Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2002 Chevrolet Impala

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 907 Ratings for the 2000 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next

best vehicle ever had

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"wish I could afford a new one, will miss her when I trade her in."

Best Car I've Ever Owned!

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to drive, safe for new drivers!"

Cons: "Honestly can't think of ANY!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Loved this car from the first time I drove it. Bought it used, but, it had very LOW miles on it. It had ALL the bells & whistles I was looking for & a few that I'd never had before, such as heated seats, and a sun roof, which I LOVE. Have owned this car for 7 years now, and STILL LOVE IT, as much as the first time I drove it! Love the stereo system in it, the sporty yet luxurious feel of the interior and exterior style. Love the performance of the engion. It's always "peppy". No one can ever pass me up, unless I let them! LOL! Great Car! Also: excellent gas milage. Couple more things I just thought of....also like the large truck and the back seat will fold down for larger cargo. Handles well on wet roads."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

my impala has been the most reliable car

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives smooth"

Cons: "everything works on this car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned 2 impala's.my first I drove til 177,000 miles and when I sold it it still drove smooth. now I am selling a 2003 impala with 122,000 miles and it's like new.it was just inspected and passed as I have always kept up the maintenance. in very good shape.now I am buying a newer impala."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Highest mileage I have ever had on a car

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Low maintenance, dependable"

Cons: "None that I know of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I commute 80 miles round trip 5 days a week in this car. Have driven to florida several times in it. Bought it new in 2005. I replaced the water pump a couple years ago and that is the only repair to date. What can I say? Great car I intend to drive as long as it keeps running."

Minimal problems.

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great handling, comfortable ride."

Cons: "27 mpg. highway, wish it was more."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used. It was owned by the state police before I bought it. 3 years now and the only issues were to get new tires, new brakes, minor front end work, regular maintenance. Car runs like new, has no rust or damage, and I drive it on the highway everyday. The best handling vehicle. Good acceleration with the 3.8 V-6 Police Package. Buying another one."

First Love

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, fast, roomy,"

Cons: "Paint chipping, speedometer,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my baby. Pala and I have been through the hills and back down. I've driven it for about two years now and i have had some minor issues with it but with age everything needs to be changed out and updated. as with any car. my big issue is mpg but thats just because i drive a tonnnnn during the week. but before my long commutes going from here to there such a convenience. The speedometer had to be fixed as well but that happened to my other car as well so i don't think thats specifically this car. great car."

My first love!

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive, smooth, comfortable, roomy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car very much. My friends and I even had a name for it. Car rode great, very comfortable to drive, and always got me to where i needed to go. Rides pretty well for a car its style in the snow and rain. Also very roomy and decent trunk space. I will miss this car very much, because it was the car i learned to drive in and drove for 4 years."

Was a good car...once

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Everything went fine until i crept up around 150,000 miles. Needed a new transmission, after that everything fell apart. A/C has gone out multiple times, heater core busted a leak, not to mention emissions, abs problems etc."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

basically OK car, no sudden problems on hwy

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable ride for grandpa"

Cons: "too much repair maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"too many early repairs, though under warranty. too many break jobs needed(warped disks, pitting, etc.) Gasket leaks in headers, after warranty expired with only ~60K miles. air conditioning shot after 6-7 years."

good car some problems paint held up well

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good gas milage has worked well for family of five"

Cons: "trans problem with hesitation then bumping into gr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"fuel and cooling system needed repair paint peeling on wheel covers braking system good trans has acted up but not able to diagnos problem"

EXCELLENT CAR VERY DEPENDABLE

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive dependable and economical to operate"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought the car used to drive to work only. I put a lot of miles on a car in a month's time. This car has out performed any car previous purchased for work purposes. It has been very dependable, minimal repairs and economical to operate."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun, Luxurious"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been awesome I've had it for about 5 years, and I am pleased to say it has been taken care of. This car rides smooth, has plenty of power, and handles very well."

very,very,nice

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very Likely"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"great car all over"

Best ride of any car ever owned

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "was worth whatever we paid for it."

Cons: "doesn't get the best milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have driven many cars since I was 16 but none drive or ride better then this one. If I was sure I could keep it together I would not get rid of it!"

Nice comfy car for traveling

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfy quiet"

Cons: "no ABS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I do enjoy driving this car, it is comfy and has been very reliable. For 168,000 miles the car does not leak or burn any oil and I have not been kind to it."

Nice comfy car for traveling

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfy quiet"

Cons: "no ABS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I do enjoy driving this car, it is comfy and has been very reliable. For 168,000 miles the car does not leak or burn any oil and I have not been kind to it."

Nice comfy car for traveling

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfy quiet"

Cons: "no ABS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I do enjoy driving this car, it is comfy and has been very reliable. For 168,000 miles the car does not leak or burn any oil and I have not been kind to it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice comfy car for traveling

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfy quiet"

Cons: "no ABS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I do enjoy driving this car, it is comfy and has been very reliable. For 168,000 miles the car does not leak or burn any oil and I have not been kind to it."

Nice comfy car for traveling

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfy quiet"

Cons: "no ABS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I do enjoy driving this car, it is comfy and has been very reliable. For 168,000 miles the car does not leak or burn any oil and I have not been kind to it."

very good car.

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "engine drips oil, not enough to add between change"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"would drive it any where"

Best Car I've Owned

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, very good on gas and comfortable."

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used. It is the base model below the LS. It has the 3.4 V6. It's been a very reliable car. I've only had to replace tires, brakes, battery and struts. On the highway, it averages 32mpg. I added the spoiler shortly after I purchased it. It's very comfortable and very roomy. Highly recommend!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great gas mileage and low maintenance

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fuel economy, highway comfort"

Cons: "clunking transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this Impala with 33,000 miles in 2008 and it now has 142,000 (2/14). I regularly change the oil and have serviced the transmission, serpentine belt, brake pads. The second set of tires (BFG from Sam's Club) lasted 72,000 miles. Still has the original spark plugs and gets 30 mpg in 100% highway driving, about 27 combined. Very comfortable ride. Only complaint is the transmission, which occasionally clunks on takeoff, but it's done it since about 45,000 miles and it is only occasional (Dad's '06 Buick does the same - something with seals in the valve body). We bought it because it has six seat belts. We have had six people in it, but four is much more comfortable. Hard to beat the operating costs for a large car."

I want another just like it!

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "always starts, always comfortable, heavy and safe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wish they make a new one just like the old one. I dont want to get rid of this car."

Great First Car!

By on Monday, February 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacious interior, smooth and clean design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car for a 16th birthday present to myself. It is the LS model that is equipped with a sunroof and leather seats. It drives amazingly and is definitely a great car to drive. It gets about 27 mpg which for a car this size is pretty good. I've had to replace the engine and transmission on it as the body has 220000 miles. The engine and transmission now have 110,000 miles on them. It's extremely reliable and I can see myself driving it for a few more years to come."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned, and I've had a few before

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Runs great, great on gas, like new inside"

Cons: "has key marks on side doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I ever drove. Never needed repairs in the ten years I owned it. Only had to have oil changed and tune ups. Great gas mileage. Drove from Ca to Pa and Pa to Georgia, Pa to AR and never had a minutes problem, only stopped for gas. Kept seats covered like new leather seats. Car is a dream to drive and own, only selling cause got a new 2014 car so must sell."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Impala near Honolulu. See local deals