Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Chevrolet Malibu

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 925 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 185 | Next

Reliable

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This is a great car for a 1st time driver or college student. Have had for several years, maintained properly and have had no major problems"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Decent sedan, easy to drive

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I've owned and driven this car for 10 years now putting on over 150,000 miles. I really enjoy driving this car because it is comfortable and smooth. I've also driven many miles in bad, winter weather and always felt safe."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,156

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Beautiful ride on the highway."

Cons: "Backseat cup holders not very secure."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great on gas. Smooth ride. New front bumper and 4 new tires. Maybe twice a month when I turn the ignition, the RPM will drop back to zero. I love my Chevy Malibu. I have had it coming up on 4 years now. Bought used, and have taken care of it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Worth keeping till something big breaks

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Big, comfortable, good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"125K miles on this 2001. Glad I kept it and had the head gasket leak fixed a couple years back. Great gas mileage for a car this size. Reputation for the Malibu has climbed, and my experience agrees. Everything about the car is very good, for the price."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Find another car. Really.

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent highway performance."

Cons: "The unbelievable metal deterioration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This was my final purchase of a Chevy product. I've owned cars from all of the big 3, and in three cases, the Chevs rusted away in 12 years. I just brought my Boo to the wreckers b/c the front end steering rack had completely rusted away.I didn't do the repair, as it would have been over a thousand, and the brake and fuel lines were ready to go. The paint job started to fall off- not rust away, fall off in patches, showing bare steel underneath after only five years. Five. Years. The engine knocked like mad from the day it hit the street. I purchased it two years old, and the dealer sort of ripped me off by having the car completely warmed up when I test drove it. My bad. The quality of Chev products (Corsica, Malibu and an Impala) have declined. I'd stay away from them. Which is a real disappointment, b/c my dream car as a kid was a Vette, and I'm in a position to buy one now. Oh well. Back to Ford or Chrysler."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 185 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Malibu near Honolulu. See local deals