Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2004 Chevrolet Impala

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 925 Ratings for the 2000 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next

Never failed me.

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "It is 11 years old and I'm an older driver."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"City 21 MPG; Hwy 28 MPG Any problems have been promptly addressed by a CHEVY Dealer"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It is best to shy away

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I don't own this car

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Impala reputation"

Cons: "low-quality vehicle, unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have recently been searching for a new car to replace my first car, and I have probably come across a dozen Chevrolet Impala's ranging from 2002 - 2005, and they have been consistently similar. I joke that I always liked Chevy's... until I could drive. I tried the Malibu's but nobody could sell them because they were recalled, and I tried the Impala's because of their reputation, but I was disappointed every time. I drove one with 97k miles on it, drove nice, until it hit an incline, then it was pedal to the floor, and only reaching 35 mph. With countless other occasions, the best one was when I met a nice honest man at a dealership (who turned me on to a 2004 Pontiac Vibe) stated he would not even try to sell their 2004 Chevrolet Impala to me (around 130k miles on it I believe) because it had too many problems with it, and it was just a piece of junk. I think it is best to shy away from any Chevrolet Impala around this make year, because the newer ones 2008-up seemed to be improved."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

very good all around car, lots of back seat room

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great car, and good looking also. Dependable too."

Cons: "no tach, no compass."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It has good gas mileage, and has lots of convenience items. It lacks a tachometer and compass."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most reliable car I have ever owned!!

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used and have had it for 6 yrs and it has been an awesome car!!!!! No major problems with it at all. In the six years we have had it there have been only 2 minor issues that cost maybe $500 total to fix, that is awesome! We do regular oil changes and she runs great! I can't believe just what a great car she is! A friend of mine has an 05 and has had nothing but trouble with hers. Makes me even more greatful!!! :-)"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car for anyone

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"good mpg enough power to move you reliable had 80k miles when I got it, still runs great pushing 220k miles"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent car!

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Perfect car for the money. Great reliability when properly cared for."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

never any problems

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "one person owned.. no problems at all."

Cons: "not brand new new car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"bought new. kept maintained. never any problems"

great dependale

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good car no dents starts ever time"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great dependale

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good car no dents starts ever time"

Never again

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I love the look and the drive of the Impala. BUT this car has had more issues than any other car I have ever owned. The biggest issues are electrical. First thing is the power sunroof quit. Then the radiator fans. then the auto darkening mirror. Then the interior lights. Then the headlight switch. Twice. Then the fuel tank sending unit. Twice. Now the battery goes dead from a intermittent draw. This does not include the other mechanical issues. If the local dealership did not outshine all the others I would have gone crazy."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Probably the most under-rated car on the road.

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just an all-round great car."

Cons: "Other than the wiper switch, none at all."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The impala is used by police for a reason. It is bargain priced, handles and brakes like a sports car, gets fair gas mileage, and has American reliability. It is capable on the highway as well, with a top speed of 140 mph. The car is also incredible in snow provided you have decent tires, of course. If you have one, keep it. If you want one, you will not be disappointed. Parts are cheap and plentiful. The only issue on these cars is some of the electronics (my wiper combo switch sometimes would not activate the turn signal, for example)."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

one owner like new

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "drives like new"

Cons: "handles like a sports car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"all info is correct."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Luv luv luv my Impala!

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable; safe; powerful; great on curves"

Cons: "getting rusty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had my 2000 Impala for 12 years. Original engine and tranny; runs smooth and quiet. Some rust, but otherwise body in good shape. Dependable. Great in New York winters. Well worth the money. I bought this as a factory buy-back at a real bargain. Best car I have ever owned."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love my car

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "mileage, comfort"

Cons: "sound system could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It's been a great work car, great mileage on road trips, even with high mileage, I get about 32/22. Roomy enough for teenagers in the back seat. Plenty of storage. I've driven the new Impala, & don't like it as well. I'll keep driving it until the wheels fall off."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

It was okay at first...

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I bought this car a few years ago with about 140,000 miles on it. It started off great, but after the first year I had it things started to go bad. At first it was minor things like new tires, new battery, but then I started having problems with the security lock and I'd be stranded in a parking lot for about a good 15 minutes until the security lock was up. I also began to have problems with the A/C. I believe I had to get that fixed twice within a year of both times. Then the coolant started leaking. I've had to take it in at least 3-4 times to get the leaks fixed and eventually the prices started to pile up too high that now I'm looking for a more reliable car. On the other hand it is spacious and does have a comfortable interior as well as a decent trunk space, but other than that it's been nothing but one big money guzzler for me. Maybe I just got the black sheep of the Impalas. All I know is that I would hesitate to get another one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome car and great safety features

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "5 Star Crash Rating, Roomy and Quiet"

Cons: "none!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car off the lot in 96 and have owned it ever since. It has been amazing and is still is in great condition. Have had no major repairs and it still gets great comments on the color. I love the 5 Star Crash rating and is one of the reasons I bought it so my kids would be safe. Excellent choice!!"

Spotless,garage kept, well maintained second car

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Above + all highway miles"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This car was a jewel.

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All around great car."

Cons: "Styling is 11 years old."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was always garaged and got great gas mileage, 25 city and about 29 hwy. The only thing replaced were the tires and one oxygen sensor. The car still looks and drives great. I know this car is probably the exception rather than the norm and for that reason we are selling it to a family member. I hate to get rid of such a loyal friend but I bought a new car."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever had

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"wish I could afford a new one, will miss her when I trade her in."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car I've Ever Owned!

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to drive, safe for new drivers!"

Cons: "Honestly can't think of ANY!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Loved this car from the first time I drove it. Bought it used, but, it had very LOW miles on it. It had ALL the bells & whistles I was looking for & a few that I'd never had before, such as heated seats, and a sun roof, which I LOVE. Have owned this car for 7 years now, and STILL LOVE IT, as much as the first time I drove it! Love the stereo system in it, the sporty yet luxurious feel of the interior and exterior style. Love the performance of the engion. It's always "peppy". No one can ever pass me up, unless I let them! LOL! Great Car! Also: excellent gas milage. Couple more things I just thought of....also like the large truck and the back seat will fold down for larger cargo. Handles well on wet roads."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

my impala has been the most reliable car

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives smooth"

Cons: "everything works on this car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned 2 impala's.my first I drove til 177,000 miles and when I sold it it still drove smooth. now I am selling a 2003 impala with 122,000 miles and it's like new.it was just inspected and passed as I have always kept up the maintenance. in very good shape.now I am buying a newer impala."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Highest mileage I have ever had on a car

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Low maintenance, dependable"

Cons: "None that I know of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I commute 80 miles round trip 5 days a week in this car. Have driven to florida several times in it. Bought it new in 2005. I replaced the water pump a couple years ago and that is the only repair to date. What can I say? Great car I intend to drive as long as it keeps running."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Minimal problems.

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great handling, comfortable ride."

Cons: "27 mpg. highway, wish it was more."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used. It was owned by the state police before I bought it. 3 years now and the only issues were to get new tires, new brakes, minor front end work, regular maintenance. Car runs like new, has no rust or damage, and I drive it on the highway everyday. The best handling vehicle. Good acceleration with the 3.8 V-6 Police Package. Buying another one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

First Love

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, fast, roomy,"

Cons: "Paint chipping, speedometer,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my baby. Pala and I have been through the hills and back down. I've driven it for about two years now and i have had some minor issues with it but with age everything needs to be changed out and updated. as with any car. my big issue is mpg but thats just because i drive a tonnnnn during the week. but before my long commutes going from here to there such a convenience. The speedometer had to be fixed as well but that happened to my other car as well so i don't think thats specifically this car. great car."

My first love!

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive, smooth, comfortable, roomy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car very much. My friends and I even had a name for it. Car rode great, very comfortable to drive, and always got me to where i needed to go. Rides pretty well for a car its style in the snow and rain. Also very roomy and decent trunk space. I will miss this car very much, because it was the car i learned to drive in and drove for 4 years."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Impala near Honolulu. See local deals