Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2002 Chevrolet Impala

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 942 Ratings for the 2000 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 95 | Next

Worst GM Car ever!

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bad Transmission poor handling! hands down the worst car I have ever owned and I am 51 years old!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Looked 3 yrs. love fld dwn bck st grt value

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, Fld Seat, sunroof, 5 persn, Ok MPG,Reliable"

Cons: "Frnt drs closing, location of Pwr Strg Fluids"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"From studying this vehicle and others in its class, I can say that the 3.4L didn't hold up as well. They got 130K-160K. My 3.8L is going strong at 220,000. It's comfortable, handles pretty well, holds a ton of stuff including 16 ft. wooden boards. Weaknesses are an annoying noise inside cabin, front doors that don't stay in place on a hill and close on you, a bit of static electricity and back safety belts that over-tighten. Only mechanical issues in 220k include power steering (in part because PS dipstick is located in an impossible location) and Water Pump. Just got 4th set of breaks and 4th set of tires. Ready for tune-up #2. Love my sunroof, love the touch dials although the paint wore off. I love the storage in the vehicle. Power connect in the front is poorly placed. Very easy to spill into the car. Yes, I've done it several times. The pick up of the 3.8L is a tad slow but to be expected for gas saving. Average 23.5 MPG."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A Super Car

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A Super Car wish they would bring it back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am very lucky to be the owner of this Magnifecent Auto and very lucky since only 4,000 + were made.Also it was made in Canada and before Goverment Motors took it over under O'bama. I will never again buy a GM car since over 80% of GM automobiles and Parts are made in CHINA.My next Car would be a TOYOTA CAMARY since 100% parts and factories are her in the U.S.A.It is an all American made in the U.S.A."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very comfortable & easy to drive, love it.

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All around great buy."

Cons: "None worth mentioning."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Impala still runs & drives great. All around gas mileage is 22 mpg & highway is 28 to 30 mpg. Quiet & smooth. No major problems. Plenty of power."

5 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Awesome Vehicle

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome car. I drove it 222,000 miles and it still runs great. Never had a major repair and very reliable."

10 people out of 23 found this review helpful

I like my impala

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price"

Cons: "had some electical plug problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I still get complements on how cool the car looks and how well it drives. Thinking about trading it in on another one. My mother drives a 2006 impala LT and is very happy with it. GM got it right when they brought the Impala back."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great, but needed trans at 80,000

By on Saturday, October 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Carries a family 4 in comfort. Great MPG"

Cons: "Transmission cost $2650 at 80,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Great car hampered by a short-lived transmission. A sporty and comfortable car capable of 30 mpg. I currently have 168,000 miles on the car and the only disappointment is the transmission. It was after the warranty period, and the Chevy dealer was pretty much accused my wife of abusing the car. Glad he's out of business now. Had the transmission rebuilt and the car has treated me well since."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

only problem was finding a good repairman

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "alloy wheels dont clean up well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and it's very attractive too. Gives a smooth and comfortable ride, feel safe in it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not the best car I have owned.

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"2002 Impala bought used in 2008, had 94000 miles on it. I had the transmission fluid changed soon after. I'm always concerned about the transmission. It was a great car was getting at best 33 mpg. Almost all miles we put on it were highway, at 120000 miles the tranny expired, at 130000 new wheel bearings on left side, at 140000 new wheel bearings on right side. at 150000 new cooling fan motor and intake manifold. 170000 new rotors and i'm easy on the brakes. 200,000 new ignition switch. now at 230000 I.m told the tranny is slipping, and traction control is acting up and not allowing us to get down the street in the car without braking, grinding and groaning. The car is untrustworthy and undrivable, no it has not been abused and has been cared for at regular intervals. Aside from purchase price and regular maintenance , I have spent approximately $1000.00 in repairs yearly since our purchase. We like the car and how it drives but it is a money pit."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

good dependable vehicle .

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,154

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just drove my car to Iowa and Wisconsin with no problem and it's very good on gas. I just past the emissions test this year, all around very dependable car."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 95 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Impala near Honolulu. See local deals