Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2000 Chevrolet Impala

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 952 Ratings for the 2000 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

very dependable

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "been a joy to drive"

Cons: "just a little low"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would recommend this year to anyone"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I just inherited this vehicle and drove on long trip from midwest to reno ran great..renoruona"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonder car all around!

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great on gas, stylish, fast, safe, affordable, fun"

Cons: "No CD player, no cruise control, lil inside luxery"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My impala is a wonder car. I love it's style, it has a roomy and comfortable interior and a classy exterior that is open to many add on's if your an enthusiast. It is very safe and I feel confidant driving my family around in it. It gets great gas mileage I drive everyday, aprox 45 miles and can go about 8 days before needing a fill up. When I do fill up a tank costs me from 25-30$ which is great even considering that gas prices are down in the USA. Also the car is very reliable, I haven't had any mechanical problems or break downs and even after a high speed hydroplane accident, I was kept totally safe and the only damage was to the body, very good considering I slammed my front end into a guard rail then went into a 720 degree spin bouncing off the guard rail each time I spun around. The car was fixed and back as good as new within a week for just a few hundred bux. It's also a blast to drive, it's very quick with great acceleration. Compared to a ford Taurus or Chevy Malibu this car is a rocket. So overall I love my chevy impala and would suggest on to drivers looking for a fun, stylish, safe and affordable ride. Drive safe my friends! Don't drink and drive, don't text and drive and don't speed. Also be extremely careful in the rain, I was not speeding or distracted at all when my car hydroplaned on the highway while going around a very slight right bend, and once your in a hydroplane all control is lost until your are stopped by another object. So in conclusion I would highly recommend this car. God bless!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

being a good car for me

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 241,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Engine was the best."

Cons: "Electrical Problems turn signal get stock."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"bought it used at 108000 miles and all messed up. I was able to fix the body and drive it for almost 8 yrs 244000 miles."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I would pick-up in a minute and drive West.

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "62 yrs. old, best vehicle ever."

Cons: "one small ping dent on left rear door."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car from a trade in from it's original owner. Bought from a dealership, where it had just come from it's initial check-up. It still did not have a price tag on it. I took it for a 2 hr. drive to see my mechanic, and he was impressed. At time of purchase the odom. read 66,850 mi. Since the purchase Iv'e replaced both O2 sensors, lower engine gaskets (small oil leak, went overboard), inner bearings on left front tire, changed tranny fluid, brake fluid, brakes, front struts, tires & frnt. end aliment. I did all these things because I did not know the car and I do things because I believe what you put into something only makes it BETTER!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Absolutely the best auto we have ever owned

By on Monday, February 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had many new vehicles thru the years currently also have a 2014 impala 2 lt My wife still likes the 02 better"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I LOVE this car!

By on Monday, January 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, handles well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has been a fantastic car and has given me great service (still has original engine) but it is time to look for a replacement. Engine runs a little loud and I don't have finances to maintain much longer although I feel I have taken good care of the car. I will definitely look at another Impala!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Most reliable car I have ever owned

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Powerful, comfortable, cheap, reliable, fun"

Cons: "Lots of plastic in the interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"for a car being worth $1500, this thing is incredibly reliable, has plenty of power from the 3800, and is quite comfortable to drive. Can also get 27-28 MPG on the highway, and it drives like it's brand new."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

i just bought this car runs and drives good.

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,532

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "this car is in great conditon. i would sell this"

Cons: "dont know untill i get it servest moter and trany"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"every thing on this car works"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I don't like this car because it has trubling runn

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,500

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I don't like car because it will no stay running to much trouble to drive around town"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Worst GM Car ever!

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bad Transmission poor handling! hands down the worst car I have ever owned and I am 51 years old!"

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Looked 3 yrs. love fld dwn bck st grt value

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, Fld Seat, sunroof, 5 persn, Ok MPG,Reliable"

Cons: "Frnt drs closing, location of Pwr Strg Fluids"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"From studying this vehicle and others in its class, I can say that the 3.4L didn't hold up as well. They got 130K-160K. My 3.8L is going strong at 220,000. It's comfortable, handles pretty well, holds a ton of stuff including 16 ft. wooden boards. Weaknesses are an annoying noise inside cabin, front doors that don't stay in place on a hill and close on you, a bit of static electricity and back safety belts that over-tighten. Only mechanical issues in 220k include power steering (in part because PS dipstick is located in an impossible location) and Water Pump. Just got 4th set of breaks and 4th set of tires. Ready for tune-up #2. Love my sunroof, love the touch dials although the paint wore off. I love the storage in the vehicle. Power connect in the front is poorly placed. Very easy to spill into the car. Yes, I've done it several times. The pick up of the 3.8L is a tad slow but to be expected for gas saving. Average 23.5 MPG."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

A Super Car

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A Super Car wish they would bring it back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am very lucky to be the owner of this Magnifecent Auto and very lucky since only 4,000 + were made.Also it was made in Canada and before Goverment Motors took it over under O'bama. I will never again buy a GM car since over 80% of GM automobiles and Parts are made in CHINA.My next Car would be a TOYOTA CAMARY since 100% parts and factories are her in the U.S.A.It is an all American made in the U.S.A."

4 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Very comfortable & easy to drive, love it.

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All around great buy."

Cons: "None worth mentioning."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Impala still runs & drives great. All around gas mileage is 22 mpg & highway is 28 to 30 mpg. Quiet & smooth. No major problems. Plenty of power."

15 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Awesome Vehicle

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome car. I drove it 222,000 miles and it still runs great. Never had a major repair and very reliable."

15 people out of 34 found this review helpful

I like my impala

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price"

Cons: "had some electical plug problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I still get complements on how cool the car looks and how well it drives. Thinking about trading it in on another one. My mother drives a 2006 impala LT and is very happy with it. GM got it right when they brought the Impala back."

7 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great, but needed trans at 80,000

By on Saturday, October 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Carries a family 4 in comfort. Great MPG"

Cons: "Transmission cost $2650 at 80,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Great car hampered by a short-lived transmission. A sporty and comfortable car capable of 30 mpg. I currently have 168,000 miles on the car and the only disappointment is the transmission. It was after the warranty period, and the Chevy dealer was pretty much accused my wife of abusing the car. Glad he's out of business now. Had the transmission rebuilt and the car has treated me well since."

11 people out of 14 found this review helpful

only problem was finding a good repairman

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "alloy wheels dont clean up well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and it's very attractive too. Gives a smooth and comfortable ride, feel safe in it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not the best car I have owned.

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"2002 Impala bought used in 2008, had 94000 miles on it. I had the transmission fluid changed soon after. I'm always concerned about the transmission. It was a great car was getting at best 33 mpg. Almost all miles we put on it were highway, at 120000 miles the tranny expired, at 130000 new wheel bearings on left side, at 140000 new wheel bearings on right side. at 150000 new cooling fan motor and intake manifold. 170000 new rotors and i'm easy on the brakes. 200,000 new ignition switch. now at 230000 I.m told the tranny is slipping, and traction control is acting up and not allowing us to get down the street in the car without braking, grinding and groaning. The car is untrustworthy and undrivable, no it has not been abused and has been cared for at regular intervals. Aside from purchase price and regular maintenance , I have spent approximately $1000.00 in repairs yearly since our purchase. We like the car and how it drives but it is a money pit."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

good dependable vehicle .

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,154

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just drove my car to Iowa and Wisconsin with no problem and it's very good on gas. I just past the emissions test this year, all around very dependable car."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Owned this car from brand new!

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Solid and Reliable"

Cons: "Wish it were newer."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is by far the BEST and most reliable car that I have ever owned. It has taken me and my family across the U.S. If I were sell it or to trade it in, I have to get more than $6,000. for it. I've just completed a complete body overhaul and the car looks absolutely beautiful. The interior shows very careful use and look great. The oil has been change every 3,500 miles and all repairs have been made when necessary. It is the BEST CAR I'VE EVER OWNED."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever.

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car. It is beautiful, sporty,an eye-catcher,yet elegant. I always feel safe in this vehicle. Selling because we have retired and no longer have the need for this vehicle."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good car upkeep maintenance

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 288,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "288,000 and still going strong"

Cons: "cheap paint job, console poor design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been wonderful. I have no intention of selling it. We drive it daily. If you upkeep new car from beginning you have faith in Jesus Christ then through faith it seems to run forever. Disappointed with original paint job and console, otherwise great."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very quiet, Roomy, great to drive!"

Cons: "Not enough leg room in the backseat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I did a lot of research before buying this car almost 10 year ago, and it really paid off! I haven't had to repair it at all until now 10 years later. Definitely worth the money I paid for it. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a large sedan."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned.

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 259,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage (30+) for a full size car"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car new in April 2004. It now has 259,000 miles and is still going strong. The only repairs I have made to the car are a new windshield wiper timer and both front wheel bearing assemblies. Other than that, just put in gas, change the oil and filter every 5000 miles and drive it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Impala near Honolulu. See local deals