Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2008 Chevrolet Impala

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 820 Ratings for the 2006 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 82 | Next

nice car too small limited vision, blind spots

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Fingers get pinched inside door handles. limited vision rear windows and rear doors. Poor fit between dash board and front doors. Not real quiet. Where do people buy flex fuel? I found one station 70 miles from home."

Great car for the money

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Could use a little more storage space inside cabin - that is really my only negative. And it needs an update to front end for a more stylish look. Other than that its been a great car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Cheaply Made

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Gas mileage is not bad at all."

Cons: "Ride and handling is very soft, feel like you are"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This vehicle has a mushy ride, and very unresponsive steering, it does not feel "tight" when you drive it. It has been like that since new, and the reason we relegated the car to occasional use. The dash and door panels have a cheap plastic feel. It truly was a disappointment and I would not recommend buying one used now."

Lots of room.

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,100

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "excellent gas milg for the size."

Cons: "exterior design is lacking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Better gas milg. Than smaller cars. Very quiet and smooth ride."

Best bang for the buck

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Performance.. Looks .... Reliabilty"

Cons: "None that I can find YET!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All I can say about the car is I'm glad I purchased it when I did.... The very next year of this car production in 2009 it shrunk significantly...Size was everything to me when I purchased it ..."

It's a great car.

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "It fun to drive"

Cons: "Nothing just that's it's not a Buick"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and it's like brand new and I just got new tires on it 3 weeks ago. But I had a Buick before this Impala and I want to see if I can get another Buick."

NOT BAD

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"2ND IMPALA I'VE OWNED. THIS ONE HAS MOST OF THE BELLS AND WHISTLES FOR COMFORT. HANDLES WELL IN WINTER. DRIVES SMOOTH. GAS MILAGE IS EXCELLENT. ONLY COMPLAINT I'VE HAD SO FAR IS THE CUP HOLDERS ARE JUST IN AN AWKWARD PLACE AND REALLY 2 DRINKS IN THEM DON'T FIT."

Major mechanical issues

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride, large trunk"

Cons: "Major mechanical issues. Unreliable!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car in 2009 (is a 2006 model year with about 60,000 miles) from a dealership whom had obtained the car from a rental company. It would seem I should have been more wary of the possibility of issues from the start. After 18 months without any issues, the decline began. It started with a flat spot on the starter, not allowing the car to start upon my return from a weekend trip out of town. Then the brake pads went soon after. The following year was the biggest disaster. I have always kept up with normal maintenance of my vehicle, in spite of this, the engine completely seized and was deemed un-usable by a mechanic and a dealership in the Tampa Bay Area. I could either replace the engine with a used engine (for about $2500) or a new engine (for about $5000). Needless to say, I chose the former. After spending the money to have the entire engine replaced, it stopped working again about 10 days later, turns out some wiring had gone bad and needed to be replaced. Soon after, there were issues with the gas cap staying tightly sealed, thus reducing the car's already poor fuel efficiency. A few months later, it became increasingly difficult to turn the steering wheel. Rather than a simple fluid exchange, this problem was caused by a faulty steering fluid pump (another costly piece of hardware) which had to be completely replaced. Additionally, the car is now having issues causing an external metal-grinding sound when turning the wheel at slower speeds. It has also been stalling out in the middle of turning through an intersection as well as at stop lights (randomly). I am more than pleased to announce I am getting rid of this car and will be getting a more reliable vehicle, after much consumer review-reading and research on Consumer Reports and Edmunds."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great vehicle for price and performance

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great ride and comfortable"

Cons: "More updated interior and gauges"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great starter vehicle for young drivers"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid, reliable, comfortable and fast.

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"For a program car this vehicle is a bit old on looks but with the 300hp 3.6 v6 matched to the 6 speed automatic acceleration is great with appropriate shift points. Remember, this is a family sedan. Not a sports car. I consistently get 31 mpg on the highway. The LTZ suspension helps the vehicle corner acceptably for a large car. Minor irritations are the size of the interior controls, especially the heat/ac. Bose stereo is great though was a bit hard for me to figure it all out. I am not too tech savvy. Blue tooth is great. The rear wing on the trunk obstructs vison. Trunk is spacious and folding rear seats are helpful."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 82 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Impala near Honolulu. See local deals