Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1997 Chevrolet Express 3500 Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 218 Ratings for the 1996 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next

Great VAN!!

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT RIDE, VERY SOLID AND SAFE, GREAT FAMILY VAN"

Cons: "BLINDS ON WINDOWS TOO DELICATE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"IF I HAD IT TO DO OVER AGAIN, I WOULD GET THE SAME EXACT VAN! EVEN THOUGH IT WAS NOT THE BEST IN GAS, AND THE FUEL PRICES FOR THE LAST SEVERAL YEARS HAVE HURT, IT WAS STILL WORTH FILLING UP THIS VERY RELIABLE VEHICLE."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

We love our van!

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versatile, reliable, tough."

Cons: "Parking takes some creativity sometimes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle for a large family! We love the versatility in the seating (can move the four bench up etc.) and the towing capacity! Highly recommend. Very reliable!"

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Of all the full size vans this is the best ever.

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A strong, well built truck, totally love it."

Cons: "The paint on the radio buttons does wear off."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overall, this is the best van ever. I have owned and driven nothing but full sized vans starting with a 1974 Dodge Tradesman B100 followed by a 1978 ChevyVan 20; a 1981 Ford Econoline; a 1987 Dodge B250; a 1999 Chevy Express 2500 and now my current 2008 Chevy Express 2500. The '74 Dodge will always be my favorite van! Of all the remaining only the 2008 Chevy Express comes close. I love this van. It almost handles as good as a sports car...gets a little sloppy and unstable at speeds above 90 MPH! When loaded, also takes a little bit longer to stop. I always drive hard and fast. This van has had no major repairs needed - only routine maintenance. I would recommend this year and model to anyone interested in a full sized van. Lightly loaded, long distance mileage around 16-17 MPG, hot-rodding in stop-n-go traffic gets 11-13 MPG."

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

good work van

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"not a bad van ,i changed tie rods , throttle body and starter at 200.000 , but no other problems . no rpm gauge and that's not a good idea when we talk a work car . the interior/comfort is the worst part at this car.seats are uncomfortable , window handle is hurting your knee ,driver seat to close to the cars body , makes you feel squashed . i can go on and on . i think none of the big companies ( gmc, ford ) seems to think workers are drivers also when it comes to interior . they think big engines , more space , more hp but don't care about the driver . i spend at least 3 hours driving every day and i can use a little bit of comfort ."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Hate to part with but I am sick

By on Tuesday, January 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a must see vehicle,very clean and well kept.Has most available features,Power door locks,windows,mirrows,cruise control,AM FM CD great wheels,would replace tires but raise asking price if I would."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Good van with great engine ie.. 6.0 V8.

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A fun van with a powerful engine. Handles well !"

Cons: "not put together to well. Paint is terrible."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought this van 2 years ago with the purpose of using it as a carpet cleaning van. Did this for short period and became second vehicle for family. The 6.0 litre V8 is amazing. Very powerful and smooth running. Fuel milage is not too good. 12 miles per gal. in city and maybe 16 mpg on highway. Paint is coming off several areas. Overal quality of vehicle not too good. Drivetrain is great. 6.0 litre engine is phenominal. Fast and has a ton of torque. Much nicer than Fords engines. Also much better than Chevy's 5.0 V8 as well. I wouldn't want it with the 305 V8 as it is woefully underpowered. It handles somewhat better than similar equipped Ford E150s. Likely newer models have improved in overall quality. I have seen newer Chevy vans and their paint stays on. That is a glairing fault on the 2003 model Chevy Vans."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Very cheap junk

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,900

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "None"

Cons: "Everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"2006 express is the cheapest vehicle I have ever seen. Has electrical draw and cannot be relied upon to start. Body parts super cheap junk. Has 8900 mi. paint is now flaking off top of door [LARGE FLAKES]. Gold started flaking off emblems at 1500 mi. Honestly worst buy I ever made"

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great van, good MPG, great road vehicle

By on Monday, November 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, roomy, great road vehicle, good MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the AWD version and it's great in ice and snow. Get anywhere from 17-21 MPG on the road with the 300 HP 5.3 liter engine. Comfortable on a long trip, easy to drive and overall a good very reliable road vehicle."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

No compaints.

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "I know it's not stylist, but very practiable."

Cons: "Not many cup holders, only two on console."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my fifth Chevy van. The curent model,with 120K miles is a 3500 w/a 6.0l gas engine. We use it for long distance vacations,towing,and moving any thing we need to. A lot of room with the seats out.Never had a problem. I get 18 mpg driving at 65mph. Great for what we use it for."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable, comfortable, great highway driving

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Powerful engine, great highway driving stability, excellent braking. Road noise is acceptable. Parking in a p/lot needs a wide swing. Overall I definitely will buy another Chevy Express when I change. I owned a Ford 15 pax van prior years (6) and would not buy another one."

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Express 3500 Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals