Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1999 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 922 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next

Worth keeping till something big breaks

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Big, comfortable, good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"125K miles on this 2001. Glad I kept it and had the head gasket leak fixed a couple years back. Great gas mileage for a car this size. Reputation for the Malibu has climbed, and my experience agrees. Everything about the car is very good, for the price."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Find another car. Really.

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent highway performance."

Cons: "The unbelievable metal deterioration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This was my final purchase of a Chevy product. I've owned cars from all of the big 3, and in three cases, the Chevs rusted away in 12 years. I just brought my Boo to the wreckers b/c the front end steering rack had completely rusted away.I didn't do the repair, as it would have been over a thousand, and the brake and fuel lines were ready to go. The paint job started to fall off- not rust away, fall off in patches, showing bare steel underneath after only five years. Five. Years. The engine knocked like mad from the day it hit the street. I purchased it two years old, and the dealer sort of ripped me off by having the car completely warmed up when I test drove it. My bad. The quality of Chev products (Corsica, Malibu and an Impala) have declined. I'd stay away from them. Which is a real disappointment, b/c my dream car as a kid was a Vette, and I'm in a position to buy one now. Oh well. Back to Ford or Chrysler."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The Malibu us one of the best cars I have owned

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun and comfortable drive"

Cons: "sits lower than I was use to coming from a SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

grey rainy day..still a nice looking car

"The 2005 Malibu Classic was purchased with 20, 000 miles on it in almost new condition. fall of 2005. I have had no major issues nor minor issues util recently the heater core is leaking on the carpet. I am having this fixed and will have carpet cleaned. It went through heavy snow during the past winter with no problems. Handles well, rides beautifully. The cabin has some road noise. Stereo plays well. It has been kept in the garage when not in use. But I do drive it daily."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

grey rainy day..still a nice looking car

Fun car until coolant problems

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "After 70,000mils starts having coolant problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"My father and I both owned 2003 Malibu's. We really enjoyed owning and driving them. They were great on gas mileage and gave a smooth ride. The only problem with these cars were they both had coolant problems after 70,000 miles, and was an expensive repair that we couldn't afford."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This has been an excellent vehicle

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value and reliability"

Cons: "none noticed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been fantastic. I have never had any repairs needed. Just the usual maintenance. The upholstery is the same as when it was brand new, no wear or tears. It has been the most reliable car I have ever owned."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car we ever owned. not one repair ever needed

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,759

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "the whole enchilada"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"runs like a top! or I should say; better than a top!"

Sharp, comfortable, handles well

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good styling, handles good, comfortable."

Cons: "antitheft not good desigh."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2nd owner. Was Exec car before me. Put approx 100000 mi on car. antitheft was annoying due to key switch/had it disabled. New engine installed 95000 mi. due to head gasket leak. Otherwise very reliable. Very sharp car with white leather seats and special dk blue paint that shows maroon tint in sunlight. Very comfortable, drives and handles great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable, fun to drive.

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds the curves wonderfully"

Cons: "Driver's-side cupholder cramped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the most trouble-free car I've EVER owned. Other than regular maintenance we've replaced brakes, tires and, after 10 years, battery. Roomy and comfortable, it's got the power for hills and loves windy roads. Lately the rear- and driver's side-speakers have cut out but hopefully that's a minor fix. The body and paint are still in great shape and if not for the styling changes I'd never guess it's 13 years old. After 11 years I still have fun driving my little baby."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Loved this car -

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Corners great!"

Cons: "No 'rain gutters' above windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Never left me stranded, very few problems, good mileage, love the V6 engine. Anti-theft a little touchy, but dealable. Very sorry to see it go, but my needs have changed."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good car!!

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Couldn't afford repairs, needed bigger vehicle

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, rides well"

Cons: "Faulty ignition"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I owned this car for 7 years and it was very reliable to me. It drove and rode well and was mechanically sound for some time... but when it got to 100000 miles everything started wearing down and breaking. I traded it in because I was unable to afford the repairs but I was needing something bigger anyways."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

nice starter car

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "nice starter car"

Cons: "age, wear and tear on original engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"needs front end work, new tires, RF wheel work"

2 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent value, very reliable

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent quality vehicle"

Cons: "No heated seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner and have put 125k miles on this car. It is my 2nd Malibu. I drove my first one for 150k. Excellent value. Great drive, dependable, nice features. Not luxurious but good quality. I would recommend a Malibu and wouldn't hesitate to buy another!"

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

like new runs grest daily driver 83000 miler

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "quiet ride comfy great tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"for sale chevy malibu 3800$ runs great daily driver all repets for oil changes every 3000 miles since 35000miles when purched very cold air please call 18146296454 cell 18142418709"

Great car-got my $'s worth and more

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,450

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have really enjoyed driving my 2003 Chevy Malibu for 11 years. It has been a great car, only left me sitting one time when the fuel pump went out. Other repairs were maintenance for wear and tear. Really good visibility, good gas mileage especially for a V6, easy to drive. I will really miss this car. Unfortunately I test drove a 2014 Malibu and did not like it."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

roomy and reliable

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, spacious, comfortable, good mpg"

Cons: "No mirror on passenger side visor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love how much headroom and legroom there is in the Classic. Very comfortable ride, good gas mileage, and most reliable car I've owned. I used to drive all over Washington and Oregon, and for long drives it was always comfortable, which is rare for me, being 6 feet tall. Carseats fit easily into the back, trunk is large and can accommodate a stroller + Costco run + other odds and ends. I absolutely LOVE the driver's side cupholder and wish all cars had it."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best little car I have ever owned.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love it !"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my little malibu, gona be Sooooooo sad if it ever stops on me our gets in a accident ;( But for now I'm loving it! :)"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

love it

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable car I've ever owned. except for, I had a new key at at walmart and it set of the anti-theft. Ive read posts that people have replaced every different part in their cars and it ends up being the key. overall I love it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "good runner when working properly"

Cons: "do not want to drive until fixed too hard to steer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"good running car but need rack and pinion"

constant problems

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"constant problems"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This has been a great car. Roomy, good gas mileage

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, Gas Mileage, Smooth Ride, Great Trunk space"

Cons: "Wish it had keyless entry"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car is the one everyone wants to go for long rides in. The trunk space in unlike any other. Room in back seat for even long legs. Great gas mileage. A smooth ride. I wish the new ones were made like this one."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Except for theft system light coming on-great car!

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I would like another Malibu but the gas mileage has not improved in the newer versions. The fact many are on the road with me which means they are all dependable. The miles have been both highway and stop-and-start city errands driving. As to looks was ahead of its time for all the other look-alike cars on the road. Lots of road noise, needs insulation under the floorboards. So reliable, so since that is the major reason I have kept the car, I have lived with its minor flaws."

2nd car

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,091

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, easy to drive"

Cons: "mine didnt have cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I absolutely love my Malibu! She has gotten through so much. She can handle the snow and wet roads just fine and has no issues getting up to speed! When you take care of your car your car will take care of you! I had a minivan hit me and the Malibu didn't even have a mark! This car is a serious trooper!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Completely ridiculous car

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Comfortable car when it actually works"

Cons: "everything mechanical breaks constantly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car used at 114,000 miles. In the two years I've had it, I've replaced the head gaskets, alternator, battery, power steering pump, and ignition switch. I've spent around $3000 on repairs, and now it's broken again. I'm ready to throw it in the trash and get a real car. I don't think I'll ever buy a Chevy again, and I would absolutely never recommend this car to anyone."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Amazing car, cried when I scrapped it

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas miles, super dependable, durable, roomy, comfy"

Cons: "Not a very pretty car, not best HP"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought mt 99 Malibu in April '11 as a beater to get me around for 6-12 months so I could save up for a better car. I took what I could find. It had all its service records for the last 5 years so I took it. It was the best $1500 I ever spent. It had 112,000 miles when I bought it, and I just scrapped it in December with just over 160k miles. Let me start by saying, when I purchased the well taken care of car, the previous owner let me know it was in need of an oil change (he was a 3k miles oil change like clockwork kind of guy). I put it off, and forgot, and forgot some more, and the whole time I owned it I NEVER did get that oil change, however the oil was still pretty golden-ish a week before it was scrapped. The most money I had to put into it was an alternator in the summer of 13, and I replaced the rotors and breaks at that time as well. The big issue with it, was the cables between the battery needed replaced. But, it also needed new tires. I was going to put the money into the car, but the garage told me that my frame was rotted and was not likely to pass inspection in 5 months when it was needed again, and the break lines were in need of replacement as well. If the frame was salvageable, I would have sunk the money into the car (needed about $700 worth of work for it all fixed less the frame) but it wasnt worth it when I would only get 5 more months out of it. If the car was from anywhere other then the North (where we get tons of rot from all the salt on the road) I would be driving that car for another few years before needing any more work on it. And as ugly as the car was (mine had major body rust from the salt) I would have driven it til it falled apart. It is the most reliable car ever, and I will be replacing my temp car I currently have for a new malibu teh end of this summer!! Oh, when I bought the car, I almost immediately noticed a slight tranny slip. I had it looked over, and there was nothing wrong with the transmission or engine. It didnt have alot of HP, I think becuase of that issue, but my brother said it was likely a shift sensor (which is nothing to worry about). I only noticed it when I was going up hill about 45 MPH but you put your foot in it and force teh shift and all is fine. All in all, I did not take very good care of my car, and used it hard, I took long road trips all over the states, and it was so good to me. Great on gas, alot of room inside and a gigantic trunk. It also had a great factory radio. Sounded like I had a mediocre system put in it!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Personal Value

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,118

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "Not good for long distance drivers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Car should be used for short distances. It's been a family car since it was purchased."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals