Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 925 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 93 | Next

Reliable, fun to drive.

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds the curves wonderfully"

Cons: "Driver's-side cupholder cramped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the most trouble-free car I've EVER owned. Other than regular maintenance we've replaced brakes, tires and, after 10 years, battery. Roomy and comfortable, it's got the power for hills and loves windy roads. Lately the rear- and driver's side-speakers have cut out but hopefully that's a minor fix. The body and paint are still in great shape and if not for the styling changes I'd never guess it's 13 years old. After 11 years I still have fun driving my little baby."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Loved this car -

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Corners great!"

Cons: "No 'rain gutters' above windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Never left me stranded, very few problems, good mileage, love the V6 engine. Anti-theft a little touchy, but dealable. Very sorry to see it go, but my needs have changed."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good car!!

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Couldn't afford repairs, needed bigger vehicle

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, rides well"

Cons: "Faulty ignition"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I owned this car for 7 years and it was very reliable to me. It drove and rode well and was mechanically sound for some time... but when it got to 100000 miles everything started wearing down and breaking. I traded it in because I was unable to afford the repairs but I was needing something bigger anyways."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

nice starter car

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "nice starter car"

Cons: "age, wear and tear on original engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"needs front end work, new tires, RF wheel work"

2 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent value, very reliable

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent quality vehicle"

Cons: "No heated seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner and have put 125k miles on this car. It is my 2nd Malibu. I drove my first one for 150k. Excellent value. Great drive, dependable, nice features. Not luxurious but good quality. I would recommend a Malibu and wouldn't hesitate to buy another!"

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

like new runs grest daily driver 83000 miler

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "quiet ride comfy great tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"for sale chevy malibu 3800$ runs great daily driver all repets for oil changes every 3000 miles since 35000miles when purched very cold air please call 18146296454 cell 18142418709"

Great car-got my $'s worth and more

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,450

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have really enjoyed driving my 2003 Chevy Malibu for 11 years. It has been a great car, only left me sitting one time when the fuel pump went out. Other repairs were maintenance for wear and tear. Really good visibility, good gas mileage especially for a V6, easy to drive. I will really miss this car. Unfortunately I test drove a 2014 Malibu and did not like it."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

roomy and reliable

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, spacious, comfortable, good mpg"

Cons: "No mirror on passenger side visor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love how much headroom and legroom there is in the Classic. Very comfortable ride, good gas mileage, and most reliable car I've owned. I used to drive all over Washington and Oregon, and for long drives it was always comfortable, which is rare for me, being 6 feet tall. Carseats fit easily into the back, trunk is large and can accommodate a stroller + Costco run + other odds and ends. I absolutely LOVE the driver's side cupholder and wish all cars had it."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best little car I have ever owned.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love it !"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my little malibu, gona be Sooooooo sad if it ever stops on me our gets in a accident ;( But for now I'm loving it! :)"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

love it

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable car I've ever owned. except for, I had a new key at at walmart and it set of the anti-theft. Ive read posts that people have replaced every different part in their cars and it ends up being the key. overall I love it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 93 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals