Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 536 Ratings for the 2008 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next

Love it. Best car EVER !!

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet Smooth Thumbs up !!!"

Cons: "None yet."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nicest car I've ever had. GM outdid it self this time !!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, great looking, roomy"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new and other than oil change and routine maint, I haven't had any issues."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

valve went thru piston at 32000miles

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nice looking"

Cons: "motor failed at 32000miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"kinda squirrely at high speeds"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very good, economical sedan for city and highway

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, responsive acceleration, gas mileage"

Cons: "Stereo could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've driven this car for 1 1/2 years; it is a company vehicle and assigned to me in my job as an outside salesman; I call it my "salesmobile". It is my daily driver so it sees a lot of service in the city and I've also taken on very long road trips. It has a very smooth ride, competent handling, and gets great gas mileage. The 4-cyl engine is sturdy and responsive. Although you're not going to break any records from a standing start, acceleration is surprisingly good and has excellent "roll-on" acceleration for passing. The automatic transmission is extremely smooth; you might never notice gear changes at all. Steering is predictable and handling is remarkably competent for a car of this class and the 4-wheel ABS disc brakes stop the car very well. The Bluetooth paired with my smart phone works well and has answer/hangup controls on the steering wheel. Voice controls for making calls from the car, however, are dated and require too much specificity; it's usually easier to punch in the number on the phone. Seating position is comfortable for long drives and the rear seat is reasonably roomy for a small car. The trunk is also very roomy. Visibility is very good and the side-view mirrors are easily adjusted with the control on the driver's door arm rest. The driver's seat has power adjustments but the passenger seal does not. The standard AM/FM/CD controls are intuitive and the system comes with XM (which I don't use). However the standard 4-speaker arrangement is merely adequate by today's standards. On-Star can be accessed from a button on the rear-view mirror and also has a button for garage remote. Volume, station jump, mute, and cruise control are all on the face of the steering wheel and easy to operate. Biggest complaint is that even with new tires it has a tendency to hydroplane during a downpour, but only at +60 MPH. It would also be nice if they had included a compass direction display on the mirror. The cloth interior readily picks up stains so I purchased after-market faux leather covers for the front seats."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my car!

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great ride, roomy, lots of storage"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love, love, love my car. Perfect fit for me in every way. Bought it used so was pleasantly surprised when I saw the exterior color had 'sparkles' in it much like my son's BMW. Of course, nobody buys a car for the glittery paint job but I love the way it handles, the feel of it on the road and it is roomier than I expected. Plenty of storage from the trunk (could probably fit 2 bodies in the trunk lol) to the various compartments inside and 4 drink holders in the front alone. Was expecting to buy a Toyota or Honda, but so glad I bought this Chevy. My very first car was a brand new 1968 Malibu (for $2600!) and it was adequate. THIS Malibu has come a long way baby!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, looks great, economical"

Cons: "rear window stays foggy too long"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is zippy, good on gas, looks good and is comfortable. The only thing I don't like is the rear window is hard to defrost."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Horrible car

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I am a Chevy guy but this is the worst car I have ever owned. Almost cost as much in repairs as I paid for the car"

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent Model

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car gets 27MPG.not givin any trouble.what elese do you want"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good basic car

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Economy and roomy interior"

Cons: "Road noise and lack of excelleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I went for economical when I bought this car and got a great deal. Now realize that I should have gone for AWD and Leather; I've also discovered that my needs require more space for hauling. Although the back seat is very roomy and the trunk space very large, the trunk opening is small for my needs and I don't like to have to use the back seat to haul. Road noise is loud but the ride is not bad. Seats are very comfey and insturment panel is nice; except the chrome around the radio the reflects sun into my eyes during all morning driving."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I liked the easy use of the web site

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent to outstanding"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals