Go

1997 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.9
Out of 10

Based on 951 Ratings for the 1997 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.2/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

Average performer

By on Tuesday, May 26, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Car has been really average performing but reliable. Bought it at 93k miles and now has 120k. Had to have the O2 sensors replaced, catalytic conv, EGR, and brakes since buying it. Runs well, but seems to have tranny problems, shifting is weary which causes car not to accelerate fast and hesitates. Very common on Malibu with hesitation and tranny issues. To make sure you are buying a good one, Gun it at a stop light and see if it takes off without hesitation."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love This Car

By on Thursday, May 07, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my Malibu! I had it for nine year. It was still going with 200,000 miles! The only problem I had was with the brakes-you cannot use cheap brake pads-go with the factory ones. The car gets great gas mileage!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Wednesday, April 29, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought new in 2000, never had a problem with it. Still runs as great as the day I bought it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good for the first 50k miles!

By on Saturday, March 14, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
6/10

"Good for the first 50k miles, then the manifold gasket goes. Leaky engine, underpowered V-6, Steering went out cost $1500 to fix."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not so hott

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

"I just got this vehicle in August and I have had nothing but problems with it since. If i had known that it was going to be such a hunk of junk i wouldn't have ever bought it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned this car for 8 years and am sad to see it go. With the weather in WI it was a trooper, powered through the snow. Getting rid of it because of an oil leak, water pump leak, just don't want to stick the money into fixing it. At 130,000 miles and 12 years old it's time for a newer Malibu! The CD player is tempermental, and the motor for the driver side window went out at about 100,000. Otherwise I have not had any major problems that weren't normal wear and tear. The only complaint would be that the driver seat didn't recline."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Greet Car

By on Friday, January 09, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car overall could be a little better in snow something good tires would take care of i always had offbrand tires because the low profile tires are expensive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, January 04, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Relaible Car

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought this 2000 chevy malibu almost 4yrs ago, with 43,000 miles on it, have put 22,000 on it since then. Besides the one time gasket failure($600) its been a great car.Nothing more than regular maintence(oil etc) .Even performs better now with the lowering springs, gets me 23-25 MPG around town."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Worst car ever

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2008

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

"This is absolutly the WORST freaking car on the planet!!!!!!!! I have put more money into it then it is worth..I have had to replace the alternator, battery, radiator hose, brakes, and get the abs fixed because it made a clanking noise which would go away when you drove it?!? Then at 69000 miles my engine blew which cost two thousand dollars......not to mention that something on the passenger side leaks when it rains so the whole floor gets a puddle. I have had to fix two of the windows becauseone fell off the track and one would not close which were both about 500 dollars totaling a thousand dollars just for window repairs... two front wheel bearings went and both needed to be replaced not to mention a wheel axle!! I cant believe chevy gets away with having this thing on the road... and now the 08 is voted car of the year??? Probably because EVERYTHING broke on the old ones so they had to fix it all for the new one!!! Everyday something goes wrong with it, NOT RELIABLE AT ALL, this car STINKS, i will NEVER buy a chevy again, NEVERRR!!!!!! Of all the money I have put into it making repairs I prob could have bought a new one"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR!!!

By on Thursday, October 23, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my malibu off the lot brand new and paid it off last October. Had it 6 yrs now and have never had to do anything but regular maintenance on mine. I have the LS V6 model and it looks sharp as well!! Personally, I don't like the newer models, but I LOVE MY MALIBU!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Just Bought...Mechanic's opinion

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I have a very good mechanic that i have been using for a while. I bought my 2000 malibu for 300 from an older woman who ran it into a ditch. after replacing the doors on the passenger side and read bumper the only thing my mechanic could find wrong with it was the gasket. I've noticed many people have mentioned this problem in their review. His explanation was that the gasket had plastic pieces on the 3100 motor and many cars of this make and model have had the same problem when they get this high in mileage. luckily he replaced the gasket with metal pieces and did it for 325 (parts and labor)! Other than that the car runs fine and is very comfortable for the amount i paid. which was less than 1200 all together. I would say worth the money."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

couldnt ask for better

By on Monday, September 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i heart my 99' Chevy Malibu, with all my love. Even though i threw a rod, and need to replace the engine($3000-$3500 for rebuilt and labor...more then i paid in 2004 for the car. but worth it. great on gas, and as comfortable as can be."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

i'll pay mine off then keep it

By on Sunday, August 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Gets really good gas mileage, I can see out of it really well. I love the placement of the cup holders, there are 4. One is right by my steering wheel so a passenger can use the middle. Its roomy, 4 door powerful for its size. I have over 60,000 miles on mine and have only done regular maintenance such as oil changes and brakes, tires, checks ect. No complaints here except for slight noise from the suspension, which has been checked. Great car!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

my malibu

By on Saturday, August 23, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I own a 99 malibu ls...was my first car and i love the thing...i have heard of them having problems with the theft system...but other then that...the thing is great...if u keep the thing in good hsape u wont have anything to worry about...not to mention the thing can pull...only reason id get rid of it is to get something faster and can handle more preformance...get a mailbu!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

dont do it

By on Sunday, July 13, 2008

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"This car is horible, it literally has a mind of its own. To keep this car dependable you will have to do hundeds of dollars of work to it every other month."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Stay away from this car!

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2008

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"I bought a 2003 Malibu when it was new and had nothing but trouble. I kept this car for 3 years. I have lost count at the number of times I brought this car in for service. The brakes, electrical system, and intake valves are nothing but trouble! I brought this car in for service so many times I knew all the salesmen, mechanics, and service advisors on a first name basis! It is a nice looking car though. I traded it in for a 2007 Honda Accord which has been nothing but awesome!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

over 100,000 miles and still running like new~!

By on Sunday, May 18, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car as a long haul back and forth to work vehical because our family van was new and we didn't want to rack up the miles. I bought it in 2004 with only 13,000 miles on it. I have the LS and really enjoy the confort of the seats and the room in the back for my long legged family. I have never had one problem with this car. Everytime I have gone to start it it starts. It has well over 100,000 miles on it and it still flys down the highway like the day I brought it home. I have recently let my mother use it and she cant believe the proformance she has gotten from it. My husband and I are so impressed that when the Van is paid off we are buying a new Malibu. We got one for a rental in Vegas and had a hard time letting go of it! If you are looking for a vehical that is dependable, worry free and spacious then this is the car for you!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love them to death

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I have had two of these cars and cannot say enough to promote them. My first, a '99 has over 190000 miles on the engine and have done nothing but but a wheel bearing and front coil spring. Brakes wear out quickly I change them about once a year. I have put about 25000 miles a year on the car and I find it very dependable. My second, a 2004, was just as dependable but I recently was in an accident where the car was totaled. The car protected me from serious injury as it rolled over and I walked from the wreckage with minor injuries."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A good car for the money

By on Thursday, February 21, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I purchased this car seven years ago for $12K and have put over 100,000 miles on it. Other than tires, batteries and brakes, all I have had to replace are a couple of fuel injectors and the fuel pump. Annoyances have been a phantom coolant leak or two and a"clunky transaxle" when the car passed 100K. It has been trouble free most of the time."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Quality Car

By on Saturday, February 09, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"We have a 2001 my wife use to drive it 75 mi per day round trip to work and it has 151000 mi on it we have spent $230 in repairs the entire time we owned the car. We now use this car as a spare it sometimes it sits for a month between use and always fires right up."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fine for the price...

By on Sunday, February 03, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

"Own a 2000 Malibu with only 35xxx original miles. Purchased new -- not a single problems since then. Very reliable... Everything is great except for the styling... Makes a great secondary vehicle, especially for winter driving when you don't want your car getting covered in salt from the roads--low insurance, great gas milage, etc."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Overall Good Car

By on Monday, January 28, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought my '99 Malibu (program car) in '01 with 17,000 miles on it. The only real problems I have had was the altinator went out at 36,500 miles and just now at 87,000 miles had to have pw steering hoses replaced. Had struts replaced twice (don't use cheap struts like I did first time replacing) they only lasted 6 mths. The blower control would only work from 3-5 after 70,000 miles but got fixed for only $75, just a relay glitch. When doing alot of city driving in hot summer antifreeze will back up into overflow and I will have to put more in. Other then normal maintenance (tires, oil changes, and one new battery) problems have been very minor and minimal. I will continue to drive this car until it will not drive any longer. I will continue to buy Malibu unless GM stops making them."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Average

By on Sunday, January 13, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"Handles poorly in the snow. One of the major problems I had was replacing all of the gaskets. Also, problems with body rusting from the inside/out by gas tank. Fuel pump, water pump, fan all went around 80,000. Wire short with rear break light for duration of time I owned it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not a good car

By on Wednesday, December 26, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

"I've had issues with this car since day one. Some of it was maintenance related because of the previous owner. However a common issue with the car is the brake lights. Water always gets around the casing and into the lights, I finally had to replace the casing for $700! If you are riding around, you'll often see Malibus with their brake lights out."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement