Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2003 Chevrolet Express 2500 Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 236 Ratings for the 1996 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Nothing Made Better Than This

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Don't usually like writing reviews, but the Chevy Express is the exception. We have owned about 15 Express vans from in the 1500 and 2500 series from 2006 to 2011, and there isn't a more durable cargo van this size anywhere. Occasionally we'll have the occasional water pump go out or wheel bearings need replacing. One of our express vans has gone 200,000 miles without major problems or without even changing the spark plugs. From the time they're new (to us) we only use synthetic fluid, and continue proper maintenance. Alignments have been our only real complaint. They weren't properly aligned from the factory and have difficulty keeping a couple of them aligned. Wonderful Vehicle."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good reliable versatile vehicle

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Runs great very versatile"

Cons: "A few annoying problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Runs great, plenty of power.Versatile for passengers, camping and hauling. AC has gone out twice. Plastic gas tank cracked had to be replaced. Cd player has broke twice. Gas gauge and dash lights don't work. Wish it had a grab bar for passengers."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Nice powertrain and handling

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handles great for full sized van, pulls well."

Cons: "road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Chevy

"This has been avery good van for our family. Very comfortable and nice riding and handling. Does have more road noise due to lack of dampening insulation which gives it a somewhat tinny sound when closing the doors. Great for pulling a boat with almost no downshifts on inclines. Well powered for pulling. I really hated to see them discontinue what I consider to be Chevy's best engine ever. I did have tranny replaced after about 170000, and this vehicle has always used coolant which I hear may be from Chevy going with a cheap plastic intake manifold. Engine always runs cool and never overheats (unless coolant gets too low). Seats are definitely better than the newer ones with more padding and better comfort. Engine is also better for pulling with more power at a lower RPM and less downshifting. Left side not having doors (like the newer ones) is also better for loading a wheelchair without dropping into the step well by the door. Older design is also better than the new ones that no longer has grease fittings on your steering components. I'd buy another one if they built them the same. Seems as thogh quality has dropped and price has gone WAY up."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Chevy

Powerful, Reliable Van Good for Work

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great towing power"

Cons: "high fuel prices- gets about 15 hwy miles/gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Chevy Van is the longest lasting vehicle I have ever owned. I am a contractor and boater. I needed a vehicle with powerful towing capabilities and the Chevy Express delivered. I have had no major mechanical problems, only general maintenance and normal wear and tear work. I have no complaints. I would purchase this vehicle again. If you're on the fence between two vehicles, you won't regret the investment in this model Chevy."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very comfortable to drive.

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, nice looking"

Cons: "Plastic door panels break easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this van because I'm a Scoutmaster. My van has front and rear a/c and heat that makes it all the more comfortable. I like the way it drives and rides on the highway. It's not too bad around town, but it can be a challenge to park a vehicle this big. It averages 14 mpg. The more passengers, the more economical it is to operate. I tow a tandem axil enclosed trailer quite often and I'm impressed with how well it handles on the highway, very stable. If you have a lot of passengers to haul, it's the way to go."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Confortable

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"good for Handyman"

best vehicle ever!

By on Saturday, December 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything!"

Cons: "age"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This van is so reliable! Even with a few big things wrong with it a couple times it still performed at the best possible performance.Comfort overall is amazing tv,dvd,cd,radio,ac,and even a table that would stand in the floor! The towing package is the best;hauling horses at times it pulled like a real truck! And still didn't sacrifice comfort,power,or reliability. Amazing vehicle! This particular van has a high topper that holds all kinds of extras as well as fiberglass running boards that serve as kind of a wide body kit best van ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it!!!!

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best family car have had a ton of great memories!!! So commfy and safe just not so good on gas but oh well!!!! We love it and the kiddos love it tooo."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this van!

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, lots of power, lots of room"

Cons: "only 9.5/12 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this new and have enjoyed hauling our 5 kids and their friends around in it. We love the spaciousness, the comfort, the rear passenger doors! Perfect for camping and long road trips, not so perfect for city driving, small parking lots, and parking garages."

average

By on Friday, December 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,750

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "only two sets"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"average"

I got lucky...

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "ample room for passengers, good for long trips"

Cons: "insufficient leg room for driver, under powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle was purchased new in Dec. 2003 and it has seen mostly highway miles, but it has also pulled a few trailers on those highways. During the course of owning this vehicle there have been minor problems or issues that have arisen. Mainly the cracking and breaking of some of the plastic exterior parts. This was not due to being struck by or by striking any thing. Just one cold day (-15º Michigan UP)I went outside and noticed a small piece of rear molding missing. Biggest problem is parts replacement. Replace a driver side sun visor $140 (dealer only), front and rear brake and rotor replacement $900 ($100 cheaper than dealer). Doing so myself would have saved $200, but time was a BIG factor. Only other negatives were ample power, but actually underpowered and cramped driver leg room. Overall good low problem vehicle, but when it has a problem it can be pricey!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Custom van purchased in Sep 2005, has been perfect

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great family vehicle!"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A high end custom van on a Chevy chassis and has been the perfect family and traveling vehicle, as well as pulling a 19 foot ski/fishing boat on a tandem trailer. The 7000 # trailering rating with the tow/haul auto tranny works well. Vehicle has been essentially trouble free, gas mileage runs around 17 on the highway, 15 around town. The 30 gallon gas tank makes for good travelling as you can go about 400 miles between fillups. The drivers side passenger door is well appreciated by most passengers and makes loading large items easy. The second row seats are removable in case you need to move large items like recliners, etc. This is the sixth custom van i have owned and Chevrolet and the customizer make a great van for traveling!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

good truck

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good truck"

Serves us well when we need it

By on Friday, November 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good basic working van"

Cons: "AC needs repair. rear seat belts dangle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good basic van for use by 4 people.10 people if you fix the rear AC. Has 3 benches. Heat fine in front and rear. AC needs fixing so those without windows in back get hot and stuffy. Excellent for moving,hauling items or stuff. Used originally for large family. Over years they all now have cars.Only drove it when we took the whole crew someplace so mileage is low. We keep it and use it like a truck when needed. Long trips- doesn't have built in gps or movies for kids -now standard accessories if you have small kids. radio, cd player fine. We're keeping it til it dies which I don't think will be anytime soon. It hasn't had issues at all."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good Vehicle

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,876

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great for transporting 15 passengers"

I have owned this car for 12 years, bst veh ever

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,612

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great van, confortable and reliable, not mayor maitenance problems at all."

Van used for bussiness

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good for bussiness, lots of power"

Cons: "v8 motor , gas consumer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Air conditioning, upholtery all ok Going out of bussiness."

what a great van

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love the 155" wheel base"

Cons: "the price of gas ?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"its a 2000 express 3500 with 170000 miles on it crosses the scales at 7200lbs with ladders and brake on the roof rack and still gets 12 mpg city 15.5 on the road 155" wheel base so 14' lumber or siding fits inside it loves new brakes every 20000 miles but it weights alot"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

goog great awsome

By on Monday, September 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very nice truck still works really well"

Great road vehicle, comfortable, roomy

By on Saturday, September 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great comfort, TV, separate music system from radio, automatic rear seat fold down for bed. Serviced vehicle regularly and engine is in great shape, does not require any oil between changes, front and rear A/C."

13 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Dependable workhorse!

By on Monday, September 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable work van with heavy suspension and comfortable ride"

Cons: "It's a cargo van so it's noisy and rides best with some cargo in it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this van new in 2003 for my business. Frequently loaded it up and pulled a trailer. It has 151,000 miles and still runs everyday without a problem. No major repairs and cost of ownership has been very low."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Superb, stable load/passenger/trailer hauler.

By on Monday, September 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Stable, consistent handling under all load conditions. Fantastic space. Flexible load hauling"

Cons: "Could use more power. Only two cup holders. 4th bench mounts are different."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Chevy and GM put their 15 passenger "stretch" in between the axles instead of behind the rear axle. There is little difference in handling whether loaded or empty. When passing big trucks at high speeds it does not try to change lanes like the other 6 vans I have owned. It is a bit underpowered when toting a load and pulling a trailer but it does it. It gave a consistent 15-16 mpg until ethanol dropped it to 13-14 mpg. Have had to replace starter motor and fuel pump in 150,000 miles. I hope it runs 500,000 miles. But if it doesn't I will replace it with another like it. Back seats (benches) are easy to remove and reinstall. Things I wish they would change... More flexibility with the back seats would be nice. It would be nice to be able to put the 4 passenger seat further forward at times. Installing the benches with more space between them or mounting two that face each other would be nice.The bench seats could use thicker cushions."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very dependable

By on Tuesday, August 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"no problems.. excellent conditions, very well taken care of"

Very Durable

By on Thursday, August 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable and durable."

Express 3500 V8 5.7 15 Passenger - Love it!

By on Tuesday, August 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "If you score one in great condition used- buy it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought mine used from a touring rock band for my touring rock band. We pack her to the ceiling with gear and she never has a hard time. We've toured all over the united states and she keeps on ticking. She's got over 200,000 miles on her, and she's still the best ride I've ever owned. Strong engine, super comfy. My only complaint is the interior is plastic and takes a beating. The passnger doors tend to knock into eachother and eventually cause a dent.I've toured in Dodge Rams, Ford Vans, and this Chevy has my heart. If you take good care of it, it will take good care of you!"

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Express 2500 Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals