Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 913 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.6/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 88 89 90 ... 92 | Next

By on Monday, August 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

NOT so great "GM Feeling" ($$$)

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

"2001 Malibu w/just under 72K miles as of Aug 2007... Was bought used with under 30K miles about 4 yrs ago. The car performs well although it should with a 3.1L, V6. Gas MPG is reasonable at between 22 & 25 MPG averages. The BAD part: Ongoing Coolant system issues which were later identifed as a leaking Intake Manifold gasket. This repair job was basically a full disassembly of the top half of the engine. A large, highly reputable reapir shop did the work and I was told they had TWO other Malibus in their shop that week for the SAME problem. The first 3 A/C fan blower switch settings quit and left it with setting 4 & 5 only -- Replaced fan switch. A/C compressor has a slow leak so I'm adding R-134 to it about every 8 months. Driver side sun visor broke due to plastic shaft on plastic ring design that comes off in your hand when the tiny plastic tabs shear off. GM & Chevrolet should be ashamed of their poor quality and throw away designs of their automobiles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

dont buy a malibu

By on Saturday, August 04, 2007

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

"We baught this car less then 1 yr ago and in that time we have had the AC/turn signals/anti-theft system all go bad and a leak in the radiator to boot. The total cost to fix this all, MORE THEN THE CAR IS WORTH. We are trading it in for less then half the $ we paid 9 months ago. WORST INVESTMENT EVER."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Soso car

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I bought the car with 47,000 miles from my grandfather who had never had any problems with the car. once i crossed the 50,000 mark i've had it in the shop numerous times, front end linkage needed to be replaced, front discs and rotors twice, the check engine light keeps coming on now and the car will misfire randomly. now at the 85,000 mile mark the problems still continue. the paint also has started to flake off at the bottom of the driver door, around the gas tank and at the back door jam on the driver side. other than that the car has been very comfortable to drive back and forth to school."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid car

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

"Solid car, has seen its share of highways and also bumper to bumper traffic. Still gets great gas mileage, more than 30 mpg for highway, about 24 for city. The ignition and starter have been replaced repeatedly, which is my greatest gripe, given the age of the car."

outstanding Car

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"this is outstanding car. never got any problem yr 2003"

Don't Waste Your Money

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"I bought this vehicle used less than a year ago. 2,900 miles later the Check Engine light came on while I was 400 miles away from the dealership. $200 and they replaced something different than they told me on the phone. 2,900 miles later the Check Engine light came on... $400 because the mechanic told me that the radiator was bent. 2,900 miles later the light came on the problem: P1887 - the same problem as the first repair only the dealership decided to replace a brake switch instead of what they told me they were repairing. The problem: the transmission needs to be rebuilt or replaced. This car is also notorious for intake manifold repairs. This is the first time in my life that I've owned a Chevy and NEVER AGAIN."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

zoom zoom

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I had my Malibu for 6 years, and is is such a fun car to drive. No major problems except the air conditioning is not working too well now.. but after 6 yers, its not bad. the car goes when you need it to and it is very reliable. I have another vehicle just 2 years old but I rather drive my Malibu."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Vehicle

By on Sunday, July 29, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned this vehicle since 2003, I bought it as a program vehicle. For the most part i have been very happy with it. My only complaint is that a seal around the rear left tail light assembly went bad and water was getting into the tail light housing. I ended up having to replace it. GM wanted $225.00 for the replacement of the housing since there was rust on the light conections, I found one for $125.00 used . I had since found out that this has been a problem on other GM vehicles as well. It should have been a recall item as it created a safety issue, it caused my left tail and brake light not to work. Other then that it has been a very reliable car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 88 89 90 ... 92 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details