Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1998 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 945 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 189 | Next

awesome fuel economy!

By on Tuesday, January 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, very reliable"

Cons: "the interior quality could have been better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned our Malibu for 9 years and absolutely love it. We have gotten 32mpg on the highway from our V6 engine which is great for this sized vehicle and engine. We had one issue with the transmission when it was a few months out of warranty but GM covered the problem with no questions asked and stood behind their vehicle even when they didn't have to. Other than that, no unusual issues in almost 70,000 miles! Thanks Chevy for the great car"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable, safe, great mpg

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, roomy, great for travel."

Cons: "The spare tire rattles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle was purchased used with low milage. In the 9 years that I have owned it it has needed minimal service, other than oil change, following the "book". I didn't take it to the dealer, which would have only added the cosmetic service, like oiling the doors, etc that I did myself. Milage per gallon is unbelievable. It has had a low of 22-23 mpg and a high of 33 mpg on a long trip."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Decent first car

By on Monday, January 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Doesnt Quit, cheapish repairs"

Cons: "Poor quality, will need repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought this 3 years ago with 120,000 miles immediately needed some repairs. The only pro is that parts and labor is relatively cheap. Cons are it will needed repairs almost every 2-3 months, its not put together that well. It is quite reliable seeing as though it doesnt completely die on you. I would recommend only if you need something cheap and dont mind shelling out ($150-400) every couple months."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable, economical, handles well

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, economical, handles well"

Cons: "little bit noisy on highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Chevrolet makes good products, reliable, economical to operate and repair (when necessary), good design, practical and convenient to use."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Basic car for economy price, boring

By on Tuesday, August 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,400

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "value priced"

Cons: "poor mpg, cheap look and feel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"no real problems, no power, cheap looking and feel, A/C switch problem should have been a no real problems, no power, cheap looking and feel, A/C switch problem should have been a recall"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 189 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals