Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2009 Chevrolet Express 3500 Cargo

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 220 Ratings for the 1996 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next

No compaints.

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "I know it's not stylist, but very practiable."

Cons: "Not many cup holders, only two on console."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my fifth Chevy van. The curent model,with 120K miles is a 3500 w/a 6.0l gas engine. We use it for long distance vacations,towing,and moving any thing we need to. A lot of room with the seats out.Never had a problem. I get 18 mpg driving at 65mph. Great for what we use it for."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable, comfortable, great highway driving

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Powerful engine, great highway driving stability, excellent braking. Road noise is acceptable. Parking in a p/lot needs a wide swing. Overall I definitely will buy another Chevy Express when I change. I owned a Ford 15 pax van prior years (6) and would not buy another one."

Did The Job Very Well

By on Friday, July 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great to Drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Company Vehicle used for building a multi-million dollar business. Reliable and hard working but with growth we need something bigger"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this van! It does everything I want!

By on Monday, July 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versatile, easy to drive, comfortable"

Cons: "low fuel efficiency but fits 15 people!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned two of these (2003) and (2008). My current 08 has 168000 miles and the only mechanical issue was at 165000 miles with a water pump. Mileage is low at 13.5 mpg but that was expected. We take this vehicle on family vacations every summer and put on about 30,000 miles per year. Great vehicle!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Really disappointed

By on Sunday, April 07, 2013

I don't own this car

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "None"

Cons: "Unsafe and jerky."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I drive this as a company work truck. As a work truck it's useable, but there is an issue with the accell pedal. You have to push it for over 2" before you get any throttle response. The local dealer tried a new pedal assembly, but it didn't solve anything. Tried to get the district rep involved, but all he said was to drive one that was on the lot and I'd see all of them do the same. I feel this is an accident waiting to happen. At stop signs, you never know when it's going to start to move, and it's usually with a jerk. I would not buy any GM product due to the fact I've been told they use the same system in all the new vehicles. It's unsafe."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Transmission problems - Chevrolet Express 2500

By on Thursday, March 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Roomy"

Cons: "Not reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Kept up on oil changes and transmission service, at 140,000 we are having to install the third transmission. Not a quality vehicle and GM isn't standing behind their product. Lemons happen but take care of it responsibly. After stringing us along for over a week GM can't assist us at all. Very disappointed."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great Van Ran It Up To 295k Almost Made IT To 300k

By on Tuesday, February 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 295,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A lot of Pep Nice Seats"

Cons: "Tough to Maneover in Tight Places stay off sand."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned this 2500 Series Van since 2004 bought it new.Breakdown occurred over 200k wheel Bearings wore out.AC Compresser went out around 250K.Alternator lasted over 150 k.At around 265K started having oil and anti freeze leaks.At 290 K Oil Pressure readings started to register below normal.So i have to depart with old reliable and Yes i will buy another Chevy Express.Only negative thing to say is kinda hard to turn around in tight parking lots and wish the cargo area was higher.Mpg could be better.Highly Recommend"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

who could ask for more

By on Wednesday, November 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,040

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "effortless power"

Cons: "rear whines high mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"as a service tech we need our trucks to work for us without compromise this van has delivered all that i could hope for in a vehical...2001 2500 express rules!"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

have it for the church a grate buy

By on Sunday, July 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 286,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "way way to many to list"

Cons: "only 3 cup holders mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bolt it for the church and thay love it 13 years and still going strong"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

No better van than a HEAVY DUTY

By on Monday, May 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "HEAVY DUTY!"

Cons: "Me I picked the 4.8 instead of the 6.0, poor mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Express 3500 Cargo near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details