Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2006 Chevrolet Impala

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 832 Ratings for the 2006 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

I just bought it and Love it so far

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,851

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort"

Cons: "none yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I have no information on my car as of yet. The owner's manual is very vague. I am unsure of the options on the car."

Had a lot of surprises, all of them good.

By on Wednesday, April 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,662

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "This has been a comfortable plesant car to drive."

Cons: "Front brake rotors developed "Hard spots" at 80k"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"With almost 100k miles the only repairs are tires and front brake rotors at 80k and a battery this year. Mileage is much better than expected at 33+ on freeway and 28.8 on the total miles on car to date. It is comfortable and you feel secure while driving."

74000+ miles and no problems

By on Saturday, April 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Big trunk, adequate power, great MPG and smooth ri"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"en a great car. No problems other than a battery that died."

A reasonably priced comfortable ride.

By on Saturday, April 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reasonable price, powerful engine, roomy interior."

Cons: "Interior is noisey, soft suspension."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased my 2013 Impala LT at a good price, pre-owned with 20,000 miles and with 20 months left on the manufacturers 3 year warranty.The interior is roomy. The front seats are more than enough for me (6'1" 300 lbs) and my wife (average size). The rear seat may be a squeeze for 3 adults but OK for smaller adults and children. The ride is smooth and soft. The suspension is good for straight highway and slower city driving. The interior is not real quiet; you can hear road and wind noise. I really like the V6 (300 hp) engine and 6 speed auto transmission. This car has a lot of power and I still get 22 mpg city and 32 mpg highway. This car does not have all of the latest technology that is available, but, I don't need or want it all. Because the newer Impalas were re-designed with a 4 cylinder engine, I will keep this car for many years."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Three years of driving it, still happy with it

By on Saturday, April 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great value, solid car, dependable, comfy"

Cons: "poor rear window visibility, only 2 cup holders,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Overall a very good car. Got my 2011 Impala in 2012, it was a dealer "demo" with 35k miles. I was wary, as it had been a rental car, but the price was great and, after more than a dozen years of driving minivans I was ready for something that looked less like a soccer mom's vehicle.I've been very happy with it although there are many things I truly miss about the minivan! But this isn't a minivan review so back to the Impala. Other than replacing one set of brakes, we've done nothing but basic maintenance, e.g. regular oil changes. No money spent on repairs which makes me very happy. It isn't real sporty looking in my opinion, doesn't stand out in the crowd especially with the dark blue color mine is, but for me that's just fine. It's very comfy inside once you get in! Decent radio, good heat and air, the car drives and handles well to me. If you like to weave in and out of heavy traffic at high speeds this isn't your best choice, but for normal driving conditions this is a fine car. Cons: poor visibility out the rear windshield. The middle headrest in the back seat really blocks your view. Wish it was removable! This is the car's biggest flaw to me. And for some reason, no matter a person's height, size, age, level of fitness, (and believe me, every possible configuration has ridden in my car) everyone has struggles to get out. Not sure why. I think there's not enough clearance for your knees to just swing in and out of your seat. You sort of have to angle yourself and wedge yourself in and out. My 6'6" sons and my 4'11" very petite mom, and everyone in between, struggles to get in and out. And the fact there's only 2 cup holders in the car is a real bummer. But like I said, overall a good solid car. I've driven it nearly 50,000 miles in the three years I've had it, and its still almost like New."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very comfortable, good cehicle

By on Tuesday, April 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "noce to drive, ride"

Cons: "no blue tooth, gps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Car rides, drives good, runs good."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Thursday, April 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, handles amazing in the adverse condition"

Cons: "can't think of any. I have always loved it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2004 Impala (SE) - Just the basic, no fancy bells and whistles. Bought this car in 2008 with 50,000 miles. I was hesitant to buy it because it had super high miles. We now have over 175,000 on it. We are horrible about regular maintenance and ALWAYS HAVE BEEN! Change oil light comes on and we might change it right away and we might drive it for another 3K miles. With 175K miles (other than tires and oil changes) we have only replaced one tie rod. Summer of 2014 we started having occasional problems with the dash gauges (speedometer & temperature) sticking in random places. The security light comes on now and then and occasionally have to wait 10 minutes before the car will start. But all-in-all, with 175K miles, she does just fine as my husbands work car beater! Actually we are looking to purchase another one (slightly newer) for me to drive back and forth to work to save miles on our "family" car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Really nice car. Very happy.

By on Sunday, April 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We've owned it 18 months and nothing has went bad on it. Change the oil, put new tires and wiper blades on it. More complaints against the dealer that sold it to us. Happy to know Americans are competing."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This has been a wonderful car!

By on Sunday, April 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a well-made and very dependable car."

Good Luxury feel for the money

By on Friday, April 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "motor, looks"

Cons: "body integrity (squeeks and rattles)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought vehicle when it was 1 year old for only slightly more then 50% of what it sold for new. Great value."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Really love!

By on Wednesday, April 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, easy turning, accelerates quickly"

Cons: "No back seat cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have always wanted this car and am really happy about it. The check engine light was on when I got it and ended up needing to replace the fuel injectors, it now runs like a champ!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car, it has power..

By on Sunday, March 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,650

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This car has Power, Easy to drive."

Cons: "Was a smokers Car!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Impala has a great get up and go!! It does need to go to dealer ship for a recall, I have the information. This car was my mother's. It has been a very reliable car."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

nice car too small limited vision, blind spots

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Fingers get pinched inside door handles. limited vision rear windows and rear doors. Poor fit between dash board and front doors. Not real quiet. Where do people buy flex fuel? I found one station 70 miles from home."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car for the money

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Could use a little more storage space inside cabin - that is really my only negative. And it needs an update to front end for a more stylish look. Other than that its been a great car."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Cheaply Made

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Gas mileage is not bad at all."

Cons: "Ride and handling is very soft, feel like you are"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This vehicle has a mushy ride, and very unresponsive steering, it does not feel "tight" when you drive it. It has been like that since new, and the reason we relegated the car to occasional use. The dash and door panels have a cheap plastic feel. It truly was a disappointment and I would not recommend buying one used now."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Lots of room.

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,100

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "excellent gas milg for the size."

Cons: "exterior design is lacking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Better gas milg. Than smaller cars. Very quiet and smooth ride."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best bang for the buck

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Performance.. Looks .... Reliabilty"

Cons: "None that I can find YET!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All I can say about the car is I'm glad I purchased it when I did.... The very next year of this car production in 2009 it shrunk significantly...Size was everything to me when I purchased it ..."

It's a great car.

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "It fun to drive"

Cons: "Nothing just that's it's not a Buick"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and it's like brand new and I just got new tires on it 3 weeks ago. But I had a Buick before this Impala and I want to see if I can get another Buick."

NOT BAD

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"2ND IMPALA I'VE OWNED. THIS ONE HAS MOST OF THE BELLS AND WHISTLES FOR COMFORT. HANDLES WELL IN WINTER. DRIVES SMOOTH. GAS MILAGE IS EXCELLENT. ONLY COMPLAINT I'VE HAD SO FAR IS THE CUP HOLDERS ARE JUST IN AN AWKWARD PLACE AND REALLY 2 DRINKS IN THEM DON'T FIT."

Major mechanical issues

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride, large trunk"

Cons: "Major mechanical issues. Unreliable!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car in 2009 (is a 2006 model year with about 60,000 miles) from a dealership whom had obtained the car from a rental company. It would seem I should have been more wary of the possibility of issues from the start. After 18 months without any issues, the decline began. It started with a flat spot on the starter, not allowing the car to start upon my return from a weekend trip out of town. Then the brake pads went soon after. The following year was the biggest disaster. I have always kept up with normal maintenance of my vehicle, in spite of this, the engine completely seized and was deemed un-usable by a mechanic and a dealership in the Tampa Bay Area. I could either replace the engine with a used engine (for about $2500) or a new engine (for about $5000). Needless to say, I chose the former. After spending the money to have the entire engine replaced, it stopped working again about 10 days later, turns out some wiring had gone bad and needed to be replaced. Soon after, there were issues with the gas cap staying tightly sealed, thus reducing the car's already poor fuel efficiency. A few months later, it became increasingly difficult to turn the steering wheel. Rather than a simple fluid exchange, this problem was caused by a faulty steering fluid pump (another costly piece of hardware) which had to be completely replaced. Additionally, the car is now having issues causing an external metal-grinding sound when turning the wheel at slower speeds. It has also been stalling out in the middle of turning through an intersection as well as at stop lights (randomly). I am more than pleased to announce I am getting rid of this car and will be getting a more reliable vehicle, after much consumer review-reading and research on Consumer Reports and Edmunds."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great vehicle for price and performance

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great ride and comfortable"

Cons: "More updated interior and gauges"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great starter vehicle for young drivers"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid, reliable, comfortable and fast.

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"For a program car this vehicle is a bit old on looks but with the 300hp 3.6 v6 matched to the 6 speed automatic acceleration is great with appropriate shift points. Remember, this is a family sedan. Not a sports car. I consistently get 31 mpg on the highway. The LTZ suspension helps the vehicle corner acceptably for a large car. Minor irritations are the size of the interior controls, especially the heat/ac. Bose stereo is great though was a bit hard for me to figure it all out. I am not too tech savvy. Blue tooth is great. The rear wing on the trunk obstructs vison. Trunk is spacious and folding rear seats are helpful."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car I've owned!

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, roomy"

Cons: "My plastic in the car makes noise very irritating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"CoCo"

"I'm young and I thought this car would be way too big but my dad loves Impala's so I bought one. OMG this car is so comfortable and roomy. I've haven't had it that long, so i'm still trying to get a hang of driving a longer vehicle. I would highly recommend this car, maybe not to my age range but to maybe 25 and up. Its more of a mature adult car. I still love "CoCo" she's white ;)"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

"CoCo"

Dependable vehicle, good mileage for large car

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,642

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price"

Cons: "hood curves down which will get stone chips on hw"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"For the price good dependable car for around town or on trips. Brakes are excellen. 303HP is plenty for highway driving."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Sunday, February 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride"

Cons: "wind noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 2008 Impala new and it has been one of the best vehicles I've ever owned. I haven't had to have any major work done on it in all the time I've owned it, just kept up with the scheduled maintenance and oil changes. I wish GM would build all of their vehicles like this one. I'm glad I bought it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Impala near Honolulu. See local deals