Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Chevrolet Equinox Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $23,875 - $24,348.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $25,315

Fair Purchase Price $24,112
Fair Market Range ($23,875 - $24,348)

Invoice $24,093
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 368 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

Love it!

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, gas mileage, price & handling!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I need a vehicle that is reliable with good gas mileage but is roomy enough to carry real estate signs & people plus be able to safely traverse dirt roads. My 2013 Equinox does it, does it well and looks good doing it! It also handles well in heavy city traffic and mountain driving...I have driven it in both places and it handles like a dream. If you're looking for a vehicle that can do it all, this is the one, plus it's affordable!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

no rear air and heat back needs to wider

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"to be able to haul 4 sets of golf clubs"

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Not what dealer told me

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Poor gas mileage

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comforts, interior."

Cons: "GAS MILEAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Overall I was pleased with the comfort and quality of the Equinox. It drove and handled quite well. However, the mpg was "grossly" overrated, and the miles between fill ups was a joke. It also shifted awkwardly, lunging forward at time."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Glad I bought this car

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage. Plenty of room."

Cons: "More sound proofing, Better seat comfort."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was the first model year after it's nip and tuck. I was impressed with my 30 mpg on 2 trips to North Carolina from Delaware. The styling of the exterior and room in the cabin and way back is what originally sold me on this vehicle. The fit and finish on this vehicle, no problem. The sound system is as promised. Mechanically, a bit noisy but a great engine and trans. This car was the best of breed in that model year in a year of not so much to choose from. What needs improvement: This is a quiet car,but they should have used acoustic glass to cut out some of the road noise as well as more sound proofing. The door stop needs to be improved so the doors don't swing back at you in a wind or just when you open the door too hard. They really needed to step up their game on seat comfort. They were a tad behind other brands on creature comforts. Bottom line. A little overpriced, but what GM isn't. I am happy I bought this car. In fact, I may give it to my daughter and go buy my wife a new 2015. On balance, its a really good car that fit my needs. That is what really counts."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Awful gas mileage and reliability

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,200

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable and drives nicely"

Cons: "horrible mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We have a 2014 Chevy Equinox and are not happy. It has weird electronic glitches, at only 3000 miles, the battery has randomly died three times, and the fuel efficiency is not as advertised- we actually are getting more like 15 city/ 19 highway, and it's not us because our other car we get better than advertised mpg. The car has already been into the shop twice in 6 months. So much for getting a brand new car.... It is beautiful, spacious and comfortable. Just not reliable!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great gas mileage 28 town 32 road

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "rides good for its size"

Cons: "back up view screen is a good feature"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good car, wife love it. not to small not to big!!!"

Excellent car. Only needed minor repairs.

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, nice design in/out"

Cons: "Outside temp. isn't accurate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been an excellent car. Ordered it from the factory exactly as I wanted it. Has only been in the shop a couple of times for minor repairs in the 4 years I've had it. MPG isn't quite what is advertised, but good, none-the-less."

Good vehicle

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "See above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I just totaled my Equinox. Had to have the top cut off to get me out, I've been told the SUV protection, was one reason I wasn't hurt badly. My son tells me this is the vehicle, I should buy when I replace."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice car, good value

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quiet, rides nice"

Cons: "Minor blind spots, interior plastic not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been a really good vehicle for me. Looks good, reliable, comfortable, lots of room, decent gas mileage. I get 24-25 mpg in the city and 29-30 on the highway. You'll never get the 32 mpg unless you set the cruise for 65 mph. I kind of laughed when I read some other reviews though. People complaining about the acceleration (it's a 3700lb SUV with a 4 cylinder engine, what did you expect) and gas mileage (again, 3700lb SUV). I've noticed that eco mode only changes the shift points (will shift into OD at 40 mph in eco, 45 mph normally) but that's only if you are accelerating slowly. Step on it and the shift points are basically the same. Overall I'm very pleased with my Equinox."

12 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Excellent versatility, and great gas mileage.

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, lots of room for people and stuf"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Buying the car was a hassle, but that's off-topic. The Equinox itself has been a great car, except for one major flaw. There are several bulletins out for a knocking sound in the engine and random swings in rpm/stalling. I experienced all of this. Luckily, the powertrain warranty is 100,000 miles. Once I found a good reputable dealer, they fixed everything under warranty and now she feels brand new! Overall, the capacity is great, driving is fun, and there's almost too much leg room. Does well in the snow too. The stabilitrack can be tricky, but I know it's probably saved my life."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great Crossover

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,050

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Front view of Equinox

"This is a great crossover. It handles great and has enough cargo room for a lot of groceries. It came with the child car seat latch system in place to help keep the car seat secure. I love my crossover."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Front view of Equinox

had better

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"gas mileage statement is not true"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Chevey is best!!!

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,300

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Spouse walked away from a very serious collision."

Cons: "Too many warranty repairs for first 2-3 years....."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Spouse walked away from very serious front drivers side collision with only minor muscle strains and airbag abraisions. Other car was a 4 door Honda and it was totaled. Equinox is probably totalled too but it didn't look nearly as bad. Thanks Chevy, while we had a lot of problems with this vehicle originally(all fixed under warranty repair) I still trust the Chevy Frames and bodys to protect my family."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

For purchase price, not much bang for the buck.

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Road noise / Comfortability

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Decent mileage @ around 32MPG"

Cons: "Definitely not a touring vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"For the price of this vehicle, I wish I had bought a Buick, the driver is unable to carry on a conversation using Bluetooth,there is so much cabin noise inside the parties are unable to hear the conversation without turning the volume up. Long trips are also uncomfortable due to the seat dynamics."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Not My Blazer - but o.k. as a substitute.

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas Mileage, Roominess"

Cons: "Turning radius, Seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"After driving Chevy Blazer's for a few decades, I was hoping the Equinox would be a better substitute. I love the Equinox's improved gas mileage but not the handling. The turning radius is slightly increased and my body fatigues sooner on long drives. Granted I'm older now but I could get in my Blazer and drive for 5 hours and get out feeling fresh. The seats are like buckets that you have to climb out of and I forsee having to replace the seat due to the extra wear. The adjustments for the driver's seat are a little bit funky, moving on an axis as well as forward/back, up/down. The Equinox is a bit more roomy in the front and back seats and my passengers love that. This is an excellent car pool vehicle due to the roominess and gas mileage. I can beat the Eco mode for gas mileage!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

love it!

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good in-between size. nice looking."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Miss having a truck but I love this car and the groceries don't get wet. Lots of leg room in the back. Plenty of room to haul feed and such."

11 people out of 23 found this review helpful

i'm giving this vehicle a total of (6) six

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort, quiet, hand free, USB, great sound system"

Cons: "no torque, engine a failure."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"this is the most unsatisfying vehicle I've ever driven; the most annoying thing is when i'm trying to change lane or passing another vehicle,if my speed is at 55 mph, try to speed up to reach 65, it seats there and watch the speedometer goes down to 47 mph, while the engine is roar. I have to let it go; and try speeding up again, by then cars behind me start honking. I like the Style, comfort,and the sound system. driving on highway is smooth as long as I don't have to change lane. driving in the city, that's a whole different story; it's all depend how many street lights/ stops i'll have to go through, it may not move forward if there's let's say: "7 or 9'" stops within a 20 minutes drive.Moving forward after a stop; it's like lifting your foot too quick on the clutch of a standard stick shift. only on the Equinox the Engine still running, it's not stalled, but it's not moving forward either, i'll have to try again. This is a new 2014, the dealer drove it to my house total Mileage at the time 57 miles, now it has not reach 8,000 yet I drive a new car every 5 Years, I'm very disappointed with this 2014 Equinox. Sorry GM; this is really SAD,"

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best choice I could have made for my needs

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,204

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "price is relative to needs, ease and comfort"

Cons: "not found any for me, but family says no guts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I went to the dealer and told him I did not care what he showed me as long as it was easy to enter and exit. I "tried on" many different models, but when I tried this Equinox it was a PERFECT fit. Not too high....not too low, which is very important for us boomers"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very impressed!

