Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2002 Chevrolet Express 1500 Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 222 Ratings for the 1996 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

enjoyed it very much.

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "loved driving it.i could see the road alot better."

Cons: "hard to get into now."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"the only reason we are getting rid of it is because we are getting to the age that it is harder to get into it and we now need something smaller."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best truck I have used so far. For the money.

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,392

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It drives great plenty of room good on gas."

Cons: "sometimes hard to park."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this truck for 2 years now and very happy with it. I do not drive it much anymore and think it's time to size down a little. That's the only reason I think of selling ."

17 people out of 33 found this review helpful

Best vehicle you could own

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Great style"

Cons: "Hard on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle. It is very reliable, even in winter (thanks to AWD). Great value."

56 people out of 104 found this review helpful

I drive every day great van with all the toys

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 251,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ready to work"

Cons: "Has a little dent in side doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the van two years ago , from the first owner. the van had 183000, miles at that time. I am a fussy buyer, I needed full power and a Left hand cargo Door. I am no longer in need of carrying product on the truck. The job change has me shipping and my sales , the truck will be a great value for the right buyer. I wish a had a friend who need a great van then I would sell it to them. Happy owner"

34 people out of 74 found this review helpful

Great VAN!!

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT RIDE, VERY SOLID AND SAFE, GREAT FAMILY VAN"

Cons: "BLINDS ON WINDOWS TOO DELICATE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"IF I HAD IT TO DO OVER AGAIN, I WOULD GET THE SAME EXACT VAN! EVEN THOUGH IT WAS NOT THE BEST IN GAS, AND THE FUEL PRICES FOR THE LAST SEVERAL YEARS HAVE HURT, IT WAS STILL WORTH FILLING UP THIS VERY RELIABLE VEHICLE."

36 people out of 66 found this review helpful

We love our van!

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versatile, reliable, tough."

Cons: "Parking takes some creativity sometimes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle for a large family! We love the versatility in the seating (can move the four bench up etc.) and the towing capacity! Highly recommend. Very reliable!"

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Of all the full size vans this is the best ever.

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A strong, well built truck, totally love it."

Cons: "The paint on the radio buttons does wear off."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overall, this is the best van ever. I have owned and driven nothing but full sized vans starting with a 1974 Dodge Tradesman B100 followed by a 1978 ChevyVan 20; a 1981 Ford Econoline; a 1987 Dodge B250; a 1999 Chevy Express 2500 and now my current 2008 Chevy Express 2500. The '74 Dodge will always be my favorite van! Of all the remaining only the 2008 Chevy Express comes close. I love this van. It almost handles as good as a sports car...gets a little sloppy and unstable at speeds above 90 MPH! When loaded, also takes a little bit longer to stop. I always drive hard and fast. This van has had no major repairs needed - only routine maintenance. I would recommend this year and model to anyone interested in a full sized van. Lightly loaded, long distance mileage around 16-17 MPG, hot-rodding in stop-n-go traffic gets 11-13 MPG."

16 people out of 25 found this review helpful

good work van

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"not a bad van ,i changed tie rods , throttle body and starter at 200.000 , but no other problems . no rpm gauge and that's not a good idea when we talk a work car . the interior/comfort is the worst part at this car.seats are uncomfortable , window handle is hurting your knee ,driver seat to close to the cars body , makes you feel squashed . i can go on and on . i think none of the big companies ( gmc, ford ) seems to think workers are drivers also when it comes to interior . they think big engines , more space , more hp but don't care about the driver . i spend at least 3 hours driving every day and i can use a little bit of comfort ."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Hate to part with but I am sick

By on Tuesday, January 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a must see vehicle,very clean and well kept.Has most available features,Power door locks,windows,mirrows,cruise control,AM FM CD great wheels,would replace tires but raise asking price if I would."

12 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Good van with great engine ie.. 6.0 V8.

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A fun van with a powerful engine. Handles well !"

Cons: "not put together to well. Paint is terrible."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought this van 2 years ago with the purpose of using it as a carpet cleaning van. Did this for short period and became second vehicle for family. The 6.0 litre V8 is amazing. Very powerful and smooth running. Fuel milage is not too good. 12 miles per gal. in city and maybe 16 mpg on highway. Paint is coming off several areas. Overal quality of vehicle not too good. Drivetrain is great. 6.0 litre engine is phenominal. Fast and has a ton of torque. Much nicer than Fords engines. Also much better than Chevy's 5.0 V8 as well. I wouldn't want it with the 305 V8 as it is woefully underpowered. It handles somewhat better than similar equipped Ford E150s. Likely newer models have improved in overall quality. I have seen newer Chevy vans and their paint stays on. That is a glairing fault on the 2003 model Chevy Vans."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Very cheap junk

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,900

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "None"

Cons: "Everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"2006 express is the cheapest vehicle I have ever seen. Has electrical draw and cannot be relied upon to start. Body parts super cheap junk. Has 8900 mi. paint is now flaking off top of door [LARGE FLAKES]. Gold started flaking off emblems at 1500 mi. Honestly worst buy I ever made"

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great van, good MPG, great road vehicle

By on Monday, November 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, roomy, great road vehicle, good MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the AWD version and it's great in ice and snow. Get anywhere from 17-21 MPG on the road with the 300 HP 5.3 liter engine. Comfortable on a long trip, easy to drive and overall a good very reliable road vehicle."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

No compaints.

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "I know it's not stylist, but very practiable."

Cons: "Not many cup holders, only two on console."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my fifth Chevy van. The curent model,with 120K miles is a 3500 w/a 6.0l gas engine. We use it for long distance vacations,towing,and moving any thing we need to. A lot of room with the seats out.Never had a problem. I get 18 mpg driving at 65mph. Great for what we use it for."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable, comfortable, great highway driving

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Powerful engine, great highway driving stability, excellent braking. Road noise is acceptable. Parking in a p/lot needs a wide swing. Overall I definitely will buy another Chevy Express when I change. I owned a Ford 15 pax van prior years (6) and would not buy another one."

Did The Job Very Well

By on Friday, July 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great to Drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Company Vehicle used for building a multi-million dollar business. Reliable and hard working but with growth we need something bigger"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this van! It does everything I want!

By on Monday, July 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versatile, easy to drive, comfortable"

Cons: "low fuel efficiency but fits 15 people!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned two of these (2003) and (2008). My current 08 has 168000 miles and the only mechanical issue was at 165000 miles with a water pump. Mileage is low at 13.5 mpg but that was expected. We take this vehicle on family vacations every summer and put on about 30,000 miles per year. Great vehicle!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Really disappointed

By on Sunday, April 07, 2013

I don't own this car

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "None"

Cons: "Unsafe and jerky."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I drive this as a company work truck. As a work truck it's useable, but there is an issue with the accell pedal. You have to push it for over 2" before you get any throttle response. The local dealer tried a new pedal assembly, but it didn't solve anything. Tried to get the district rep involved, but all he said was to drive one that was on the lot and I'd see all of them do the same. I feel this is an accident waiting to happen. At stop signs, you never know when it's going to start to move, and it's usually with a jerk. I would not buy any GM product due to the fact I've been told they use the same system in all the new vehicles. It's unsafe."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Transmission problems - Chevrolet Express 2500

By on Thursday, March 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Roomy"

Cons: "Not reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Kept up on oil changes and transmission service, at 140,000 we are having to install the third transmission. Not a quality vehicle and GM isn't standing behind their product. Lemons happen but take care of it responsibly. After stringing us along for over a week GM can't assist us at all. Very disappointed."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great Van Ran It Up To 295k Almost Made IT To 300k

By on Tuesday, February 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 295,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A lot of Pep Nice Seats"

Cons: "Tough to Maneover in Tight Places stay off sand."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned this 2500 Series Van since 2004 bought it new.Breakdown occurred over 200k wheel Bearings wore out.AC Compresser went out around 250K.Alternator lasted over 150 k.At around 265K started having oil and anti freeze leaks.At 290 K Oil Pressure readings started to register below normal.So i have to depart with old reliable and Yes i will buy another Chevy Express.Only negative thing to say is kinda hard to turn around in tight parking lots and wish the cargo area was higher.Mpg could be better.Highly Recommend"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

who could ask for more

By on Wednesday, November 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,040

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "effortless power"

Cons: "rear whines high mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"as a service tech we need our trucks to work for us without compromise this van has delivered all that i could hope for in a vehical...2001 2500 express rules!"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

have it for the church a grate buy

By on Sunday, July 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 286,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "way way to many to list"

Cons: "only 3 cup holders mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bolt it for the church and thay love it 13 years and still going strong"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

No better van than a HEAVY DUTY

By on Monday, May 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "HEAVY DUTY!"

Cons: "Me I picked the 4.8 instead of the 6.0, poor mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

excellent truck.

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellant truck."

Cons: "last owner may have hauled some rock in it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Vehicle is very comfortable. Vehicle is also very clean."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great van

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have a v8 5.7 runs great ac is real cold and its runs like i was flying on the highway you go 80 mph and you dont feel it and the gas mil on it is like a v6 van i fill it up with $125.00 with gas at $4.00 a gal it has 31gal on it .. it will last me for 4to5 weeks depnes on how much you drive im a mobile car wash so im always out there hople this helps"

32 people out of 41 found this review helpful

good reliable vehicle

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy acess to cargo area"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"most dependable vehicle i had"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Express 1500 Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals