Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2000 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 939 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 188 | Next

Beware Gasket Problem

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I love the way this car handles and how it looks. However watch for 3 major problems. I've had to replace the intake valve gasket twice. The first time was at about 60,000 miles and again about 2 years later. This is a problem with all of these engines (V6). Also the front wheel bearings went out prematurely and the air cond compressor quit at about 100,000 miles."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fun car until coolant problems

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "After 70,000mils starts having coolant problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"My father and I both owned 2003 Malibu's. We really enjoyed owning and driving them. They were great on gas mileage and gave a smooth ride. The only problem with these cars were they both had coolant problems after 70,000 miles, and was an expensive repair that we couldn't afford."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I have driven better, But its reliability is great

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, and has 6 air bags, great family car"

Cons: "not a lot of room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have enjoyed driving this vehicle due to the reliability of the Malibu. The V6 engine though is a major gas gusler. I got 13 MPG, although I do only drive in the city."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A mid range car reliable and best motor forthiscar

By on Sunday, November 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"a very nice inside desighn for 2000 well we bought our car when it had 137,000 miles on it and it still ran good no tap knock sounded very good so we bout it for 3,800 decent deel well at a 203,000 miles we ran it hot 3 times be for it quit on us well parts are very expensive bout two brand new heads for 275 from carquest and a compleate felpro gasket kit with headbolts,lifters,pushrods,waterpump,batery,oil screen, been flushed twice. 70% of the motor is brand new got about 460 dollars in everything and did it myself very easy to work on runs great have no problems with it its been now 3 years since ive done the work and still runs very good interior is 4/10 now but im getting new front seats and top"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid, but flaky electrical

By on Thursday, May 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Looks, ride, radio, fuel mileage"

Cons: "Flaky electrical, uses expensive Dex-Cool"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Nice looking car, 32 mpg Highway, good ride for it's size. COLD A/C, Good sounding radio, quiet when wanted. Dashboard lights don't work, window raising hardware is flaky.In the morning, the engine sounds like a bucket of bolts until it warms up. Half a can of STP cured that. A great commuter car, but if you can, get the manual windows. Bought it for $2300 at an auction. Overall rating: C+. GM is trying, but not quite hard enough to compete head-to-head with Ford....."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 188 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals