Advertisement

To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

2015 Chevrolet Equinox Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $24,150 - $24,683.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $25,395

Fair Purchase Price $24,417
Fair Market Range ($24,150 - $24,683)

Invoice $24,169
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.2 of 10

10/7.2

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 454 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Reliable vehicle, rear seat has good leg room

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have really enjoyed owning this vehicle. Adjustable rear sear is wonderful and provides more leg room than my Suburban! 6 cylinder engine was the right choice. Easy in and out for my wife who uses a walker."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Much better then I thought it would be

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice to drive"

Cons: "Rear view"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"On our long trips it was much more comfortable then expected. Gas mileage was also a nice surprise for a six cylinder. Not very good view when backing up and a very wide turning radius."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this 2012 Equinox.

By on Sunday, July 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A joy to drive! Feel very safe in it."

Cons: "Can't think of a thing!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For many years I have purchased new cars every 18 months. This 2012 Equinox has exceeded my expectations. I love the optional hatch release and bought the cloth with heated seats because I have a large dog who rides with me often. Mine is the Graystone, and it looks really sharp. I would highly recommend this vehicle. I change the oil and rotate tires when my vehicle tells me it is time to, and haven't had one problem with it. The mechanic at my dealership asked if I was interested in selling it as he is looking for one for his wife. I have NO intentions of letting this crossover go!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very nice vehicle that has been reliable.

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives smoothly; solid feel."

Cons: "Blind spots and "iffy" gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Like all aspects of vehicle with exception of some "blind spots" & gas mileage is disappointing."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GM has poor customer service

By on Thursday, April 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This is a nice little family car but dosent get real world milage anywhere close to what is advertised... But my real problem is how GM is handling the well know engine problem the equinox has been haveing, just do a search on equinox engine problems to see what I'm talking about, I wish I would have done that before buying. My dealer was great at trying to help me get a new engine but GM didnt budge till the engine failed completly. The dealer had documented oil consumption and loud abnormal engine noise too many times to count and GM kept saying thats normal for a 4 cylinder. I think they were hoping the warranty would run out before the engine did... It seems they could care less about the customer after the car is sold."

56 people out of 58 found this review helpful

Fair vechicle for the money

By on Thursday, February 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "ok valve for the money -"

Cons: "poor ride - poor gas milage. FWD poor on snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Looks are good, seat comfort is fine, no blind spots - but poor ride, gas mileage not even close to sticker - advertised 31 MPG, on a good day I get 24."

24 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Worst vehicle we have owned

By on Sunday, December 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "comfortable, quiet, well appointed"

Cons: "no air in rear, Quality, price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"First problem was the rear main seal on engine leaking. Second was the transmission pump seal. Third was the timing chain and gears replaced. Fourth was the electronics that control the radio, heater, nav, and everything else went crazy. After these have been fixed no problems in the last 3000 miles. Timing set is getting noisy again. What a piece of Chevrolet junk!!!!!!!!"

22 people out of 23 found this review helpful

not good

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "comfort, saftey"

Cons: "bad quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"we bought this car brand new, two months later it had a recall on seat belts. then within the first year of owning this car, it has been in the shop three times for the serpentine belt, air conditioning fan and water pump. now its back in the shop because the air/heat stopped working and it is cutting off when going from reverse to drive. it has been slipping gears while driving since we bought it and chevy dealer cannot find the reason. over all I would NOT recommend this vehicle!"

36 people out of 38 found this review helpful

Lots of problems already

By on Friday, March 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Its a nice suv but has lots of rattles and been to the dealer to many times to remember for electrical issues that they cant seem to fix, the one that happens the most is the dash go's completly dead and I end up with no heater, radio, back up camera, ect... the gas milage is nothing to brag about either, 22 on long hyway trips and 16 in town."

21 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Comfortable but bad fuel effiency

By on Sunday, March 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "comfortable, roomy, radio sounds good."

Cons: "Fuel economy, blind spots, rough ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased brand new with 13 miles on it. I currently have 6500 miles and have gone through 25 tanks of gas.It has very bad gas mileage and does not stand up to the sticker averages of 22city/32 HWY/ 26 average. Not once in the last 7 months have i hit 22 mpg. The car is comfortable, cleans up well, very stylish but rides rough with Michelin tires. Alot of blind spots but for a 4 cyclinder i should never get anyless than 22mpg..."

21 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Needs more umph

By on Wednesday, February 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "cargo room"

Cons: "MPG, not enough power, at the repair shop alot."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I take turns car pooling with co workers and with 4 adults and a few tools weighing around 150 lbs in the back the engine is really strained and underpowered and rarely gets over 22 hyway mpg. If I travel alone with nothing in the back I get 24-25 driving 65... I am very disapointed since I bought this brand with the 4cylinder becouse of the stated mpg, the v6 was alot more upfront cost and the dealer said the mpg was only in the low 20's hyway mpg with the v6 and the 4 was the better engine. It has spent alot of time at the dealer for electrical issues and left me and my co workers sitting along side the road twice. My 3 co workers that I pool with all have different brands and similar sized crossover's as mine and all perform much better and get the same mpg loaded with 4 adults and tools as mine gets with just me in it. I will be getting a different crossover very soon."

20 people out of 21 found this review helpful

GM Bought it back w/1k offset!

By on Sunday, March 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun Tech, Comfy ride, OnStar"

Cons: "Fuel Economy, Engine & misc electrical Problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Got the 2LT w/all the bells & whistles including the Navi, the car has been in the shop 8 times for warranty repairs. Usually it's the Navi that keeps trying to send me to Canada or it's just frozen which requires me to pull over, turn off the car & open the door to reset the system... Fun on a highway lol. Other times it's been the power liftgate intermittently working, the rear window making this horrible popping noise, the engine making some weird start up growl or the AC making the car sound like it's gonna explode. So yea, not impressed after turning in a honda CRV for this nightmare 32K later & it's going back to GM this week. I've learned a lot about cars in the last few year, I went American to help the economy & because the car had more options than the toyota & honda but this time around I'll stick with the long standing reliability and resale value of the Rav4 or the CRV even if I have to give up onstar or a power liftgate :("

18 people out of 19 found this review helpful

just ok, but tired of problems

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good price and styling, awd great in snow"

Cons: "not reliable and sturdy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"i bought this car brand new in feb. 2011. it started off nice, a little concerned about mpg. i usually always average 24mpg so not too bad. well now one year later i am so scared that vehicle is not going to last 5 years. it rattles bad all over, it has been in the shop 3 or 4 times, once because the engine light came on, the cause, engine misfiring! the transmission slips then slams into gear. i have told the dealer about this and their reply is "ya that six speed trans can make it feel a little funny". seriously! i'm 36 and have driven all types if vehicles, i'm pretty sure i can tell that this transmission is not right. steering wheel was sticking so they put in a new rack. i guess they thought it ok to give it back with the steering wheel cocked to the left. hmm! now steering is clicking. not too happy at this point. i love the looks and dont want to have to give it up but enough already. fix the problems GM. also on start up the engine sounds as though its going to fall out with all the clanking. but in 2 seconds sound is gone. idk."

33 people out of 35 found this review helpful

I got a lemon

By on Friday, July 30, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I think I got the lemon. I purchased a 2010 LTZ in December 2009. As of now (July 2010) it has been back to the dealer repair shop 5 times. My AUX ipod port never works and my power steering has gone out. Overall, I do like the car. If I hadn't visited the repair shop 5 times in the past 7 months I probably would have rated it 5 stars all the way. But now I'm just really irritated with it and wish I'd never gotten it."

30 people out of 32 found this review helpful

Disappointing 2nd purchase

By on Wednesday, September 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,200

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Very attractive exterior and interior"

Cons: "Very noisy; bad gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Had a 2010 4cl Equinox. Liked it very much (except for the squeaking noise, which was eventually fixed with a new part). Recently bought a 2012 6cl Equinox. Noisy and poor gas mileage. Makes low, loud rumbling noise when it starts up, when it's idling, when it's being driven below 55 MPH. Thought it was the muffler. Had it to dealer; said they couldn't hear anything, but they rotated the tires anyway. Sometimes the noise gives me a headache. Think now that it's just road noise, which means vehicle is not well designed if the sound of your tires invades the car's interior! And don't get me started on the jet engine noise if you happen to roll down the back window. Chevy said it's the car's design. BAD DESIGN!"

17 people out of 18 found this review helpful

mileage is a joke

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "olvr the car -not milrage right size, easy to"

Cons: "no sun roof"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I only get 23 miles per gal on highway. HOw do they get by advertising 32"

17 people out of 18 found this review helpful

I like the car but am getting terrible gas mileage

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "quiet, comfortable"

Cons: "no back window spray, poor mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I liked other cars better that were less expensive but chose the Equinox because they promised 28 - 32 mpg. I bought a 4cl. to get even better gas mpg but only get 22.3!! I am very disappointed."

17 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Hate it ! MPG only 19

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Haven't found any"

Cons: "Poor air circulation, low MPG, cheap upgrades"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"There are so many problems I have found with the design of this car. I will never buy a first year model again nor will Chevy get my business again. They have been totally uncooperative or caring. There is very poor air circulation. Windows fog up badly. I've gotten frost on the inside. Poor underdoor panel. Mud can go up under door jam so when you open the door the mud is inside the car. I've not gotten over 19 mpg. I realize it is a 6 cylinder but it was supposed to be rated at 23. My daughters 2010 6 cyl Chevy Traverse gets much better mileage. I have the navigation system which never seems to work right. If you are looking for something it will give you the closest one in some other State. It doesn't work right unless you want to pay a monthly charge for XM radio and even that did not interface correctly for Traffic problems. Definitely not worth the money. The blue tooth drops calls and unless you are yelling everyone reports they can't hear you. Need I go on?????"

17 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Disappointment

By on Friday, November 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,800

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I purchased this smaller, 4 cylinder SUV based on the gas mileage. CHEVROLET'S CLAIMS OF 32 MPG ON THE HIGHWAY ARE BOGUS! I've got 8800 miles on my Equinox and it averages 21 mpg. Most of my travel is highway miles. It is also a little sluggish at times. This will probably be the last Chevy that I buy."

16 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Good Vehicle, but with Pitfalls

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value when bought, but the value drops fast!"

Cons: "MPG not accurate, rear door not sealed well."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My Equinox is a great vehicle driving wise, and the features are nice. Leg room is great too! The pitfall's are: MPG is not accurate! It's listed at 22 city and 32 highway. The best highway mileage I've gotten is 28 mpg, without the AC on, and on pretty level freeway travel. The city mileage is closer to accurate, unless using the AC, same with highway which is to be expected. Another problem, the rear end door seals DO NOT keep dust out worth a darn! Dust and dirt accumulate bigtime along the areas where the weather-stripping is. The ride is a bit rougher than I expected but the handling is excellent. Blind spots are a problem too."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

equinox is awesome the value stinks looses val

By on Sunday, December 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,385

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very awesome to drive"

Cons: "doesnt retain its value ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very nice driving also very comfortable. i paid 25000 a year ago now its valued at 15000. imports retain more value longer"

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Slow acceleration-afraid to pull out into traffic

By on Saturday, February 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "ECO mode should not be used in city -"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"ECO option for 32mpg is meant for hwy only. Slow acceleration in ECO mode. Service dept said 'refer to handbook'. Handbook states response time may be affected. Had hoped to hand this vehicle down to teen, but no way would I put a learning driver in this vehicle. Wonder if all ECO friendly cross-overs have this problem."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

WORST purchase we have ever made!!!!

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "I used to like the look of the car and interior."

Cons: "low mpg,multiple problems within short life of car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We bought the Equinox in April 2011 (we bought a 2011) and since then it has been in the shop 6 times....it is in the shop for the 6th time right now going on 80 days to date. In June a sensor went bad causing the car to stall on me while driving, it was in the shop for 2 weeks. July the air conditioner started blowing out hot air and the odometer read 5000 miles and we were only getting 21 mpg hwy miles. In August the car started to cut out on me while driving and was in the shop for over 1 month while they tried to fix the transmission....needless to say they had to replace the transmission. In September there was a recall that required a part to be fixed. About 1 month ago we thought we were having symptoms of carbon monoxide poisoning and we were.... there was a leak in a gasket on the catalytic converter and we had been exposed to exhaust fumes for who knows how long! The car was in the shop for 2 weeks this time and we got it back only to find that the leak was not fixed completely. The car has been in the shop again for 3 days so far this time....GM will not help me replace the car for something different.....This is the worst purchase we have ever made!!! Buyer Beware - I wish someone would have warned me before we spent $25,000 on this awful car."

26 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Not worth the cost

By on Friday, March 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price,space,AWD"

Cons: "oil burner, tire fill up hassle, low mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I have to say I was not satified with this car after having it a few months. It does not get the gas mileage as expected. It burns through oil a lot for being a newer car. I have to constantly check the oil level every 1000 miles! And now having issues with the wheel barrings needing replaced this soon. Oh, not to mention the hassle to just fill the tires with air and the process of steps to do that in order to have the computer sensor be detected correctly. The good things are that the comfort and space inside is nice. The AWD does handle nicely."

25 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Love my equinox

By on Thursday, November 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"comfortable, nice extras and a good value for the price,reliable, roomy, mileage ranges between 24-25 city 28-30 highway, knobs and buttons are convenient and user friendly, seats adjust nicely for all heights"

14 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.