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Size, heated cloth seats, mileage, legroom in back"

Cons: "Brakes stop well but shudder sometimes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was more than surprised at how nice this suv is, and how nicely equipped it is with the 2LT package, plus a sunroof. I'd never driven one before and I was impressed with the passing power of the 4 cylinder. I wouldn't need the 6 and prefer the better gas mileage. It's really a looker in white, and the black interior with the red stitching is very sporty and the seats are VERY comfortable. The heated seats heat up almost instantly, and the Pioneer stereo rocks. Chevy hit a home run with this one, you see them everywhere! We're very happy with our purchase!"

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Almost 30,000 trouble-free miles

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has been a great car. Overall mpg is 22.5 with about 27 on the expressway. The Michigan winter was no problem for the Equinox."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love my Equinox except for 2 details...

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value, drives smooth, reliable"

Cons: "no rear seat air vents and auxiliary location"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought my Equinox new in 2011. First time to buy a new car. I have been very pleased with my car over the last 3 years. It just recently hit the 100k mileage mark and is still running great. My only complaint about the design of the car is that there are no back seat air vents. When ever we have traveled during the hot months, the back seat riders roast while the front seat riders freeze. If the newer models install the back seat air vents then I would buy another one in a heart beat but until that happens, I would not buy another. My 2nd complaint it the location of the auxiliary plug. It is located INSIDE the storage unit between the front seats at the very bottom. It is not a convenient location at all if you plan to use it frequently. Other than those 2 items, I have been very pleased with it, how it drives and the mileage I get."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

This is the second Equinox I have owned

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride, Handling, acceleration and looks"

Cons: "It would be nice if it made the window sticker MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love how it rides. Very quiet, smooth down the road. It has great acceleration. The seats are very comfortable. I like the styling and looks. The sliding rear seat is convenient when hauling cargo. The only issue I have had is the backup camera is having to be replaced. This is a nice feature. I enjoy driving my 2011 Equinox."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Value!

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price. Well equipped. Easy to drive."

Cons: "Needs bigger vents."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Versatile. Not too big. Great on gas - I average 25mpg+, measured at fillup; I've seen better than 35mpg on straight highway runs (I4, FWD, 65mph or less). Zero defects/issues. Tough to see out the back - get the model with backup camera. Very quiet inside. Huge legroom all around. Decent base stereo. Useful Bluetooth and IPod connectivity."

16 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever owned. Lost my job, must sell

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks very classey with black metalic/chrome"

Cons: "I love everything about my car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I do not want to sell my car...but I must. I love everything about it, especially the style and look. It is black metallic with all the extra chrome. The seats are black with brown. My favorite. I never have had any problems with it at all. It drives wonderful and is the most comfortable car I ever have had. I will miss it very much."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Love this car!!!

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own a 2013 Equinox LE. I love this car!I wanted to downsize from my full size "basic" suv I had for 10 years because my kids were growing older and was sick of the stress of driving such a huge "bus" like full size suv. This car gave me everything I was looking for....leather, touch screen dash, all the new tech options, rear view camera,great gas mileage.... and stil roomy.... All for $20,000!! Have owned it for a year now and have had no problems what so ever!I would highly recommend this car to anyone looking.....I couldnt find one single alternative that could give me everything I wanted at my $20,000 budget.Its a perfect mid size suv for someone who wants value, options, and reliabilty....Thanks Chevy!! The only compaint I would give is that they do not offer rear airconditioning......that would of been the cherry on top!"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details