Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Chevrolet Impala

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 916 Ratings for the 2000 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next

Probably the most under-rated car on the road.

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just an all-round great car."

Cons: "Other than the wiper switch, none at all."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The impala is used by police for a reason. It is bargain priced, handles and brakes like a sports car, gets fair gas mileage, and has American reliability. It is capable on the highway as well, with a top speed of 140 mph. The car is also incredible in snow provided you have decent tires, of course. If you have one, keep it. If you want one, you will not be disappointed. Parts are cheap and plentiful. The only issue on these cars is some of the electronics (my wiper combo switch sometimes would not activate the turn signal, for example)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

one owner like new

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "drives like new"

Cons: "handles like a sports car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"all info is correct."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Luv luv luv my Impala!

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable; safe; powerful; great on curves"

Cons: "getting rusty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had my 2000 Impala for 12 years. Original engine and tranny; runs smooth and quiet. Some rust, but otherwise body in good shape. Dependable. Great in New York winters. Well worth the money. I bought this as a factory buy-back at a real bargain. Best car I have ever owned."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my car

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "mileage, comfort"

Cons: "sound system could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It's been a great work car, great mileage on road trips, even with high mileage, I get about 32/22. Roomy enough for teenagers in the back seat. Plenty of storage. I've driven the new Impala, & don't like it as well. I'll keep driving it until the wheels fall off."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

It was okay at first...

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I bought this car a few years ago with about 140,000 miles on it. It started off great, but after the first year I had it things started to go bad. At first it was minor things like new tires, new battery, but then I started having problems with the security lock and I'd be stranded in a parking lot for about a good 15 minutes until the security lock was up. I also began to have problems with the A/C. I believe I had to get that fixed twice within a year of both times. Then the coolant started leaking. I've had to take it in at least 3-4 times to get the leaks fixed and eventually the prices started to pile up too high that now I'm looking for a more reliable car. On the other hand it is spacious and does have a comfortable interior as well as a decent trunk space, but other than that it's been nothing but one big money guzzler for me. Maybe I just got the black sheep of the Impalas. All I know is that I would hesitate to get another one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome car and great safety features

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "5 Star Crash Rating, Roomy and Quiet"

Cons: "none!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car off the lot in 96 and have owned it ever since. It has been amazing and is still is in great condition. Have had no major repairs and it still gets great comments on the color. I love the 5 Star Crash rating and is one of the reasons I bought it so my kids would be safe. Excellent choice!!"

Spotless,garage kept, well maintained second car

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Above + all highway miles"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This car was a jewel.

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All around great car."

Cons: "Styling is 11 years old."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was always garaged and got great gas mileage, 25 city and about 29 hwy. The only thing replaced were the tires and one oxygen sensor. The car still looks and drives great. I know this car is probably the exception rather than the norm and for that reason we are selling it to a family member. I hate to get rid of such a loyal friend but I bought a new car."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever had

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"wish I could afford a new one, will miss her when I trade her in."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car I've Ever Owned!

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to drive, safe for new drivers!"

Cons: "Honestly can't think of ANY!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Loved this car from the first time I drove it. Bought it used, but, it had very LOW miles on it. It had ALL the bells & whistles I was looking for & a few that I'd never had before, such as heated seats, and a sun roof, which I LOVE. Have owned this car for 7 years now, and STILL LOVE IT, as much as the first time I drove it! Love the stereo system in it, the sporty yet luxurious feel of the interior and exterior style. Love the performance of the engion. It's always "peppy". No one can ever pass me up, unless I let them! LOL! Great Car! Also: excellent gas milage. Couple more things I just thought of....also like the large truck and the back seat will fold down for larger cargo. Handles well on wet roads."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

my impala has been the most reliable car

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives smooth"

Cons: "everything works on this car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned 2 impala's.my first I drove til 177,000 miles and when I sold it it still drove smooth. now I am selling a 2003 impala with 122,000 miles and it's like new.it was just inspected and passed as I have always kept up the maintenance. in very good shape.now I am buying a newer impala."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Highest mileage I have ever had on a car

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Low maintenance, dependable"

Cons: "None that I know of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I commute 80 miles round trip 5 days a week in this car. Have driven to florida several times in it. Bought it new in 2005. I replaced the water pump a couple years ago and that is the only repair to date. What can I say? Great car I intend to drive as long as it keeps running."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Minimal problems.

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great handling, comfortable ride."

Cons: "27 mpg. highway, wish it was more."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used. It was owned by the state police before I bought it. 3 years now and the only issues were to get new tires, new brakes, minor front end work, regular maintenance. Car runs like new, has no rust or damage, and I drive it on the highway everyday. The best handling vehicle. Good acceleration with the 3.8 V-6 Police Package. Buying another one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

First Love

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, fast, roomy,"

Cons: "Paint chipping, speedometer,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my baby. Pala and I have been through the hills and back down. I've driven it for about two years now and i have had some minor issues with it but with age everything needs to be changed out and updated. as with any car. my big issue is mpg but thats just because i drive a tonnnnn during the week. but before my long commutes going from here to there such a convenience. The speedometer had to be fixed as well but that happened to my other car as well so i don't think thats specifically this car. great car."

My first love!

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive, smooth, comfortable, roomy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car very much. My friends and I even had a name for it. Car rode great, very comfortable to drive, and always got me to where i needed to go. Rides pretty well for a car its style in the snow and rain. Also very roomy and decent trunk space. I will miss this car very much, because it was the car i learned to drive in and drove for 4 years."

Was a good car...once

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Everything went fine until i crept up around 150,000 miles. Needed a new transmission, after that everything fell apart. A/C has gone out multiple times, heater core busted a leak, not to mention emissions, abs problems etc."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

basically OK car, no sudden problems on hwy

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable ride for grandpa"

Cons: "too much repair maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"too many early repairs, though under warranty. too many break jobs needed(warped disks, pitting, etc.) Gasket leaks in headers, after warranty expired with only ~60K miles. air conditioning shot after 6-7 years."

good car some problems paint held up well

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good gas milage has worked well for family of five"

Cons: "trans problem with hesitation then bumping into gr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"fuel and cooling system needed repair paint peeling on wheel covers braking system good trans has acted up but not able to diagnos problem"

EXCELLENT CAR VERY DEPENDABLE

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive dependable and economical to operate"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought the car used to drive to work only. I put a lot of miles on a car in a month's time. This car has out performed any car previous purchased for work purposes. It has been very dependable, minimal repairs and economical to operate."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun, Luxurious"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been awesome I've had it for about 5 years, and I am pleased to say it has been taken care of. This car rides smooth, has plenty of power, and handles very well."

very,very,nice

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very Likely"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"great car all over"

Best ride of any car ever owned

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "was worth whatever we paid for it."

Cons: "doesn't get the best milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have driven many cars since I was 16 but none drive or ride better then this one. If I was sure I could keep it together I would not get rid of it!"

Nice comfy car for traveling

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfy quiet"

Cons: "no ABS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I do enjoy driving this car, it is comfy and has been very reliable. For 168,000 miles the car does not leak or burn any oil and I have not been kind to it."

Nice comfy car for traveling

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfy quiet"

Cons: "no ABS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I do enjoy driving this car, it is comfy and has been very reliable. For 168,000 miles the car does not leak or burn any oil and I have not been kind to it."

Nice comfy car for traveling

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfy quiet"

Cons: "no ABS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I do enjoy driving this car, it is comfy and has been very reliable. For 168,000 miles the car does not leak or burn any oil and I have not been kind to it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Impala near Honolulu. See local deals