Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2001 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 939 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 94 | Next

This car is a great car.

By on Monday, April 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price and easy to maintain."

Cons: "No automatic seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and wish it were not so old, therefore, I feel that I must trade it in for a newer Chevrolet Malibu."

No engine leaks and has never let me down

By on Sunday, April 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 263,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable, fun to drive"

Cons: "Not going to last long enough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A very good car, 263,000 and still going. I would own again."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

NOT A HIGH-QUALITY CAR!

By on Saturday, April 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,400

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "RIDES SMOOTHLY"

Cons: "JUST NOT COMFORTABLE WITH ITS DEPENDABILITY."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"MY '02 MALIBU WAS PURCHASED IN JULY '03 WITH 21K MILES ON IT AND NOW HAS 56.4K -- I ONLY DRIVE 3K A YEAR. INTAKE GASKETS REPLACED ABOUT 53K -- $640. DIDN'T DO MY HOMEWORK ON THIS CAR, AS IT GOT A LOT OF BLACK MARKS FROM CONSUMER REPORTS -- WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS CAR. IN '02, GM WAS PUTTING ITS EFFORT INTO THE TRUCK LINE. BRAKE LINES RUSTED OUT, $500 TO REPLACE -- ABS BRAKE LIGHT IS ON AND NO ONE CAN GIVE ME AN ACCURATE DIAGNOSIS -- STAY AWAY FROM THIS MODEL/YEAR MALIBU. I THINK THE '03 MODELS GOT A BETTER RATING THOUGH."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I am the original owner. I bought it new in 2000

By on Tuesday, April 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable transportation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This has been a great family car for many years. This is a good car with good, brakes, tires, battery etc."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

THIS IS A GOOD CAR FOR WORK

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "DRIVES GOOD GREAT GAS MILEAGE"

Cons: "KEEP THE ANTI-FREEZE IN IT"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"CAR IS IN FAIR CONDITION .I BOUGHT IT USED . HAD SOME WORK DONE ON IT."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Great as a second car. Starts even in the coldest

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good riding. Use for trips"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is very dependable in the coldest weather. Comes with low mileage and good tires. New battery."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

the car was used as a work car Monday through Frid

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "it has current tags and licensed."

Cons: "as stated it needs breaks and hasn't been drivein."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"It's been sitting up for a year when it needed brakes and couldn't afford it. It's been very dependable otherwise."

15 people out of 27 found this review helpful

my first car

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "simple and die hard design"

Cons: "rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"In my opinion this was a great buy on my part for my first car. I purchaced the car for 1100 dollars used and got a car the need several key parts to run again. i put a new converter and muffler on the exuast system, new updated fuel lines, a new brake booster, a compleate tune up, and other pidily things such as light bulbs and tires. Overall this has been a fantastic car for me it has a nice convenient interior and a large trunk and simple design (no electrical problems). it will need new brake lines soon. the only complaint i have about the car is that if it isnt garage keeped, it will rust, bad. for instance the metal plate that the battery and the air filter sets on top of will disintegrate if left outside, mine is practically gone. i give this car a thumbs up to anyone who is somewhat mechanicly inclined."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever!! -

By on Saturday, December 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "well designed & built - good value"

Cons: "no optional pwr windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"only vehicle I have kept for more than 3 yrs. love this car - however mileage is getting up there and thinking of trading while nothing is broken. Chevrolet is my 1st choice, probably the new Trax suv. Reviews are good, guess I am brainwashed but GM is my only brand to consider."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very uncomfortable to drive

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "It dont break down"

Cons: "ONly one working cup holder in the front seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Not enough leg room and window regulators go out too often"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 94 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals