Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2005 Chevrolet Express 1500 Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 218 Ratings for the 1996 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

great for our large family

By on Monday, March 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We love to travel in our big van. Kids absolutely love the room. TV helps too."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

awesome vehicle

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price and heavy duty"

Cons: "it's raw inside, so kinda loud"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i'm an artist and have used this rig for shows since 2001. FUlly loaded with heavy art it still drives like a champ."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Tough as nails

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability."

Cons: "MPG(although no bad 14 city 17 hwy)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought with 8000 miles, has been a workhorse, nothing has ever gone wrong with it...only regular maintenance required."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Nothing against the van some work on grill"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very good in ice and snow"

Not happy

By on Tuesday, January 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "AWD is great, drives nice"

Cons: "poor overall quality, cheaply built"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Since purchasing new in Sept. '04 this vehicle has been in for repairs 5 times, with only 59,000 miles. A defective starter, recall for seat belts, a rear air conditioning line leak and two rear heater line leaks. GM has a serious design flaw in the rear heater lines, they run right above the rear spring shackle which causes them to rub and wear through when the van is slightly loaded with weight. And the fact that they use aluminum to save weight to meet CAFE standards doesn't help, thank you Feds. Aluminum corrodes easily, especially when salt comes into contact with it, which is why they air conditioning line leaked. I've been a GM man my whole life (50 years) but I will never buy another new GM vehicle. We love the AWD in this van, it's great in the snow and it drives very nice but the quality control is severely lacking. Our van has cargo side doors on both sides and they require herculean effort to open and close the rear doors on each side also. Very poor craftsmanship there, they weren't real bad when new but they have gotten worse over time where now you have to brace yourself and put your shoulder into it to open and close them."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice ride

By on Sunday, January 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It's handy when moving, or Home depot."

Cons: "Its a high top so I have to hand wash it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this conversion van (Tv"

Many great family vacation memories

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, roomy"

Cons: "Gas mileage of 15 not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Yes it is large but our family of five have gone to over 30 states on vacations with it. The room, pulling power, comfort have made our trips memorable. The room with the seats removed is cavernous. Great for taking kids to college or gear for scout trips."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nothing Made Better Than This

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Don't usually like writing reviews, but the Chevy Express is the exception. We have owned about 15 Express vans from in the 1500 and 2500 series from 2006 to 2011, and there isn't a more durable cargo van this size anywhere. Occasionally we'll have the occasional water pump go out or wheel bearings need replacing. One of our express vans has gone 200,000 miles without major problems or without even changing the spark plugs. From the time they're new (to us) we only use synthetic fluid, and continue proper maintenance. Alignments have been our only real complaint. They weren't properly aligned from the factory and have difficulty keeping a couple of them aligned. Wonderful Vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good reliable versatile vehicle

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Runs great very versatile"

Cons: "A few annoying problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Runs great, plenty of power.Versatile for passengers, camping and hauling. AC has gone out twice. Plastic gas tank cracked had to be replaced. Cd player has broke twice. Gas gauge and dash lights don't work. Wish it had a grab bar for passengers."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Nice powertrain and handling

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handles great for full sized van, pulls well."

Cons: "road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Chevy

"This has been avery good van for our family. Very comfortable and nice riding and handling. Does have more road noise due to lack of dampening insulation which gives it a somewhat tinny sound when closing the doors. Great for pulling a boat with almost no downshifts on inclines. Well powered for pulling. I really hated to see them discontinue what I consider to be Chevy's best engine ever. I did have tranny replaced after about 170000, and this vehicle has always used coolant which I hear may be from Chevy going with a cheap plastic intake manifold. Engine always runs cool and never overheats (unless coolant gets too low). Seats are definitely better than the newer ones with more padding and better comfort. Engine is also better for pulling with more power at a lower RPM and less downshifting. Left side not having doors (like the newer ones) is also better for loading a wheelchair without dropping into the step well by the door. Older design is also better than the new ones that no longer has grease fittings on your steering components. I'd buy another one if they built them the same. Seems as thogh quality has dropped and price has gone WAY up."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Chevy

Powerful, Reliable Van Good for Work

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great towing power"

Cons: "high fuel prices- gets about 15 hwy miles/gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Chevy Van is the longest lasting vehicle I have ever owned. I am a contractor and boater. I needed a vehicle with powerful towing capabilities and the Chevy Express delivered. I have had no major mechanical problems, only general maintenance and normal wear and tear work. I have no complaints. I would purchase this vehicle again. If you're on the fence between two vehicles, you won't regret the investment in this model Chevy."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very comfortable to drive.

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, nice looking"

Cons: "Plastic door panels break easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this van because I'm a Scoutmaster. My van has front and rear a/c and heat that makes it all the more comfortable. I like the way it drives and rides on the highway. It's not too bad around town, but it can be a challenge to park a vehicle this big. It averages 14 mpg. The more passengers, the more economical it is to operate. I tow a tandem axil enclosed trailer quite often and I'm impressed with how well it handles on the highway, very stable. If you have a lot of passengers to haul, it's the way to go."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Confortable

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"good for Handyman"

best vehicle ever!

By on Saturday, December 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything!"

Cons: "age"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This van is so reliable! Even with a few big things wrong with it a couple times it still performed at the best possible performance.Comfort overall is amazing tv,dvd,cd,radio,ac,and even a table that would stand in the floor! The towing package is the best;hauling horses at times it pulled like a real truck! And still didn't sacrifice comfort,power,or reliability. Amazing vehicle! This particular van has a high topper that holds all kinds of extras as well as fiberglass running boards that serve as kind of a wide body kit best van ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it!!!!

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best family car have had a ton of great memories!!! So commfy and safe just not so good on gas but oh well!!!! We love it and the kiddos love it tooo."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this van!

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, lots of power, lots of room"

Cons: "only 9.5/12 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this new and have enjoyed hauling our 5 kids and their friends around in it. We love the spaciousness, the comfort, the rear passenger doors! Perfect for camping and long road trips, not so perfect for city driving, small parking lots, and parking garages."

average

By on Friday, December 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,750

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "only two sets"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"average"

I got lucky...

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "ample room for passengers, good for long trips"

Cons: "insufficient leg room for driver, under powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle was purchased new in Dec. 2003 and it has seen mostly highway miles, but it has also pulled a few trailers on those highways. During the course of owning this vehicle there have been minor problems or issues that have arisen. Mainly the cracking and breaking of some of the plastic exterior parts. This was not due to being struck by or by striking any thing. Just one cold day (-15º Michigan UP)I went outside and noticed a small piece of rear molding missing. Biggest problem is parts replacement. Replace a driver side sun visor $140 (dealer only), front and rear brake and rotor replacement $900 ($100 cheaper than dealer). Doing so myself would have saved $200, but time was a BIG factor. Only other negatives were ample power, but actually underpowered and cramped driver leg room. Overall good low problem vehicle, but when it has a problem it can be pricey!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Custom van purchased in Sep 2005, has been perfect

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great family vehicle!"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A high end custom van on a Chevy chassis and has been the perfect family and traveling vehicle, as well as pulling a 19 foot ski/fishing boat on a tandem trailer. The 7000 # trailering rating with the tow/haul auto tranny works well. Vehicle has been essentially trouble free, gas mileage runs around 17 on the highway, 15 around town. The 30 gallon gas tank makes for good travelling as you can go about 400 miles between fillups. The drivers side passenger door is well appreciated by most passengers and makes loading large items easy. The second row seats are removable in case you need to move large items like recliners, etc. This is the sixth custom van i have owned and Chevrolet and the customizer make a great van for traveling!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

good truck

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good truck"

Serves us well when we need it

By on Friday, November 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good basic working van"

Cons: "AC needs repair. rear seat belts dangle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good basic van for use by 4 people.10 people if you fix the rear AC. Has 3 benches. Heat fine in front and rear. AC needs fixing so those without windows in back get hot and stuffy. Excellent for moving,hauling items or stuff. Used originally for large family. Over years they all now have cars.Only drove it when we took the whole crew someplace so mileage is low. We keep it and use it like a truck when needed. Long trips- doesn't have built in gps or movies for kids -now standard accessories if you have small kids. radio, cd player fine. We're keeping it til it dies which I don't think will be anytime soon. It hasn't had issues at all."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good Vehicle

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,876

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great for transporting 15 passengers"

I have owned this car for 12 years, bst veh ever

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,612

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great van, confortable and reliable, not mayor maitenance problems at all."

Van used for bussiness

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good for bussiness, lots of power"

Cons: "v8 motor , gas consumer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Air conditioning, upholtery all ok Going out of bussiness."

what a great van

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love the 155" wheel base"

Cons: "the price of gas ?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"its a 2000 express 3500 with 170000 miles on it crosses the scales at 7200lbs with ladders and brake on the roof rack and still gets 12 mpg city 15.5 on the road 155" wheel base so 14' lumber or siding fits inside it loves new brakes every 20000 miles but it weights alot"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Express 1500 Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals