Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2008 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 551 Ratings for the 2008 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next

never again you might get me one time....

By on Monday, February 16, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: junk

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "nice looking car."

Cons: "expensive piece of junk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"nothing but problems. 44,000 timing chain was replaced. problems with the oil filter, transmission, front suspention, power windows won't go up after putting them down out of adjustment cable operated..."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Terrific car. Acceleration is top notch!

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best."

Drives great, good fit and finish

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,450

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "see review"

Cons: "see review"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"A little hard to get into the front seat without adjusting the seat height. Can't get in with my hat on. Drives very well. A little too much cabin noise for me, but not excessive. Trunk opening needs to be a little larger to put things into. Overall a nice car."

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Very Good First Owned Car

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car was a great deal. Being that I will not buy foreign, I looked and perused the market for the best rated and most street appeal. This car, after many hard months, came up on top. Not only is the inside very attractive, but the outside is as well. Mine is an LS model, and the only issue that I've had with it, is that I've had to replace the hood release cable. Figuring that it is a main component we fixed it shortly after. Wasn't very hard at all, and cheers to GM for building a car that has the look, the quality, and the return customer."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

very nice

By on Thursday, January 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This auto has extended warranty"

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Car is very small, blind spots are terrible

By on Saturday, December 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,327

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Okay to drive, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Blind spots, hydro planes, not roomy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Car is sporty and nice if you don't want room. Good for one but not a family, maybe I'm used to larger car."

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Nice looking affordable car

By on Monday, December 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great look, good price, and nice car"

Cons: "Driver's side not made for a tall person"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought a brand new Chevy Malibu in 2009. Very nice looking car, a real head turner. The car looks like a BMW it looks that nice. The price was not bad. We bought the LS base model and have no problems with it. The inside is very classy, the dashboard set up is nice and fun to look at. The car is not bad on gas V4 although it the engine does struggle when you dive over 60mph. The car gets around 25mpg in the city and 30 mpg on the hwy. We really like the car. The cons are the power locks went out after having the car 4 years, the A/C sounds very weak now like its about to go out, and I'm 6'3'' 225lbs and the steering wheel doesn't adjust upwards. With the seat pushed all the way back I can hold the wheel with my knees. The wheel does adjust downward but not upward. But overall we do like the car. Very nice looking, very dependable, and the price was not bad at all. I would recommend this car to anyone looking to purchase one. I would purchase another one if they fix the steering wheel problem."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

good car.

By on Monday, December 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price, features, comfort, mpgs"

Cons: "style is a bit bland, new body in 2013"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"About six months after having bought a kia soul, we sold the soul and bought this Malibu. That was a huge change, and was a good one! although the kia soul was an ok car, we could tell after about a month of driving it that it was not going to hold up very well. This Malibu was a complete change for the better in that regard. The build quality of this car is twice that of the soul. Also, this car has more features, and still cost about the same as what our soul was. We love the Malibu, and haven't had any problems with it. In the 5 months that we have owned it, we have put over 15k miles on it, and they have been a joy. overall, its been a really good car, and we would recommend it to anyone."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Good car easy to drive

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive - good gas millage - roomy"

Cons: "With 2011 year only - blind spots - hydro plaining"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This has been a good car for the most part; it gets good gas millage, has decent pickup and go when you hit the gas, roomy enough on the inside- front and back, big trunk too. With the 2011 Malibu, I do have a problem with blind spots, when backing out or trying to pull out into traffic from an angle. Also, the car is so light, that hydro plaining has been a scary experience with this car. This is my 3rd Malibu, both of my previous Malibus' have been Excellent cars with no problems, the 2011 is the only one that has had these problems."

5 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Good car, but...

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Generally a great car overall"

Cons: "headlamp design means $200 repair bills!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Changing headlamps is a nightmare in this car. You have to take the whole front end apart, which is a dirty trick if you ask me. Other than that it's a great car, comfy, roomy, good on gas, handles ok, and reliable so far. I'd give it a 9 if not for the not-user-friendly headlamps."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals