Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2002 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 927 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next

Love this car

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "safe, reliable, comfy, good sound system"

Cons: "no remote start"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car drives so nice. I feel safe driving it, it's not too small, not too big. Feels roomy inside, even if 5 people are in it. This has been such a good reliable car for me, I'll be sad when it's time to get a new one. I just wish it came with remote start, that is the only thing I wish it had."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Biggest Lemon Ever!

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Loved all of my cup holders!"

Cons: "hated all the mechanical problems:("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"When I first got the car it ran great! Then it started to act quirky. The turn signals would work every now and then. The radio would just shut off and then turn back on. Took it and had it tested and the guy told me it all came back to the ignition switch. Never had the $ to get it replaced. In the meantime, had to have the intake manifold replaced. Fast forward 5 years, heat not working properly, turn signals still acting quirky. Fast forward 1 more year, antifreeze/water disappearing and having to add every single day. Intake manifold needs replaced again. There is a recall on the ignition switch that would possibly fix the quirky turn signal issue but not going to worry about it now. Not fixing intake manifold when that would cost more than what the car is worth. Later found out that Chevy's have a lot of issues with their intake manifolds. Just something to look into if you are thinking of purchasing one!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This is a great car for a 1st time driver or college student. Have had for several years, maintained properly and have had no major problems"

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Decent sedan, easy to drive

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I've owned and driven this car for 10 years now putting on over 150,000 miles. I really enjoy driving this car because it is comfortable and smooth. I've also driven many miles in bad, winter weather and always felt safe."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,156

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Beautiful ride on the highway."

Cons: "Backseat cup holders not very secure."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great on gas. Smooth ride. New front bumper and 4 new tires. Maybe twice a month when I turn the ignition, the RPM will drop back to zero. I love my Chevy Malibu. I have had it coming up on 4 years now. Bought used, and have taken care of it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Worth keeping till something big breaks

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Big, comfortable, good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"125K miles on this 2001. Glad I kept it and had the head gasket leak fixed a couple years back. Great gas mileage for a car this size. Reputation for the Malibu has climbed, and my experience agrees. Everything about the car is very good, for the price."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Find another car. Really.

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent highway performance."

Cons: "The unbelievable metal deterioration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This was my final purchase of a Chevy product. I've owned cars from all of the big 3, and in three cases, the Chevs rusted away in 12 years. I just brought my Boo to the wreckers b/c the front end steering rack had completely rusted away.I didn't do the repair, as it would have been over a thousand, and the brake and fuel lines were ready to go. The paint job started to fall off- not rust away, fall off in patches, showing bare steel underneath after only five years. Five. Years. The engine knocked like mad from the day it hit the street. I purchased it two years old, and the dealer sort of ripped me off by having the car completely warmed up when I test drove it. My bad. The quality of Chev products (Corsica, Malibu and an Impala) have declined. I'd stay away from them. Which is a real disappointment, b/c my dream car as a kid was a Vette, and I'm in a position to buy one now. Oh well. Back to Ford or Chrysler."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The Malibu us one of the best cars I have owned

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun and comfortable drive"

Cons: "sits lower than I was use to coming from a SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

grey rainy day..still a nice looking car

"The 2005 Malibu Classic was purchased with 20, 000 miles on it in almost new condition. fall of 2005. I have had no major issues nor minor issues util recently the heater core is leaking on the carpet. I am having this fixed and will have carpet cleaned. It went through heavy snow during the past winter with no problems. Handles well, rides beautifully. The cabin has some road noise. Stereo plays well. It has been kept in the garage when not in use. But I do drive it daily."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

grey rainy day..still a nice looking car

Fun car until coolant problems

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "After 70,000mils starts having coolant problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"My father and I both owned 2003 Malibu's. We really enjoyed owning and driving them. They were great on gas mileage and gave a smooth ride. The only problem with these cars were they both had coolant problems after 70,000 miles, and was an expensive repair that we couldn't afford."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This has been an excellent vehicle

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value and reliability"

Cons: "none noticed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been fantastic. I have never had any repairs needed. Just the usual maintenance. The upholstery is the same as when it was brand new, no wear or tears. It has been the most reliable car I have ever owned."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car we ever owned. not one repair ever needed

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,759

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "the whole enchilada"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"runs like a top! or I should say; better than a top!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sharp, comfortable, handles well

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good styling, handles good, comfortable."

Cons: "antitheft not good desigh."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2nd owner. Was Exec car before me. Put approx 100000 mi on car. antitheft was annoying due to key switch/had it disabled. New engine installed 95000 mi. due to head gasket leak. Otherwise very reliable. Very sharp car with white leather seats and special dk blue paint that shows maroon tint in sunlight. Very comfortable, drives and handles great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable, fun to drive.

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds the curves wonderfully"

Cons: "Driver's-side cupholder cramped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the most trouble-free car I've EVER owned. Other than regular maintenance we've replaced brakes, tires and, after 10 years, battery. Roomy and comfortable, it's got the power for hills and loves windy roads. Lately the rear- and driver's side-speakers have cut out but hopefully that's a minor fix. The body and paint are still in great shape and if not for the styling changes I'd never guess it's 13 years old. After 11 years I still have fun driving my little baby."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Loved this car -

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Corners great!"

Cons: "No 'rain gutters' above windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Never left me stranded, very few problems, good mileage, love the V6 engine. Anti-theft a little touchy, but dealable. Very sorry to see it go, but my needs have changed."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good car!!

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Couldn't afford repairs, needed bigger vehicle

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, rides well"

Cons: "Faulty ignition"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I owned this car for 7 years and it was very reliable to me. It drove and rode well and was mechanically sound for some time... but when it got to 100000 miles everything started wearing down and breaking. I traded it in because I was unable to afford the repairs but I was needing something bigger anyways."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

nice starter car

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "nice starter car"

Cons: "age, wear and tear on original engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"needs front end work, new tires, RF wheel work"

2 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent value, very reliable

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent quality vehicle"

Cons: "No heated seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner and have put 125k miles on this car. It is my 2nd Malibu. I drove my first one for 150k. Excellent value. Great drive, dependable, nice features. Not luxurious but good quality. I would recommend a Malibu and wouldn't hesitate to buy another!"

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

like new runs grest daily driver 83000 miler

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "quiet ride comfy great tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"for sale chevy malibu 3800$ runs great daily driver all repets for oil changes every 3000 miles since 35000miles when purched very cold air please call 18146296454 cell 18142418709"

Great car-got my $'s worth and more

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,450

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have really enjoyed driving my 2003 Chevy Malibu for 11 years. It has been a great car, only left me sitting one time when the fuel pump went out. Other repairs were maintenance for wear and tear. Really good visibility, good gas mileage especially for a V6, easy to drive. I will really miss this car. Unfortunately I test drove a 2014 Malibu and did not like it."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

roomy and reliable

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, spacious, comfortable, good mpg"

Cons: "No mirror on passenger side visor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love how much headroom and legroom there is in the Classic. Very comfortable ride, good gas mileage, and most reliable car I've owned. I used to drive all over Washington and Oregon, and for long drives it was always comfortable, which is rare for me, being 6 feet tall. Carseats fit easily into the back, trunk is large and can accommodate a stroller + Costco run + other odds and ends. I absolutely LOVE the driver's side cupholder and wish all cars had it."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best little car I have ever owned.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love it !"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my little malibu, gona be Sooooooo sad if it ever stops on me our gets in a accident ;( But for now I'm loving it! :)"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

love it

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable car I've ever owned. except for, I had a new key at at walmart and it set of the anti-theft. Ive read posts that people have replaced every different part in their cars and it ends up being the key. overall I love it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "good runner when working properly"

Cons: "do not want to drive until fixed too hard to steer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"good running car but need rack and pinion"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

constant problems

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"constant problems"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This has been a great car. Roomy, good gas mileage

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, Gas Mileage, Smooth Ride, Great Trunk space"

Cons: "Wish it had keyless entry"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car is the one everyone wants to go for long rides in. The trunk space in unlike any other. Room in back seat for even long legs. Great gas mileage. A smooth ride. I wish the new ones were made like this one."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals