Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2011 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 553 Ratings for the 2008 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Great car

By on Saturday, March 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, gas mileage and reliability"

Cons: "cloth seats stain easy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car! I have had no mechanical problems at all. It is reliable and easy to drive. I get about 33 miles to the gallon and drive both highway and in town."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Comfortable fun to drive. Lots of power."

never again you might get me one time....

By on Monday, February 16, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: junk

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "nice looking car."

Cons: "expensive piece of junk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"nothing but problems. 44,000 timing chain was replaced. problems with the oil filter, transmission, front suspention, power windows won't go up after putting them down out of adjustment cable operated..."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Terrific car. Acceleration is top notch!

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best."

Drives great, good fit and finish

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,450

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "see review"

Cons: "see review"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"A little hard to get into the front seat without adjusting the seat height. Can't get in with my hat on. Drives very well. A little too much cabin noise for me, but not excessive. Trunk opening needs to be a little larger to put things into. Overall a nice car."

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Very Good First Owned Car

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car was a great deal. Being that I will not buy foreign, I looked and perused the market for the best rated and most street appeal. This car, after many hard months, came up on top. Not only is the inside very attractive, but the outside is as well. Mine is an LS model, and the only issue that I've had with it, is that I've had to replace the hood release cable. Figuring that it is a main component we fixed it shortly after. Wasn't very hard at all, and cheers to GM for building a car that has the look, the quality, and the return customer."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

very nice

By on Thursday, January 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This auto has extended warranty"

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Car is very small, blind spots are terrible

By on Saturday, December 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,327

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Okay to drive, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Blind spots, hydro planes, not roomy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Car is sporty and nice if you don't want room. Good for one but not a family, maybe I'm used to larger car."

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Nice looking affordable car

By on Monday, December 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great look, good price, and nice car"

Cons: "Driver's side not made for a tall person"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought a brand new Chevy Malibu in 2009. Very nice looking car, a real head turner. The car looks like a BMW it looks that nice. The price was not bad. We bought the LS base model and have no problems with it. The inside is very classy, the dashboard set up is nice and fun to look at. The car is not bad on gas V4 although it the engine does struggle when you dive over 60mph. The car gets around 25mpg in the city and 30 mpg on the hwy. We really like the car. The cons are the power locks went out after having the car 4 years, the A/C sounds very weak now like its about to go out, and I'm 6'3'' 225lbs and the steering wheel doesn't adjust upwards. With the seat pushed all the way back I can hold the wheel with my knees. The wheel does adjust downward but not upward. But overall we do like the car. Very nice looking, very dependable, and the price was not bad at all. I would recommend this car to anyone looking to purchase one. I would purchase another one if they fix the steering wheel problem."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

good car.

By on Monday, December 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price, features, comfort, mpgs"

Cons: "style is a bit bland, new body in 2013"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"About six months after having bought a kia soul, we sold the soul and bought this Malibu. That was a huge change, and was a good one! although the kia soul was an ok car, we could tell after about a month of driving it that it was not going to hold up very well. This Malibu was a complete change for the better in that regard. The build quality of this car is twice that of the soul. Also, this car has more features, and still cost about the same as what our soul was. We love the Malibu, and haven't had any problems with it. In the 5 months that we have owned it, we have put over 15k miles on it, and they have been a joy. overall, its been a really good car, and we would recommend it to anyone."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Good car easy to drive

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive - good gas millage - roomy"

Cons: "With 2011 year only - blind spots - hydro plaining"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This has been a good car for the most part; it gets good gas millage, has decent pickup and go when you hit the gas, roomy enough on the inside- front and back, big trunk too. With the 2011 Malibu, I do have a problem with blind spots, when backing out or trying to pull out into traffic from an angle. Also, the car is so light, that hydro plaining has been a scary experience with this car. This is my 3rd Malibu, both of my previous Malibus' have been Excellent cars with no problems, the 2011 is the only one that has had these problems."

5 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Good car, but...

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Generally a great car overall"

Cons: "headlamp design means $200 repair bills!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Changing headlamps is a nightmare in this car. You have to take the whole front end apart, which is a dirty trick if you ask me. Other than that it's a great car, comfy, roomy, good on gas, handles ok, and reliable so far. I'd give it a 9 if not for the not-user-friendly headlamps."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Sunday, November 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,488

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Its been a good car overall. All I've done is put tires on it and a new battery"

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Bought my HYBRID Used

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "feels tight, comfortable size,"

Cons: "cup holders in door and not big enough."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used. I find it to be one of the tightest used cars I have bought. Other than the fact that the cup holders are not sufficient and spill everything I put in them, as they are in the door, it has everything well placed. I Love the controls on the steering column for the radio and cruise control, and the features of the radio such as automatically lowering when at a lower speed. The gas Mileage is various as I am on the highway and city streets at various times. Overall, I am perfectly happy with this car and have already recommended it to friends. There is no information that i could find as to how many of the HYBRID were made. But It is wonderful."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Fun, Classy, Excellent Condition Malibu LTZ

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This vehicle is owned and has been driven by a married couple nearing their early 70's. Excellent maintenance and exterior care. Principally my wife's car. And never driven by anyone with unruly driving habits."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

TO MANY BLIND SPOTS

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,600

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"HIT HEAD EVERY TIME WE GOT INTO CAR UNTIL WE LEARNED TO KEEP IT LOW. VERY GOOD CAR OTHERWISE WE REALLY LIKE THE MALIBU FOR THAT MID SIZE CAR FEELING."

4 people out of 12 found this review helpful

purchsed new, one of the best vehicles I've owned,

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,345

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value for the money spent"

Cons: "none i've found"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great ride, plows through snow very well, great mileage and love the on star. for the price its an outstanding vehicle"

9 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Love it. Best car EVER !!

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet Smooth Thumbs up !!!"

Cons: "None yet."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nicest car I've ever had. GM outdid it self this time !!"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, great looking, roomy"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new and other than oil change and routine maint, I haven't had any issues."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

valve went thru piston at 32000miles

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nice looking"

Cons: "motor failed at 32000miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"kinda squirrely at high speeds"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very good, economical sedan for city and highway

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, responsive acceleration, gas mileage"

Cons: "Stereo could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've driven this car for 1 1/2 years; it is a company vehicle and assigned to me in my job as an outside salesman; I call it my "salesmobile". It is my daily driver so it sees a lot of service in the city and I've also taken on very long road trips. It has a very smooth ride, competent handling, and gets great gas mileage. The 4-cyl engine is sturdy and responsive. Although you're not going to break any records from a standing start, acceleration is surprisingly good and has excellent "roll-on" acceleration for passing. The automatic transmission is extremely smooth; you might never notice gear changes at all. Steering is predictable and handling is remarkably competent for a car of this class and the 4-wheel ABS disc brakes stop the car very well. The Bluetooth paired with my smart phone works well and has answer/hangup controls on the steering wheel. Voice controls for making calls from the car, however, are dated and require too much specificity; it's usually easier to punch in the number on the phone. Seating position is comfortable for long drives and the rear seat is reasonably roomy for a small car. The trunk is also very roomy. Visibility is very good and the side-view mirrors are easily adjusted with the control on the driver's door arm rest. The driver's seat has power adjustments but the passenger seal does not. The standard AM/FM/CD controls are intuitive and the system comes with XM (which I don't use). However the standard 4-speaker arrangement is merely adequate by today's standards. On-Star can be accessed from a button on the rear-view mirror and also has a button for garage remote. Volume, station jump, mute, and cruise control are all on the face of the steering wheel and easy to operate. Biggest complaint is that even with new tires it has a tendency to hydroplane during a downpour, but only at +60 MPH. It would also be nice if they had included a compass direction display on the mirror. The cloth interior readily picks up stains so I purchased after-market faux leather covers for the front seats."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love my car!

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great ride, roomy, lots of storage"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love, love, love my car. Perfect fit for me in every way. Bought it used so was pleasantly surprised when I saw the exterior color had 'sparkles' in it much like my son's BMW. Of course, nobody buys a car for the glittery paint job but I love the way it handles, the feel of it on the road and it is roomier than I expected. Plenty of storage from the trunk (could probably fit 2 bodies in the trunk lol) to the various compartments inside and 4 drink holders in the front alone. Was expecting to buy a Toyota or Honda, but so glad I bought this Chevy. My very first car was a brand new 1968 Malibu (for $2600!) and it was adequate. THIS Malibu has come a long way baby!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, looks great, economical"

Cons: "rear window stays foggy too long"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is zippy, good on gas, looks good and is comfortable. The only thing I don't like is the rear window is hard to defrost."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Horrible car

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I am a Chevy guy but this is the worst car I have ever owned. Almost cost as much in repairs as I paid for the car"

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Excellent Model

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car gets 27MPG.not givin any trouble.what elese do you want"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals