Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1997 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 943 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 189 | Next

Good value

By on Saturday, July 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good gas millage, dependable, peppy engine,comfort"

Cons: "plain body style, air could be colder, not many !!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Ive owned this car for four years and Its been very reliable. Have done the usual upkeep, tires, bearings and a battery. Normal stuff. Did have one larger repair, replacing the head gaskets, but very common for the model. Even with the repair, Its has been a great car. Not flashy, but dependable an comfortable and the front wheel drive has been quite good in the snow an rain. Overall I saved alot of money !!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

bestestr car ever

By on Saturday, March 06, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"this is in reference to the 2005 chevy classic (malibu) I bought mine with 14,000 miles in dec 2005, It now has 130,000 miles and i have not had to do one thing to it other than regular maintance.It gets 26mpg city 32 highway. I have taken in on long trips and the ride is smooth and comfy. the center console did wiggle loose but my husband fixed it with no problem or cost. It has wonderfull large windows for great visability (wish my impala did) Its not a sporty car in looks,but its not ugly either."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Cost a fortune in repairs!

By on Wednesday, December 30, 2009

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

"I purchased this used with 20,000 miles and got the balance of the warranty. At 60,000 miles, just when the warranty expired, it began to fall apart. A new fuel pump ($700). A new key cylinder lock ($800). It was just obsurd...the key wouldn't turn and they had to drill it out! A new motor for the power windows ($200). At 80,000 the head gasket blew ($2,000)! Then it began sqealing as a bearing was going out! This never missed an oil change or service. Too bad, because it was a comfortable ride! We bought another model car at the same time as this mailibu and it never had a single repair like that. Same mileage and drivers."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Malibu

By on Saturday, January 31, 2009

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"decent car but better have a good mechanic that you trust. I had the car since 2002. Bought it with 8000 mies and now has 108,000. Car drives and handles well when everthing is working good. The bad (my experience): I have replaced the brakes and roters several times, ABS sensors come on when ever it rains, A/c works sometimes. A/C-heater fan only works on setting 3. Replaced alternator. Replaced Key tumbler (car had to be towed for repair). Anti-theft system malfunctioned and disabled the vehicle (car had to be towed for repair). Passenger window stopped working. The good: Engine and transmisson performance is alway been pretty good. Car handles well even at fast highway speeds."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Worse car ever

By on Saturday, September 13, 2008

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"Bought it brand new in 2000 and had to replace basically the entire front axle from the wheel hubs out. Brakes and parts countless times, Calipers (2x) Power window motors (2 windows) windshield washer motor, horn switch (1) relays (2) and that was when the car was under 40,000 miles. Now at 92,000 miles it now needs an intake manifold gasket to the tune of approx. $800.00 plus another brake job. I've maintained oilchanges and tire rotations since purchasing and recently tuned up the engine. However, I will not spend another dime on this vehicle.. nor will I ever purchase a Chevrolet product again."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 189 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals