Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 925 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 93 | Next

Reliable

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This is a great car for a 1st time driver or college student. Have had for several years, maintained properly and have had no major problems"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Decent sedan, easy to drive

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I've owned and driven this car for 10 years now putting on over 150,000 miles. I really enjoy driving this car because it is comfortable and smooth. I've also driven many miles in bad, winter weather and always felt safe."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,156

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Beautiful ride on the highway."

Cons: "Backseat cup holders not very secure."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great on gas. Smooth ride. New front bumper and 4 new tires. Maybe twice a month when I turn the ignition, the RPM will drop back to zero. I love my Chevy Malibu. I have had it coming up on 4 years now. Bought used, and have taken care of it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Worth keeping till something big breaks

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Big, comfortable, good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"125K miles on this 2001. Glad I kept it and had the head gasket leak fixed a couple years back. Great gas mileage for a car this size. Reputation for the Malibu has climbed, and my experience agrees. Everything about the car is very good, for the price."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Find another car. Really.

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent highway performance."

Cons: "The unbelievable metal deterioration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This was my final purchase of a Chevy product. I've owned cars from all of the big 3, and in three cases, the Chevs rusted away in 12 years. I just brought my Boo to the wreckers b/c the front end steering rack had completely rusted away.I didn't do the repair, as it would have been over a thousand, and the brake and fuel lines were ready to go. The paint job started to fall off- not rust away, fall off in patches, showing bare steel underneath after only five years. Five. Years. The engine knocked like mad from the day it hit the street. I purchased it two years old, and the dealer sort of ripped me off by having the car completely warmed up when I test drove it. My bad. The quality of Chev products (Corsica, Malibu and an Impala) have declined. I'd stay away from them. Which is a real disappointment, b/c my dream car as a kid was a Vette, and I'm in a position to buy one now. Oh well. Back to Ford or Chrysler."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The Malibu us one of the best cars I have owned

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun and comfortable drive"

Cons: "sits lower than I was use to coming from a SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

grey rainy day..still a nice looking car

"The 2005 Malibu Classic was purchased with 20, 000 miles on it in almost new condition. fall of 2005. I have had no major issues nor minor issues util recently the heater core is leaking on the carpet. I am having this fixed and will have carpet cleaned. It went through heavy snow during the past winter with no problems. Handles well, rides beautifully. The cabin has some road noise. Stereo plays well. It has been kept in the garage when not in use. But I do drive it daily."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

grey rainy day..still a nice looking car

Fun car until coolant problems

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "After 70,000mils starts having coolant problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"My father and I both owned 2003 Malibu's. We really enjoyed owning and driving them. They were great on gas mileage and gave a smooth ride. The only problem with these cars were they both had coolant problems after 70,000 miles, and was an expensive repair that we couldn't afford."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This has been an excellent vehicle

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value and reliability"

Cons: "none noticed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been fantastic. I have never had any repairs needed. Just the usual maintenance. The upholstery is the same as when it was brand new, no wear or tears. It has been the most reliable car I have ever owned."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car we ever owned. not one repair ever needed

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,759

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "the whole enchilada"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"runs like a top! or I should say; better than a top!"

Sharp, comfortable, handles well

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good styling, handles good, comfortable."

Cons: "antitheft not good desigh."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2nd owner. Was Exec car before me. Put approx 100000 mi on car. antitheft was annoying due to key switch/had it disabled. New engine installed 95000 mi. due to head gasket leak. Otherwise very reliable. Very sharp car with white leather seats and special dk blue paint that shows maroon tint in sunlight. Very comfortable, drives and handles great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 93 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals