Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2001 Chevrolet Express 3500 Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 224 Ratings for the 1996 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

good truck

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good truck"

Serves us well when we need it

By on Friday, November 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good basic working van"

Cons: "AC needs repair. rear seat belts dangle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good basic van for use by 4 people.10 people if you fix the rear AC. Has 3 benches. Heat fine in front and rear. AC needs fixing so those without windows in back get hot and stuffy. Excellent for moving,hauling items or stuff. Used originally for large family. Over years they all now have cars.Only drove it when we took the whole crew someplace so mileage is low. We keep it and use it like a truck when needed. Long trips- doesn't have built in gps or movies for kids -now standard accessories if you have small kids. radio, cd player fine. We're keeping it til it dies which I don't think will be anytime soon. It hasn't had issues at all."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good Vehicle

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,876

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great for transporting 15 passengers"

I have owned this car for 12 years, bst veh ever

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,612

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great van, confortable and reliable, not mayor maitenance problems at all."

Van used for bussiness

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good for bussiness, lots of power"

Cons: "v8 motor , gas consumer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Air conditioning, upholtery all ok Going out of bussiness."

what a great van

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love the 155" wheel base"

Cons: "the price of gas ?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"its a 2000 express 3500 with 170000 miles on it crosses the scales at 7200lbs with ladders and brake on the roof rack and still gets 12 mpg city 15.5 on the road 155" wheel base so 14' lumber or siding fits inside it loves new brakes every 20000 miles but it weights alot"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

goog great awsome

By on Monday, September 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very nice truck still works really well"

Great road vehicle, comfortable, roomy

By on Saturday, September 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great comfort, TV, separate music system from radio, automatic rear seat fold down for bed. Serviced vehicle regularly and engine is in great shape, does not require any oil between changes, front and rear A/C."

13 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Dependable workhorse!

By on Monday, September 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable work van with heavy suspension and comfortable ride"

Cons: "It's a cargo van so it's noisy and rides best with some cargo in it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this van new in 2003 for my business. Frequently loaded it up and pulled a trailer. It has 151,000 miles and still runs everyday without a problem. No major repairs and cost of ownership has been very low."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Superb, stable load/passenger/trailer hauler.

By on Monday, September 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Stable, consistent handling under all load conditions. Fantastic space. Flexible load hauling"

Cons: "Could use more power. Only two cup holders. 4th bench mounts are different."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Chevy and GM put their 15 passenger "stretch" in between the axles instead of behind the rear axle. There is little difference in handling whether loaded or empty. When passing big trucks at high speeds it does not try to change lanes like the other 6 vans I have owned. It is a bit underpowered when toting a load and pulling a trailer but it does it. It gave a consistent 15-16 mpg until ethanol dropped it to 13-14 mpg. Have had to replace starter motor and fuel pump in 150,000 miles. I hope it runs 500,000 miles. But if it doesn't I will replace it with another like it. Back seats (benches) are easy to remove and reinstall. Things I wish they would change... More flexibility with the back seats would be nice. It would be nice to be able to put the 4 passenger seat further forward at times. Installing the benches with more space between them or mounting two that face each other would be nice.The bench seats could use thicker cushions."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very dependable

By on Tuesday, August 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"no problems.. excellent conditions, very well taken care of"

Very Durable

By on Thursday, August 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable and durable."

Express 3500 V8 5.7 15 Passenger - Love it!

By on Tuesday, August 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "If you score one in great condition used- buy it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought mine used from a touring rock band for my touring rock band. We pack her to the ceiling with gear and she never has a hard time. We've toured all over the united states and she keeps on ticking. She's got over 200,000 miles on her, and she's still the best ride I've ever owned. Strong engine, super comfy. My only complaint is the interior is plastic and takes a beating. The passnger doors tend to knock into eachother and eventually cause a dent.I've toured in Dodge Rams, Ford Vans, and this Chevy has my heart. If you take good care of it, it will take good care of you!"

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best and most comfortable van we have ever owned.

By on Monday, June 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This purchase was better than all the new cars we have purchased."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased this 2001 van in 2008 with 43000 miles on it. It now has 73000 miles. The tv still works as well as all of the other functions. The car just had it first tune-up and the brakes were just done in 2011. The van still has all the original parts. The leather seats and the interior looks great. We get at least 2 compliments each week on the van. The van is great for road trips with the grand-children. The conversion makes it possible to walk around in the van. Plus we have the hook-up for all the children's computer games."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, May 22, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Cheap interior keeps breaking apart.

By on Saturday, May 07, 2011

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Overall, the vehicles not bad, but the low quality, cheap interior and doors keep breaking. Interior door handles have stopped working on both sides more times than I can count and we've stopped fixing the front seat reclining handles and mechanisms so now we live with the fact they don't recline. The vehicle only has 70 thousand miles and is only 5 years old."

Lots or Repairs

By on Friday, April 22, 2011

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"Bought new in 2001, now has 104K miles. It's needed lots of repairs and parts over the years, so be prepared and have a good mechanic. Replaced or repaired: front wheel bearings, multiple fan belts, two water pumps, fuel pump (inside gas tank, big $ to repair), head gaskets, AC lines (multiple times), radiator failed/replaced, door handles reparied multiple times, brake light problems (electrical), rusting/frozen door hinges. Bottom line: too problems that cost $ to repair, but thats how GM's are if you keep them too long."

By on Monday, April 18, 2011

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

ok vechicle

By on Tuesday, April 12, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

"This van with v6 in has poor pulling power or anything with weight. Down shifts to many time on any steep hill.or passing Besides that not too bad."

great for hauling kids

By on Thursday, March 31, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Letting go to get something to pull a 5th wheel camper."

best of the best

By on Tuesday, March 29, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"we went to vegas,seattle,atlanta,smoky mountaines.and still making more plans to travel.I am not looking for the day that I have to give it up.Iwould rate my van a ten.I love it."

By on Sunday, March 20, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

I love it

By on Tuesday, March 01, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"After the transmission was replaced, common factory defect, the van's been great. Mine doesn't have carpeting, a Godsent with 9 kids."

Worst vehicle ever

By on Wednesday, February 02, 2011

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

"This has been the worst work van I have ever owned. Door latches broke after 2 years. Front hub barrings broke at 80,000 miles and 90,000 miles. Horn works sometimes, seat belts broken had recall. Installed new ones and drivers last one year and have to pay to replace. I will never buy another Chevy product and wished they had gone out of business. I don't recommend Chey's to anybody."

Enjoyable RVing via Chevrolet

By on Friday, January 28, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"This Chevrolet Express Explorer Van Conversion has been an excellent vehicle for nearly 11 yrs. The Explorer SE van conversion is well designed and appointed for RV utility and comfort. It was built to tow an RV trailer (Airstream) of 10,000 lbs. It has deluxe appointments, comfort and capacity to accommodate 7 passengers and their luggage for long trips. It has been amazingly economical with up to 26 MPG highway. It is still a great utility vehicle for multiple uses. I plan to keep it awhile still."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Express 3500 Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals