Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2006 Chevrolet Impala

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 820 Ratings for the 2006 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

nice car too small limited vision, blind spots

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Fingers get pinched inside door handles. limited vision rear windows and rear doors. Poor fit between dash board and front doors. Not real quiet. Where do people buy flex fuel? I found one station 70 miles from home."

Great car for the money

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Could use a little more storage space inside cabin - that is really my only negative. And it needs an update to front end for a more stylish look. Other than that its been a great car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Cheaply Made

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Gas mileage is not bad at all."

Cons: "Ride and handling is very soft, feel like you are"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This vehicle has a mushy ride, and very unresponsive steering, it does not feel "tight" when you drive it. It has been like that since new, and the reason we relegated the car to occasional use. The dash and door panels have a cheap plastic feel. It truly was a disappointment and I would not recommend buying one used now."

Lots of room.

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,100

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "excellent gas milg for the size."

Cons: "exterior design is lacking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Better gas milg. Than smaller cars. Very quiet and smooth ride."

Best bang for the buck

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Performance.. Looks .... Reliabilty"

Cons: "None that I can find YET!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All I can say about the car is I'm glad I purchased it when I did.... The very next year of this car production in 2009 it shrunk significantly...Size was everything to me when I purchased it ..."

It's a great car.

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "It fun to drive"

Cons: "Nothing just that's it's not a Buick"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and it's like brand new and I just got new tires on it 3 weeks ago. But I had a Buick before this Impala and I want to see if I can get another Buick."

NOT BAD

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"2ND IMPALA I'VE OWNED. THIS ONE HAS MOST OF THE BELLS AND WHISTLES FOR COMFORT. HANDLES WELL IN WINTER. DRIVES SMOOTH. GAS MILAGE IS EXCELLENT. ONLY COMPLAINT I'VE HAD SO FAR IS THE CUP HOLDERS ARE JUST IN AN AWKWARD PLACE AND REALLY 2 DRINKS IN THEM DON'T FIT."

Major mechanical issues

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride, large trunk"

Cons: "Major mechanical issues. Unreliable!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car in 2009 (is a 2006 model year with about 60,000 miles) from a dealership whom had obtained the car from a rental company. It would seem I should have been more wary of the possibility of issues from the start. After 18 months without any issues, the decline began. It started with a flat spot on the starter, not allowing the car to start upon my return from a weekend trip out of town. Then the brake pads went soon after. The following year was the biggest disaster. I have always kept up with normal maintenance of my vehicle, in spite of this, the engine completely seized and was deemed un-usable by a mechanic and a dealership in the Tampa Bay Area. I could either replace the engine with a used engine (for about $2500) or a new engine (for about $5000). Needless to say, I chose the former. After spending the money to have the entire engine replaced, it stopped working again about 10 days later, turns out some wiring had gone bad and needed to be replaced. Soon after, there were issues with the gas cap staying tightly sealed, thus reducing the car's already poor fuel efficiency. A few months later, it became increasingly difficult to turn the steering wheel. Rather than a simple fluid exchange, this problem was caused by a faulty steering fluid pump (another costly piece of hardware) which had to be completely replaced. Additionally, the car is now having issues causing an external metal-grinding sound when turning the wheel at slower speeds. It has also been stalling out in the middle of turning through an intersection as well as at stop lights (randomly). I am more than pleased to announce I am getting rid of this car and will be getting a more reliable vehicle, after much consumer review-reading and research on Consumer Reports and Edmunds."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great vehicle for price and performance

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great ride and comfortable"

Cons: "More updated interior and gauges"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great starter vehicle for young drivers"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid, reliable, comfortable and fast.

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"For a program car this vehicle is a bit old on looks but with the 300hp 3.6 v6 matched to the 6 speed automatic acceleration is great with appropriate shift points. Remember, this is a family sedan. Not a sports car. I consistently get 31 mpg on the highway. The LTZ suspension helps the vehicle corner acceptably for a large car. Minor irritations are the size of the interior controls, especially the heat/ac. Bose stereo is great though was a bit hard for me to figure it all out. I am not too tech savvy. Blue tooth is great. The rear wing on the trunk obstructs vison. Trunk is spacious and folding rear seats are helpful."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car I've owned!

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, roomy"

Cons: "My plastic in the car makes noise very irritating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"CoCo"

"I'm young and I thought this car would be way too big but my dad loves Impala's so I bought one. OMG this car is so comfortable and roomy. I've haven't had it that long, so i'm still trying to get a hang of driving a longer vehicle. I would highly recommend this car, maybe not to my age range but to maybe 25 and up. Its more of a mature adult car. I still love "CoCo" she's white ;)"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

"CoCo"

Dependable vehicle, good mileage for large car

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,642

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price"

Cons: "hood curves down which will get stone chips on hw"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"For the price good dependable car for around town or on trips. Brakes are excellen. 303HP is plenty for highway driving."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Sunday, February 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride"

Cons: "wind noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 2008 Impala new and it has been one of the best vehicles I've ever owned. I haven't had to have any major work done on it in all the time I've owned it, just kept up with the scheduled maintenance and oil changes. I wish GM would build all of their vehicles like this one. I'm glad I bought it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very reliable.

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Reliable. Tons of cargo space."

Cons: "bumpy ride, thin seats, interior lighting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Reliability is excellent. Cargo space is also a strong point but the problem I keep having is what good is it if you can't fit large items through the small trunk opening? I would describe the ride as "crashy" but tolerable. For a full size sedan you would really expect it to soak up bumps better, and the very thin padding on the seats doesn't help much either. Power steering is tight but on the heavy side. Not much thought was put into ordinary needs like adequate interior lighting. The dome light is mounted too far back not being of much use to front seat occupants. There are map lights on the rearview mirror that would help with this but they do not come on when the door is opened. Also, there is no light in the glovebox. How in the heck can you design a car with fancy features like satellite radio, Bluetooth, OnStar, remote start, etc. but NOT include a simple handy glovebox light??? Very strange. Large center rear headrest on this model year blocks rear view. I actually had mine removed. I've noticed this was omitted on 2012 model."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Top performance & safety a 10+!

By on Monday, February 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Performance, Reliability, Safety."

Cons: "Fuel economy, headrest (poor rear vision) minor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The LTZ Impala is an overall outstanding car."

love this car. Roomy,reliable,comfortable,good mpg

By on Sunday, February 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i have owned close to 50 cars. this is by far my favorite. it has plenty of power, rides nice, comfortable, and deliver very good mpg. I have owned my impala ltz for about 4 years with no problems. I have never been a big chevy fan in the past, but this car has changed my mind. Nice car would definitely recommend to a friend."

Auto is mechanically sound.

By on Friday, February 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "good mileage / sound mechanically"

Cons: "intereior controls are bad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Interior comforts are not user friendly. Cupholders are useless. A/C heater controls are hard to adjust. Seats are very uncomfortable due to headrest."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car to commute easy to fix

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to find parts and fix"

Cons: "A major repair would cause me to junk it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought this car for my twin boys to commute to school. Looks like some minor repairs. Power Steering pump which we can do ourselves plenty of these cars at the local bone yard. Rides good plenty of room for athletic gear and the small six has plenty of power for teenagers. Insurance was a little higher than I would have thought."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

love this car

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good price and good mileage"

Cons: "nor getting an inside temp reading or setting."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Waited to find this car in the color and model I wanted. It was worth the wait and was purchased at a good price."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This car has never let me down.

By on Sunday, February 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, good gas mileage and reliability"

Cons: "I have none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best investment I ever made, I put 22,000 miles a year commuting to work and this car never failed me. Regular oil changes, tires and brakes have been my only expense. I wish the front seat bench was still available, ( I have a right knee problem )."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Well worth the money

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Lots of nice features, comfy, peppy, economical"

Cons: "stiff city ride, nice xway looking for trunk light"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"LTZ model. slightly stiffer ride than I wanted but a fun car to drive."

Trust me GREAT car!

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "What more can I say, beautiful car!"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been a gem to my wife and I. We are looking to upgrade to either a 2014 or 2015 Impala. Trust me, this car runs just like an Impala in the wild getting chased by a lion."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

this car for the money is a great car , that gets

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"up and goes on the highway. it is very good on gas millage."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Comfortable, roomy, full size car

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Affordable, roomy, comfortable to drive."

Cons: "Cabin is noisey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 2013 Chevrolet Impala was one of the lower priced full size cars available when I bought. The exterior does not appear as large as some other full size cars but the interior is spacious with plenty of room for the driver and front passenger. The dashboard instrumentation is simple. The rear seat space seems average. The V6 engine and 6 speed automatic transmission delivers more than enough power and I average 22 mpg city and 33 mpg highway. The car is comfortable to drive with a soft suspension and steering meant more for straight highway driving than cornering or sport driving. One negative is the cabin is noisy and could use more insulation from outside sounds."

14 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Sized right 20-28 mpg

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, comfortable"

Cons: "depreciation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I leased a 2007 Impala LT and it was flawless for 3 years.My 2011 only needed a front crankshaft seal which the dealer replaced under warranty.The only problem is that they drop in value big time in the first year.After owning this one for 4 years which after owning more then 50 cars and trucks I would say it has been a good car.I will trade when I get a good offer. So far no good offer.If Pontiac was still around I would not have bought this."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Impala near Honolulu. See local deals