Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2012 Chevrolet Impala

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 741 Ratings for the 2006 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next

Reliability is a great value

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "quick, E85, reliable, truck space, handling in sno"

Cons: "road noise, soft suspension, rear view blocked"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased the Impala new and always used E85. My milage is currently 19.5 a drop from the 20.5 I had been getting for the past 7 years. The car runs great to this day. When merging, speed is no problem. It turns okay and brakes good. The speakers sound good. I have had no problems with the major componentes. It handles well in the snow. Minor problems I have had is a leaky seal (trans.), bad blower motor and a broken wiper transmision arm. To this day the car looks and runs like new."

Best Car Ever

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, Comfortable, Roomy"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had no problems with this car. I love it as much as I loved my Buick. Roomy, comfortable, and has cost me very little to maintain."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love the car don't care for the 2011 Body style

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Reliability, Great families LONG LASTING"

Cons: "2011, don't like the body style"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my reliable spacious car! I just don't care for the body style! I'm looking forward to the 2014 new body style. I paid about 14k for it with 5000 miles on it and hope to get more years out of my car! I've had TONS of luck with Impalas I hope they keep up the quality and affordability! My 2003 lasted until 2012 with only regular wear and tear! I purchased my 2011 in 2012 and hope o drive this one for at least 9 years too!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice car, good mileage, not problems at all.

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Just a super all around great car"

Cons: "short on head room for a big person"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have found our 2006 Impala to be a super great car. No problems, great gas mileage, good starter in Iowa winters as car sits outside. I would certainly buy another Impala."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

spacious, comfortable, ecomony, reliable

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: new truck

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "plenty of inside and trunk room"

Cons: "nothing this is a 10"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is by far the best mid size car ever. If we didnt need a pickup we would keep this car for at least 12 years."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

2007 SS is Rare. Reliable, Quality leather/interio

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "spacious, quick, when loaded & wheels looks $$$$$$"

Cons: "has cup holders front and rear (ha ha)ssssssssssss"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2007, 2008, 2009, are rare which I love. I also own a 2003 mustang which is also a great car but many are around. It's a shame more people took so long to want the Impala SS and they had to stop production due to slow sales. Well my value went high once they re released more impala SS again in 2014. I bought it new in 2007 and bought the extended warranty-which I suggest if you plan on keeping an American car for 8 years. I bought the 8 year extended warranty with 100,000 for only $1,100 from a different chevy dealership which saved $500. I love it. I plan to keep this car for another 8 years cause it only has 60,000 miles and its cool to have a rare car and people ask is it really that fast from 2007? Oh Yeah it was rated in the top 10 fastest sedans for under $50,000"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car, it is sporty.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,050

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "It has a nice smooth quiet ride, I love to drive"

Cons: "See above at end of my review."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The exterior is black with a rear spoiler and a moon roof, once you own a car with a moon roof you will never go back. On the interior I love the heated leather front seats and the dual zone heating and air conditioning really comes in handy. It has sirus XM which is totally up to you as to wanting that service or not, it also has a CD player and the speakers are Bose so you know they sound good. The rear view mirror is auto dimming at night which which I had never experienced before I think that is cool this is also where the ON Star controls are located. It has a full leather pkg. On the steering wheel you will find the cruise control buttons on the left, and on the right you can answer the phone and fully control the radio, it also has blue tooth. The child safety locks are very handy when you have a 6 yr. old grandchild who is much faster than me. All four doors have storage spaces for small items, the bucket seat backs also have pockets for books or magazines. the back seat is a bench seat where directly in the middle you can pull down an armrest that contains 2 cup holders. The trunk is huge, but if you need extra space the back seat can be folded down it has a split seat so you don't have to fold the whole seat down. It has many other options also. It is a little hard to see out the back window with 3 headrests. The main reason I am selling the car is because I have some physical limitations that have gotten much worse over the last year and I have trouble getting in and out of the car when I am not feeling well or I would not be parting with this car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

For over 50 age group

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for long distance trips"

Cons: "Handling and parking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"If you are over the age of 50, and not really looking for a race car, this is the ride for you. I love the smooth ride on long distance trips. Not the best gas milage for short trips. Handling and parking can be challenging but overall, well worth the money. I am very pleased with this car."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Rides great, easy to drive

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Excellent highway vehicle, rear view mirror causes blind spots, wide turning radius, large trunk"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

THIS AUTO IS MY PERSONAL AUTO

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
7/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ASKING 11,000.OO"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"THIS AUTO HAS BEEN IN FAMILY SINCE 1 YEAR OLD ALLWAYS GARAGE KEPT @ KEPT CLEAN AT ALL TIMES . MY FATHER RECENTLY LOST EYE SIGHT SO HE IS NO LONGER ABLE TO DRIVE SO I JUST USE THIS AUTO FOR A SECOND BACKUP . KAS CURRENT TAGS @ INSPECTION ."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good value for the money.

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great value, good highway driver, power full"

Cons: "Older style, lacks modern upgrades."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have the LS model, which is the base model. Has no options such as, outside temp, compass, rear seat fold down cup holders ecy. just basic transportation."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 4th Impala of this body style. Another 06, 08, and a 12. The 08 had a power lock switch problem on 3 of 4 locks. Otherwise, all my others have been problem free. Drove the other 06 and the 08 past 100,000 miles. Love the ride and the pick up of the 3.9 liter."

I truly love this carI it is the best one I've had

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of style,comfort and reliability for the $"

Cons: "I sincerely don't have a complaint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned/driven regularly many cars over the last 36 years and this is the best of them all. Plenty of head and leg room for my husband and sons, all 6'-6'2". Lots of room in the trunk. Affordable comfort and it looks very nice. The Impala handles well and feels smooth. It is very quiet and comfortable also. I drove it by myself from the CA bay area to Louisiana and had zero problems with it; that was a few months ago (Nov 2013) and it is a 2007! I have owned this car from June 2008 to the present and have not had to do any repair work - we just keep up with oil changes etc. I will probably get a new on later this year :)"

Never reccomend this car to anyone

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car has four doors none of the locks work on it. Unfortunately it is a small fortune to fix them. I am not impressed at all with the quality of this car and would not recommend it to anyone!"

2 people out of 8 found this review helpful

looks new

By on Monday, June 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good car"

Cons: "2009"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Looks new and regular maintenance has been performed"

Good vehicle for me.

By on Monday, June 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Heavy car. Reliable car."

Cons: "no rear cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My Impala and I have been together since December 2008 and we like each other very much."

Best car I've owned in 40 years of driving

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability, fuel efficiency, comfort, handling."

Cons: "None, but I wish I could defeat the ABS."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have put 60,000 miles on this car since I bought it used, and the only thing I've done is one front brake job, replaced the broken front sway bar (apparently a common issue, they sell repair kits on ebay for $80) and had to have the rear defogger fixed. One set of tires and normal oil changes also, of course. It's never once hesitated to start as soon as the key is turned, and averages 23mpg, with a best of 32mpg on a trip, and I keep immaculate track of every tank. I am trading it in this week only because I need a truck, or I'd keep it until the wheels fell off, and at the rate it's going, that won't happen for another couple of hundred thousand miles."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best car i ever had

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,058

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "the best car i've ever own"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have had the car is since 2007 only thing i have done is scheduled maintenance and replaced the battery one year ago."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I have had of roughly 20 cars I hav owned

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliability, low overall cost of ownership,"

Cons: "front seat starting to wear, drivedoor sags a bit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought brand new in Nov 2006. now May 2014 and I have had zero major issues. I have changed brakes (rotors and pads) several times. do the work myself so not that expensive. had one minor recirc vent door issue fixed with a 30 dollar part and again my 2 hrs of labor. By far the least problems I have ever had on a 154000 + mile car. as expected several sets of tires (one set of michalins went almost 60,000 miles) Still gets about 26 MPG combined on a mostly rural commute of 80 miles per day. Never left me stranded hit a six point last fall some minor front end damage but all cosmetic damage. pretty solid front end for the size of the deer. I would buy an Impala again in a heart beat. I have not had to do any exhaust work, no suspension work, no engine work, no starter, no alternator, no nothing. changed plugs and wires at 100,000. did oil and fluids as needed. just started to burn a little oil. run dedicated snows in the winter and it has to be pretty bad weather before I leave the Impala and take the 4X4. Just a good solid car that I have been very happy with."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I am completely satisfid with this vehicle

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,550

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this car has been excelent in everyway i bought it last year an have been satisfied an really enjoy driving it i need to sell this for medical reason"

It's a good mileage, comfortable 4dr.

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "mileage for full size good"

Cons: "black dash and interior electric dr locks intermit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had it since 32,000 miles and have a separate set of snow tires for winter. Good winter driving with snows. Mileage on road is good, even at higher speeds. From WI to Seattle and back averaged over 30 mpg for whole trip. Only thing I don't like is black dash. Had to replace gas pedal sensor and serviced granny with new fluids. Electric door locks now are a problem. Where can you find full size getting over 30 mpg."

One of the worst cars I've ever owned

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,040

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good size trunk & plenty of room in the back seat"

Cons: "No cup holders in the back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought the car used, but it was only a couple of years old. There is a lot of air noise that comes in from the driver's side door/window. I've had it less than 4 years and have had to have 3 new batteries and a starter, and those all came within the last 15 months."

car drives nice

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"GM needs to fix their electrical problems."

Very quick car!

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of power, not too much gas!"

Cons: "Back seat is a tight fit for taller passengers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The acceleration of this vehicle is much better than I expected. The transmission is a little jerky in stop and go traffic, but very smooth under most driving conditions. I recommend this car for someone who is seeking sleek styling, good fuel economy, and a lot of punch for the money. The trunk is spacious as are the front seats however, the back passenger area is cramped unless the front seats are moved forward. This was just exactly the kind of car I was looking for, so I have nothing to complain about; it's great for me!"

Comfortable, spacious, parts are easy to update.

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "6 seat car"

Cons: "Not able to supercharge."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Easy to work with when updating it with after market performance parts. Ideal for a family of 5 or less. Looks nice when the windows are tinted obviously to the legal limit of the state you live in."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Impala near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details