Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 929 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 93 | Next

Great car-got my $'s worth and more

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,450

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have really enjoyed driving my 2003 Chevy Malibu for 11 years. It has been a great car, only left me sitting one time when the fuel pump went out. Other repairs were maintenance for wear and tear. Really good visibility, good gas mileage especially for a V6, easy to drive. I will really miss this car. Unfortunately I test drove a 2014 Malibu and did not like it."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

roomy and reliable

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, spacious, comfortable, good mpg"

Cons: "No mirror on passenger side visor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love how much headroom and legroom there is in the Classic. Very comfortable ride, good gas mileage, and most reliable car I've owned. I used to drive all over Washington and Oregon, and for long drives it was always comfortable, which is rare for me, being 6 feet tall. Carseats fit easily into the back, trunk is large and can accommodate a stroller + Costco run + other odds and ends. I absolutely LOVE the driver's side cupholder and wish all cars had it."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best little car I have ever owned.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love it !"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my little malibu, gona be Sooooooo sad if it ever stops on me our gets in a accident ;( But for now I'm loving it! :)"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

love it

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable car I've ever owned. except for, I had a new key at at walmart and it set of the anti-theft. Ive read posts that people have replaced every different part in their cars and it ends up being the key. overall I love it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "good runner when working properly"

Cons: "do not want to drive until fixed too hard to steer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"good running car but need rack and pinion"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

constant problems

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"constant problems"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This has been a great car. Roomy, good gas mileage

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, Gas Mileage, Smooth Ride, Great Trunk space"

Cons: "Wish it had keyless entry"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car is the one everyone wants to go for long rides in. The trunk space in unlike any other. Room in back seat for even long legs. Great gas mileage. A smooth ride. I wish the new ones were made like this one."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Except for theft system light coming on-great car!

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I would like another Malibu but the gas mileage has not improved in the newer versions. The fact many are on the road with me which means they are all dependable. The miles have been both highway and stop-and-start city errands driving. As to looks was ahead of its time for all the other look-alike cars on the road. Lots of road noise, needs insulation under the floorboards. So reliable, so since that is the major reason I have kept the car, I have lived with its minor flaws."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

2nd car

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,091

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, easy to drive"

Cons: "mine didnt have cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I absolutely love my Malibu! She has gotten through so much. She can handle the snow and wet roads just fine and has no issues getting up to speed! When you take care of your car your car will take care of you! I had a minivan hit me and the Malibu didn't even have a mark! This car is a serious trooper!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Completely ridiculous car

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Comfortable car when it actually works"

Cons: "everything mechanical breaks constantly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car used at 114,000 miles. In the two years I've had it, I've replaced the head gaskets, alternator, battery, power steering pump, and ignition switch. I've spent around $3000 on repairs, and now it's broken again. I'm ready to throw it in the trash and get a real car. I don't think I'll ever buy a Chevy again, and I would absolutely never recommend this car to anyone."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 93 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals