October 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,900

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, quiet, smooth ride"

Cons: "didn't like the 2 tone seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been a good car overall. My other vehicles (2 Grand Prix GTs) had squeaks and rattles by 20,000 miles this Malibu is just as quiet as it was the day I bought it. Gas mileage was good with the 6 cyl I got 31 miles on the highway traveling 65-70 mph over mountains and flat stretches. The only time I had it in the shop was for the steering gear. The car was also equipped with remote start that had awesome range. I can honestly say that I enjoyed this car. Loved all the features the LTZ had to offer."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car! Smooth, quiet, handles well.

By on Friday, October 4, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very nice to drive. Pretty car (silver). Comfy."

Cons: "A little low to get in/out of since we are aging."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a really nice car. Streamlined body with no "dings." Good interior, comfy seats. Quiet with good sound system."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Beautiful - Runs well - Uncomfortable seats

By on Thursday, September 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great look, ride, A/C. On Star a blessing"

Cons: "Seats are too firm."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This car has a great appearance. I have had many people tell me how terrific it looks. I have worked hard to keep it in top condition. It runs very well. No problems. (2009 car. Replaced battery first time Jan. 2013) Smooth ride. Great A/C. On Star is a blessing. For me, this car is not comfortable. The driver's seat feels too hard. This is no major problem, but I've decided that, after four years, I'm trading it this weekend. Someone will be getting a really great car that has been maintained extremely well. I hope they don't mind the very firm seats."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

outstanding value

By on Monday, September 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this car for 3 years, bought it new. It now has 69,000 miles and runs like new. Easily gets the advertised 33 mpg highway and when I drive it very fast and against winds it still gets 29. I've had it up to 110 mph, was very strong and had a lot more umph to go, handled very well. For the price, I don't know how you beat this car. Handles well, rides smooth and quiet, no maintenance issues at all. It is a great looking car. Plenty of room and comfort for 4 adults going to the theater in style. This was the best new car I ever bought and I would buy another one but I might move up to the 2014 Impala."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The car has been dependable.

By on Wednesday, July 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "I ove the heated electric seats."

Cons: "The trunk is not deep enough."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I got this 2009 Chevy Malibu the year before I retired. I get about 31 MPG on freeway trips and about 24 MPG for city driving. This has been a good car for me and I have not had any really issues. In the 4 years I have had the car, I have had no real problems."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

No Regrets on buying this vehicle

By on Monday, April 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice to drive...handles well. Nice lines"

Cons: "Trunk access is not good. MPG only so-so"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"We purchased this vehicle out of a sense of Patriotism....wanted to buy American. Our other car is a Lexus RX which we got for the drive over the Sierras in the winter time which we do quite often. Only the LTV appealed to our sense of line and decor as a second car. It has been extremely reliable and as a vehicle to drive it meets our required standard...but it is not a luxury vehicle. It is no Audi but pleasant to drive. The access to the trunk is not good. My wife loves it. I like it. It is a good car to drive, handles well and the engine makes a satisfactory noise when pushed. I think the LTV was designed for a target group but the MPG (20 AVERAGE)is not to our expectations"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wish I didn't purchase

By on Thursday, February 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Leather is nice looking,seats comfortable"

Cons: "Transmission,throttle body etc.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I thought this would be a good car and it was in the beginning, stylish,comfortable and mileage is ok but under warranty repairs and the transmission doesn't give it a very good ride, I had it in the shop and was told this is how the transmission is built now and it is suppose to be this way. Had the power steering pump and throttle body replaced already, I wish I would of picked something else because now we are going to be at a loss if we get rid of it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Value for money, fun to drive.

By on Thursday, January 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reasonable price, good handling"

Cons: "Computer problems dealer has problem resolving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good handling, adequate power with 4 cylinder. Seating good but not soft on long trip. Computer problems on 5 occasions. Dealer resolves then problem returns. Latest involves tire pressure readings."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

WOW

By on Friday, October 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down the best car I have owned. I have driven over 15 diffrent cars in my life and this is clearly one of the best."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

In general a good car. Drives well. Looks great.

By on Thursday, October 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Electric outlet in the counsil"

Cons: "glare in sunlight, and trunk opening"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Good car in general. Drives very well. Gets very good gas mileage. Has plenty of fantastic features It looks great. My biggest problems are that the ?windshield supports? are very difficult to see around and can cause a pretty decent blind spot; and the dash, while I love the two tone look, is a problem in direct sunlight, as it causes a reflection on the windshield; and the chrome, again, looks fantastic, but causes alot of glare into the driver's eyes when in direct sunlight; and the trunk, while a very large compartment, has a fairly small opening which makes it very difficult to put things into and out of."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE!!

By on Monday, October 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good price reliable great gas mileage smooth ride"

Cons: "all around great!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car about 6 months ago and absolutly love it! I would suggest this car to anyone wanting a nice little car with great gas mileage and the chey made all weather mats go ahead and get them also wonderful only thing I would add is the chevy impala can be started with the onstar app while you can do many things with the app such as check gas, oil life, tire air, so on and so fourth (which I love) you cant actually start it life goes on right! Over all Wonderful car!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Monday, April 2, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable and gets great gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this car rides and handles great. It is dependable and a great car for the price. It also gets great gas milage."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

almost an excellent car.

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had no repairs in 26000 miles and one recall. It gets about 30 miles to the gallon at average driving. Runs very good. Conors very good. Very good car except for the following: The console protrudes into the right knee too much and it is a little hard to exit for a 62 year old. I do not like the electric steering. The stop light is placed in a bad place and It is almost impossible to see behind the car when backing. Had no spare tire!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, February 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "inexpensive car but it doesn't drive like one"

Cons: "gas milage isn't that great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I havn't had any problems with my 3 1/3 year old LT. I did have a brake shutter but that was fixed at a dealer at no charge. I will say the gas milage has never been what the EPA rated it.I get about 30 highway and 21 city."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

overall its a good car. I like the neon lights in

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good on gas, but ..."

Cons: "it uses the same as my chrysler 2005."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"overall its a good car. I like the neon lights in the car especially the ones in the center that lite up at night. too bad it doesn't let me change the colors like the ford."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice Looking Automobile

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Sharp looking."

Cons: "6-speed transmission..shift way to hard and sloppy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Nice car per say. Only thing I dislike is the 6-speed transmission. Unlike the conventional 3-speed which is smooth shifting..this transmission seems to shift hard and too often trying to find the best gear for the drive train. Very annoying especially when you first start up and drive, the transmission seems to shift extremely hard until it warms up."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Tuesday, December 6, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas milage fun to drive"

Cons: "no complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in February of 2011 I havent had any problems out of it, It is by far the best purchase I have ever made!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice car,real looker..

By on Saturday, October 1, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "steering."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like my 2010 Mailbu.Real sharpe looking ride,nice interior,although the steering feels a lil funny sometimes."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

this car has exceeded all my expectations!

By on Wednesday, September 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fantastic gas mileage and its a 6cyl I average 25mpg in all around driving!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"gas mileage was a pleasant surprise didn't expect it from a v6 but believe me I average 25mpg in all around driving...has never let me down no issues or repairs what so ever.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Terrific Car...

By on Thursday, June 2, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Lease return

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I leased my LS V6 Malibu in January 2008. And ever since love it completely. great, great V6. Nice and very quiet interior. Material on the door could have been a little less plasticy though. Handling was terrific. Seat very comfortable for a guy my size. I particular love the instrument panel with the adjustable pedal and dash. As well as the dual exhaust and 18" 5 spoke rims. Gave the car a very powerful yet elegant look. Stereo could have been louder. And the glove compartment could have been bigger and better designed like a Japanese auto makers. I returned this car last night to the dealer and was sad to let it go. However I do love the look of the new car and if I have the change again. Will seriously consider buying another one as long as it has that V6 and 6 speed option with 18" wheels. Overall! I highly recommend the Chevrolet Malibu to anyone looking to buy a nice decent car with a little performance to boot and in my humble opinion great looking as well. The V6 is where it's at. If Chevy made all their cars based on the 08 Malibu I had. They would give the other manufacturer something to worry about."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my Malibu

By on Wednesday, May 18, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I absolutely love my Malibu! I almost bought an Equinox but the Malibu had a lot more leg room in the front and back."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, April 28, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this 2011 ltz used about 1 month ago, (previous rental) so far I love it, comfort, pick up (have the V6), Bose stereo etc. will see if my rating change with time, but right now I dont think so."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement