Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2005 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 969 Ratings for the 2004 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

Great, Reliable Car at a reasonable price

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,319

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, sunroof, heated seats"

Cons: "Weird thing with turn signals."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved my car. I purchased it new in 2004. It hardly required any service. Oil changes, new tires and a few tune-ups. The only little quirk was when the first rain would come (and it the Bay Area there isn't a huge rainy season) one or two turn signal bulbs would burn out. Sometimes I would have to replace the bulbs twice during the rainy season, but otherwise the car ran like a champ . . . until I got rear-ended and shoved into the car in front of me, totaling my car. I am going to get another one because it was such a great car."

Very good vehicle for the money. Reliable,

By on Friday, March 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, quick off the line, good cornering."

Cons: "Soft suspension, seats a little to thin."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very good gas mileage, Handled well. Road noise is distracting. Sound system was very good."

Great car for me and my small family

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Price"

Cons: "Back seat not wide enough for three car seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I have nothing bad to say about this car. Very reliable and gas efficient. I have grown out of this car but it has been dependable and easy to afford."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I like it

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It is a good car to own and is very fun to drive"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very very good car

By on Monday, February 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"When I bought this car,everyone said it was not good car. right now I have eight years with the car and I can say, it's excellent car."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

runs good but poor condition inside and oustside

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "runs well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Runs well but looks terrible inside and outside"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Just the facts mam...

By on Saturday, February 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Does everything very well."

Cons: "The steering wheel could have been better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car at 10k mileage in 2006. My decision was based on my test drive. It did everything exceptionally well. It accelerated fantastic, handled like it was on rails, and braked well. Everything else was exceptional - easy to read gauges, good stereo, fairly comfortable, good visibility. It has over 123k now and all I have done is normal maintenance, brakes, tires, fluid changes, plugs, thermostat, and a heater control panel. It still runs and drives nearly like the day I bought it. I just had all the recalls done. It does not leak or burn oil. That's it, take it for what it is."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

I worst Car I have ever had!!!

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have a 2005 Malibu I got a year ago last August. I would not recommend it to any one. the worst car I have ever had the worst and more problems with. sometimes my car will not start, there is a light that will not go off when I am driving. after I already got it fix's once. the peace that shifts the car came off and had to get it put back on, my care jerked when I was driving a few times. I need a wheel bearing. to many recalls for a car I think. back to the dealership for the second time. very disappointed. off to get a new car."

4 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned!

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's been a great car!"

Cons: "No cons as it was just like we wanted!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Only had a minor problem & it got fixed in no time. Otherwise it has been trouble free. I had one recall & it was fixed."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Good vehicle

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this car since 2006--bought it with low mileage. It has been a reliable car with moderate repair work. The front wheel driving has been decent on snowy roads as well. I would buy another one."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

good car

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,950

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price"

Cons: "seats small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"none"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great family or communter car; good mileage

By on Thursday, January 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value for the price, comfortable to drive"

Cons: "cloth seats stain easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My personal vehicle for 10 years. The right size, great gas mileage. Easy maintenance."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good running car good gas mileage

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good pricing"

Cons: "Body integrity poor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Runs good, good on long trips , comfortable seating , exterior body not holding up well"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

GREAT FAST AMERICAN 4 DOOR

By on Monday, December 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FUN TO OWN VERY RARE GOOD SOUND SYSTEM RESPONSIVE"

Cons: "NOBOY KNOWS WHAT CAR IT IS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"VERY FAST PASS BY TRAFFIC ON THE FREEWAY STILL PULL NICELY AFTER 60 MPH AND JUST GOES GOOD CAR AND VERY UNIQUE NOBODY HAS IT"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Have been very impressed

By on Monday, December 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Nice ride, lots of room inside, good gas mileage"

Cons: "not cute"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car with 29,000 miles on it in 2008. It has done a lot of business travel with me, now in 2014 it has 186,000 miles on it. It has the typical rattle in the dash "turn up the radio" type noise. I have only done maintenance items on this car. The passenger seat airbag sensor has been off for years but other than that no problems what so ever. I have been very impressed with this car. I would recommend it to anyone who is finding a decent mileage used one."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Malibu Maxx the best

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, responsive, good value"

Cons: "plastic parts on fuel pump break"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been reliable and easy to drive. If they still made this model I'd trade in for a newer one. Since they don't (why? good question!) I'll keep this one until it stops,probably 250,000+. There has been a problem with a little plastic gadget breaking on the fuel pump. It has broken 2 times and I have needed to replace the entire pump. I'm on my 3rd pump."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

No mechanical issues. Gas mileage 22/36

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, roomy, good gas mileage"

Cons: "brakes only last 35,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had this car almost 10 years. Only repairs were brakes. Lots of room with fold down seats. Great gas mileage. 36 mpg on trip from NY to Boston. Six cyl. engine gives great power."

1 person out of 7 found this review helpful

Malibu

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, great performance, drives well."

Cons: "Road noise, slick road performance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been a fantastic car for us- 206K miles (and still going!!). We've had no major issues with the car. Gas mileage is great, drives like a dream. The only downsides are a LOT of road noise, not entirely comfortable for taller-than-average people, and I give it an "average" rating in snow/ice."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Outstanding car, wish they continued the model.

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's the MAXX, love it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been thinking of a newer model since I do a lot of driving but I can't find another car with all the features of this model, the Malibu MaXX. It looks great, drives fantastic, has special features and is very roomy. Gas mileage is beyond its years. I once drove my brother's 1965 Ford Mustang which was so much fun. A few years after he returned from Viet Nam, he sold it. I wish I had bought and kept it. It was so fun to drive and that is how I feel about the Malibu Maxx. It is a classic already in my opinion."

6 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Very practical & useful vehicle. Good performance

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Car drives like sports car and has plenty of power. Plenty of room inside. Biggest complaint is suspension system."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Excellent car, love the way it drives.

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable."

Cons: "Had to replace remote entry 4 times."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Brought the car new and have been very satisfied with it. Very minor problems and have not had to spend much money on repairs. Very comfortable ride. First car I ever owned that I have been able to keep for this long. Would recommend it highly and consider buying another one (sorry they no longer make the MAXX)Great to carry things because of the way the seats fold down."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car for the price

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Nice car. Nice size. Great MPG for a mid-size with a 6 cyl."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This car is a workhorse! I have loved it!

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I have driven this car almost every day since buying it as a used car with 32,000 mi. on it. It needs shocks and some brake work; it has kid-proof locks and excellent security locks. I have taken reasonably good care of it but not garage kept. It has great "pick-up" and handles easily!!"

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Good Car for 1st time drivers~

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,777

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great mpg"

Cons: "no space for upgrades in the engine compartment"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I got this car for my 16th birthday and have had it for about a year now. I love the gas mileage on it 21mpg city/30mpg highway with a 17 gallon tank. I love the style of the care. Even with the few recall notices we've gotten on it (ex. ABS, Cruise Control, & Transmission recall), it has been an amazing car to drive. Great turn radius for me, as it is hard getting out of my high school parking lot, I crank my steering wheel all the way around and easily move towards the exit of the lot."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Just hit 276,000 miles and still no problems

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 276,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Durability to the inth degree, and reliable."

Cons: "Few electrical glitches..............."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had a update upon the recall I just took down to the dealership.............mechanics couldn't believe the odometer............yes, 276,000 miles and it burns about a cup of high mileage oil every two thousand miles..great, one of the best vehicles I have ever owned...........next stop 300,000.........few problems, gas gauge doesn't work any longer, but trip metre handles this problem.....all else fine, auto locking system must be unlocked manually, but probably the battery in the key device, nothing shocking..........Buy this baby, all I have done is follow the maintenance schedule..........that's it:+)}}}"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals