Go

1997 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 956 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 37 38 39 | Next

By on Monday, December 3, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, December 2, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, December 1, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Car, Great Value

By on Friday, November 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is a great 4-door sedan. It is fun to drive, very comfortable and gets great gas mileage. Highway average at 75 MPH is 28-30 MPG. Trunk has lots of storage; two golf bags with fold up carts with room to spare. Other than oil, brakes and tires I have not had maintenance expenses on this vehicle."

what a great car

By on Thursday, November 29, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"my dad bought a 2000 malibu ls in 2003, with about 35,000 miles on it. when i graduated from highschool, he gave it to me for college. i had it from 2004 to 2006, and would have if i hadn't totalled it last winter. when i got rid of it, it had 89,000 miles, and no significant repairs. during the over 50,000 miles my dad and i had it, the only time it was in the shop was for a PCV valve replacement and a new battery. i had no problems with brakes, although i hear that's a common concern. the only complaint i had was the driver's seat: on trips lasting more than 2 or 3 hours it becomes quite uncomfortable. this was a wonderful car, and i would recommended one to anybody shopping for a used car. i wish i still had mine."

By on Thursday, November 29, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, November 29, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

First Car

By on Tuesday, November 27, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is my 1st car i love it its great on gas i haven't had to put any money other than getting oil changes"

By on Monday, November 26, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Had a problem with the theft system, like another reviewer. Mine is a 1999. Now, the engine is beginning to overheat on occasions. My mechanic said that they have seen this happen often in this particular car. I will not buy another GM car."

bad electrical problems

By on Sunday, November 4, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"tail lights have poor seals so when it rains water gets inside your tail light causing short circuits or arcs melting the plastic"

By on Saturday, November 3, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

best,most reliable

By on Friday, November 2, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"great gas mileage,comfortable on long trips,will drve it till it drops!"

By on Thursday, November 1, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Overall, it ran good for the first few years, but then last year I started running into problems. I also had to change a gasket head on the car (about $1,200) and then two times in the last year my car just refuses to start. Something to do with fuel regulation, but it's a problem with the part they use. You get what you pay for on this car - relatively cheap, so don't expect it too last too long."

Decent Cheap Car

By on Friday, October 26, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"We bought this car new in 2003 for $14,500. The a/c control problem is annoying but easy to fix yourself - takes about an hour and requires no parts or special tools (research it online - contacts just need cleaned). OEM tires were cheap, drivers seat cushion has worn a bit, but no major problems. Quite a bargain for a basic midsize car with a V6 and decent gas mileage."

This car was ok at first

By on Friday, October 26, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

"Bought my '03 Malibu used with 48,000 miles on it. No problems with it until 82k when the fuel pump went out. After that had to replace the brakes and rotors, the vibration in the car felt like it was falling apart every time i stopped, also alignment was always falling off of center. Random electrical problems, such as the doors wont always unlock when the key is removed, and the horn won't always honk when locking the car. Everything was going good for a while until about 130k when the throttle started sticking around 2000 rpms at completely random times. Now with 155k and preventative maintenance done, the transmisson is slipping. Do not buy this model Malibu, the new ones are ok though with Chevys new warranty."

Doesn't owe me anything

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"2001 bought in Jan 2003, with 24,000 miles for $8500 plus $1100 for extended warranty. Replaced cheap Firestone tires at 34,000, replacement BFG tires at 78,000. Coolant leak in intake manifold repaired at 52,000 under warranty. Rotors turned and brake pads replaced at 78,000. Recent electrical problems were positive battery cable corrosion hidden by rubber boot at the terminal; cleaned and given clean bill of health - still have original battery after 7 years. It starts good, runs good, drives good and rides good. Complaint - it's just not an exciting car. (My wife has a Corvette which is exciting to drive.) We'll see how durable it is from this point (85k)."

By on Wednesday, October 24, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, October 24, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

No Issues Yet

By on Wednesday, October 24, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased my 2001 Malibu about 1 1/2 years ago, and have only had to replace the brakes. I have had no issues at all. It's running strong, and has almost 90,000 miles on it. I drive it from Phoenix to Payson several times per month to visit the parents and it just hauls all the way there. It's quite and has never left me stranded. I drive it every day to/from work and to take the kids to/from school. I love my Malibu..."

surprised at performance so far

By on Wednesday, October 17, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought this 03 car with 20 miles on it. have owned it for 4 years now and have had very little problems. only had to replace front brakes a couple of times. i have been surprised and happy at the performance from this car. now have 105,000 miles and keep waiting for something to go wrong!!"

Good depedable car

By on Monday, October 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"Would highly recommend."

By on Sunday, October 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, October 13, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, October 13, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

very average

By on Friday, October 12, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"needed new transmission within 5 years.l"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 37 38 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement