Go

1995 Chevrolet Impala

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 528 Ratings for the 1994 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have totally enjoyed my Impala for 5 years and 120,000 miles; good gas mileage (on the road and around town), reliable (always starts); comfortable (I drive a LOT for work and it's good on long trips); large trunk (holds my golf clubs with room to spare); I'm 5'10" and it's comfortable with my long legs; low maintenance costs (only oil changes and new tires, no major break downs); handles well in midwest winter driving conditions"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Now is the time to buy!

By on Wednesday, December 9, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth, powerful, fast, and reliable"

Cons: "They don't make them anymore"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There isn't a whole lot to say other than this car is an absolute pleasure to drive. There are cars faster out there, but none come close to the overall enjoyment factor. Prices are about as low as they are going to get so go get one! Instant classic. You won't be disappointed!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car, but...

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car new. I'm sold on the comfort and excellent fuel economy. There are two things that sour the whole experience however: it fails to start at times (Passlock system) and I have to wait 10 minutes minimum before it will crank. And the other day, it started running like it had a potato up the tailpipe. Am scheduled to have the dealer test the catalytic converter next week. There is a TSB on this problem which extends the warranty on the catalytic to 10 yrs/120K miles. Other than that, it's been a solid car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

saved my life

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I had a 2003 impala prior to having my 2005 and it saved my daughters and my life when a man ran a red light and t-boned my car and flippled us over. because of all safety precausions that are made with this car, we were able to walk away with only a few scratches from broken glass. love this car so much that i replaced it with the 2005 a few days later."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Awesome 1st car!!

By on Tuesday, June 8, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Ive wanted this car for about 10 years. So when the opportunity arose I pounced on it. I bought it in AUG 2009 and have no intention of selling it. As you know the MPG is terrible but you knew that. I love the acceleration and the looks it gets after its washed and waxed. The flowmaster Super 44 series exhaust helps alot too.but I love this car and I have absolutely no regrets . ALWAYS DRIVE A CHEVY..NEVER DRIVE A FORD !!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Classic no Doubt

By on Thursday, January 15, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"What are all these dumb reviews about "my V6" and "good family car" Give me a break! We are talking about the 1994-1996 Chevrolet Impala SS. Mine was a 96, Black Cherry that i bought new in 1996 (12 years ago) and has been a great car all these years...That is till some clown talking on a cell phone rear ended my last week on the I 95 fwy and totalled my old friend. 12 years and 90,000 miles of outstanding service with no major parts failures(only a water pump at 80,000, regular oil changes and many many sets of rear tires (installed a line lock 3 years ago and became burn-out king in my area) Anyway, great car. I paid $22000 new and it still books out around $10000 (before accident of course) Don't find very many cars that hold value like that. Mine suffered major frame damage and body smashed up to back of rear seats. So goodbye old friend. You will be missed....."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, September 6, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good car

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"72,000 miles now. Only problem was a wheel bearing at 70,000 and had to have the CD player repaired (dealer wanted to replace, an audio shop repaired it for a lot less). Have replaced battery once, front pads once. For a sedan it feels sporty and strong."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great all around vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This vehicle is roomy, quiet, nice looking, reliable, and gets decent mileage (25-26 MPG in average driving, 29-30 MPG if I am trying to save gas)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2000 Still going Strong!

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought our 2000 Impala used in 2002. It has proven to be reliable even at 110,000 miles. With routine maintanence, we have only had to replace brakes, tires, and the wheel bearings. The drivers window motor catches sometimes, but is still usable. Hubby wanted to trade it in for a newer model, but I would like to see how long it will keep running so well! I am a big fan of the great gas mileage also. With gas at almost 4.00 a gallon, I can still go all week on $30.00. Great car for the money!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Car so far!

By on Wednesday, April 2, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I recently bought a 2004 loaded up model and really love it. We have only had the car for a couple of months and found that the 3.8 L was low two courts of oil. We bought the extended GM certified warranty and are running an oil usage test on it to see what the problem may be. I'm hoping that it was simply the dealers error when they changed the oil on it because using that much oil in a couple of months is unheard of. Aside from that, this car is wonderful. I'm very jealous of my wife because she gets to drive it daily. I would rate the car an excellent buy providing that you get the 3.8 L and loaded package. I've had four cars now with the 3.8 L in it and now will not accept anything less. These motors are almost bullet proof, but do have a few little quirks to them where GM cut corners. The car rides really nice, yet doesn't handle as well as I had hoped. Of course this is comparing it to two Grand Prix's that we previously owned. The steering seems sluggish and the car slides a bit on snow and ice (with new all season tires) compared to the Grand Prix's. I love the head and leg room, while the heated leather seats are amazing in the wintertime. Overall, and thus far, I would recommend this car to anyone but would caution them on its sluggish handling. Ride, comfort, style, and acceleration is top notch. This is an honest and accurate opinion from a professional truck driver of thirteen years."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid Value with Performance

By on Sunday, November 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've now put nearly 55,000 miles on my LS since taking delivery in October 2004. It's the best car I've owned in over 40 years of driving. Great performance, great ride, low cost of ownership and something for anyone thinking 'hybrid'....I get 35-36 MPG freeway driving when I keep the cruise control between 55 and 60 mph. My around town gas economy is better tha 25 MPG. This is likely to be the last car I'll ever need to buy"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A great car

By on Saturday, October 20, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car back in 2002 in Elkhart, Indiana with 72,000mi on it. One month before my warranty expired the transmission die on me. Thank God I still had the warranty. Got the new transmission and haven't had any problems since then. It makes over 25mpg on highway and over 18mpg in the city. This is an excellent car for a single person or for an entire family of 3, 4 or 5 people. I would recomend this car to my worst enemy."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

thank god for the extended warranty

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"I purchased my 2000 Impala in 2002 with 32,000 miles. I purchased an extended warranty for $1000.00. REPAIRS: Numerous oil leaks, rear main seal, ABS sensors, transmisson ( 75,000) drivers seat air bag. drive axe gasket. In the shop 2 - 3 times a year for last 4 years."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my 4door hot rod

By on Sunday, August 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive,Chevy reliable"

Cons: "No cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Were ever you drive you will get looks and thumbs up from a lot of guys."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR

By on Saturday, October 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"GREAT CAR STILL RIDES GOOD ONLY MINOR SERVICE PROBLEMS.PEOPLE ALWAYS COME UP TO ME AND SAY THAT CAR LOOKS GREAT.THEY CANT BELIEVE IT IS A 1996 WITH 41000 MI. I HAVE OWNED IT SINCE NEW AND WILL NEVER PART WITH IT"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid

By on Thursday, September 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"My Impala has 117.000 miles with only $235 total in repairs. At 65 mph, I can still get +30 mpg. One solid and under rated fine car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not Bad

By on Wednesday, September 3, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"It has been a good car,good gas mileage for a big car,better than some of the foriegn 4 cyl."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this car used and I would buy another"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not too sure now

By on Sunday, June 22, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought my '03 Impala in April 2007 for 8K, absolutely love everything about it, EXCEPT, I just recently started having problems with the passlock system. Darn thing won't start at times. I'm a nervous wreck when it comes to getting in the car, wondering if it's going to start...that's why I rated a 2 for reliability. Googled it and now I get in, put seatbelt on, turn key to on, wait for all the lights on the dash to turn off, then start it, hasn't failed yet, but keeping my fingers crossed because I absolutely LOVE everything about it, especially the look/style of the car...all except the darn passlock system. Bad thing is, that all I read said they've replaced it and sometimes it will continue to do the same thing."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The Impala is a great car for all purposes, I have had mine for two years and have had only one minor problem with it. Other than that little problem this is the best car i've ever owned! It can be sporty for the younger generation, and it can be a classy vehicle for an older generation. All in all it is just a great dependable car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Friday, March 28, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought new in 2000. Now it's 2008 and 182,000 miles later and still running great. Manufacturer recommended service is a must on this car. Some typical repairs, some not so typical such as replacing motor on power windows. No tranny problems. Front end is susceptible to wear faster than I think should be. All in all, nice car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Ride and Value

By on Wednesday, February 20, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Sound car that has comfort and value. Still gets 22 MPG city and 29 to 31 MPG highway (depending on speed and weather conditions). You get the best MPG on the highway just under 70 MPH (or less then 2000 RPM). Some minor electrical concerns with gas gage, driver's air bag senor dash warning light, and interior temperature control lights as the car has gotten older. But everything considered the 2000 Impala is a reliable car that has style, power, and comfort for the price."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, January 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Sunday, January 13, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought this car new in 2001. Have put tons of miles on it, driven it all over the country, with absolutely no problems, other than a sometimes annoying rattle under the dash of the driver's side. My sister bought one just before me, I loved it and bought one pretty much like it. Still amazing mileage at this many miles, we clocked it at 30 mpg on long trip."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Impala near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement