Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Chevrolet Equinox Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $23,738 - $24,343.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $25,315

Fair Purchase Price $24,041
Fair Market Range ($23,738 - $24,343)

Invoice $24,093
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 427 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

The Chevrolet Equinox is an excellent vehicle.

By on Wednesday, April 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,350

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Stylist, fun to drive, safe and reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We currently own a 2013 Equinox LTZ. Its loaded and has everything you need in a vehicle. I have the 4 cyc engine and I get 33.0 MPG on the Highway. When vehicle is loaded down for our vacation trips to Florida, we still get about 29.7 MPH. This is our second Chevrolet Equinox. Our first one was a 2012 basic 1Lt model. It was a great vehicle also, but leather power/heated seats are a must in cold climate. In my opinion the LTZ package is the way to go. If you plan on towing any pay loads, buy the V-6, because the 4-Cyc does not have a lot of towing power. Other than that excellent vehicle."

Best interior

By on Monday, April 20, 2015

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great features, low price"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great sliding rear seat to increase leg room."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Mediocre car...I expected better from chevrolet

By on Thursday, April 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "decent gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The engine is noisy and the windshield wipers do an extremely poor job. I've had this car in twice for warranty work and have about 4 notifications from GM for "potential" defects....really?? You buy a new car for peace of mind and reliability. This car has been a yellow flag from the get go. EXTREMELY disappointed in GM. I've been buying GM cars since is was 20 years old. I am 63 now and I am divorcing you, GM."

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

this is one of the best cars i have ever owned. I

By on Thursday, April 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Plenty of pep ,pretty good on gas, handles well."

Cons: "The heating system could improve."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The car is much better than I ever thought a Chevy would be. I have owned Buicks, Fords, Lexus 400, BMW 5, Cadillac, Lincoln pound for pound it's right up their with the best."

12 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Smoothe Ride

By on Thursday, April 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "smooth quiet ride, great gas mileage,"

Cons: "vent location and initial acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased this car brand new off the lot. Gas mileage greatly improved after 15,000 miles. Quiet smooth ride, mechanically sound and no major issues. The 4 cylinder is a little slow out of the gate, but the gas mileage worth it. I average in the mid to high thirties mpg on the highway and 26-27 around town. The cabin is well designed excepted for the air/heat vents which the direction could be improved, the driver side vent is a little tricky to adjust to have the ac/heat not hit the back of the steering wheel when fully open. Good versatility with the fold down seats for moving large items and extremely roomy in the back seat for passengers."

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Pretty decent

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Blind spot mirrors, comfortable, good AWD"

Cons: "Low front, narrow loading area, sluggish steering"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I own the 2013 Chev Equinox 1LT. This is my first new vehicle and I am fairly satisfied with my purchase. I've owned this vehicle for two years and I haven't had any major issues with it. The pros in my view is that this vehicle is comfortable to ride in. I've had many passengers who loved sitting in the back seat since it provides lots of stretch room. I love the blindspot mirrors in which apparently newer Equinoxes lack now (I wonder why...). I've survived two winters without being stuck once. With winter tires on the Equinox, I felt confident and safe driving in the snow. The fuel economy could be better in comparison to its foreign rivals. I get approximately 23mpg on average when driving a mix of city and highway on the 4-cyl engine. Some cons I find is that the steering is quite sluggish, don't be expecting a sporty feel as it is really a family vehicle. The interior in the loading area is quite narrow in comparison to other SUVs, I found that loading my bikes into the vehicle a bit challenging but I make it work. The front of the vehicle is pretty low, so be careful with those cement parking blocks. The entertainment plug-in is located in the armrest compartment. It's awkwardly positioned and it takes a bit to fiddle around and connect my cords into. Overall it is a pretty decent vehicle and I see myself keeping it for a bit longer!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

LOVE THIS SUV

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Own the LTZ with all the bells and whistles has 88,000 miles and still looks sharp and rides great. Will definitely buy another,had no problem in the winter snow and ice this year. Drives down the road nicely, brakes great and really have no problem at all except I had to put a new battery in it this winter. I do the recommended oil changes and maintenance."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to get into and a pleasure to drive."

Cons: "Backup camera needs better distance markers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have been very satisfied with the vehicle its the 1st new car I have bought in 30 yrs. I plan on buying another."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Ok vehicle

By on Saturday, March 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,800

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable and fast"

Cons: "Not enough room , rough ride!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I have to admit my v6 equinox is very reliable and fast. I am not happy with how rough it rides. I had a Traverse before this and still regret getting rid of it. It's a good vehicle if you don't have a lot to carry. The cargo area is to small."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

lOVE THIS VEHICLE!!!

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "VERY ROOMY, DRIVES GREAT"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"LOVE THIS SUV! GREAT ON GAS!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not recommended

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Looks good and nice interior,"

Cons: "AC/Heat; Traction; 4cyl.; working with On Star;"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"4 Cyl is too weak and the gas savings are not enough to make this a good choice. Poor in snow or slippery road conditions. OnStar too hard to deal with and do not work well with previously owned cars. AC/Heat is inadequate."

12 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Economical, good value

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,575

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to park, no blind spots when backing up."

Cons: "None so far"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 2012 LT has performed flawlessly, and filled my needs for economical transportation. The 4 cylinder engine is not one you would drag race with, however, it has ample power when needed. With the rear seats folded down, there is plenty of room for cargo."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Absolutely the worst purchase in my lifetime.

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "has great acceleration for a 4 banger."

Cons: "I paid over $20,000.00 for this car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This vehicle has been in the repair shop 9 times since i purchased it in 2013. This year already I have had it in for 2 seperate issues. They have had it in there service department for 28 days . 2 weeks total in January 2015 , and has been in there now for 14 more this month so far they still have it so i am guessing probably another 5 days."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great Crossover

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling, good value, very comfortable."

Cons: "In-city gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this Equinox new with the V-6 engine so that I could tow my motorcycle trike whenever I wanted. I have not been sorry! I drove to the east coast and back pulling the trike and I didn't even know it was behind me. The Euqinox has all the power I need and it is is very comfortable and a real pleasure to drive. My wife loves it too. On a daily basis she drives it more than I do cause I ride my trike and she has never had a complaint about the vehicle. The gas milage for a V-6 is well within expected levels. In short, I'd recommend an Equinox to anyone."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love my Equinox!

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Beautiful in snow, great on gas, lots of room"

Cons: "Remote starter turns off after only 10 minutes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the first new car I have bought in 20 years, and I Love it! I live in Michigan, lots of snow and have not missed one day of work because of it. I'm so glad I didn't get the 4WD, front wheel drive is perfect. The only thing that I have not been happy with is the remote start. It automatically turns off after 10 minutes. In our cold state this is not enough time to warm my car up. I have asked the dealership to change increase the run time, they have told me that for safety reasons they do not do that. I know my daughters remote start will run much longer, so I know it' possible."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great look. Terrific ride. Great value."

Cons: "Expensive to fix and not as good of MPG as rated."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a great vehicle. On paper it says this car gets 20-29 mpg, but I can tell you we have never gotten that kind of MPG while driving this. I am getting around 18 mpg right now which is still great for an AWD crossover. It is a very sleek looking car and most people get in and love the two tone leather inside. I would highly suggest this to someone looking for a nice riding cross over."

21 people out of 38 found this review helpful

Great SUV and fun to drive.

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great in snow and ice. Fun to drive."

Cons: "Stiff ride and you have to step up to get into the"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am a senior citzen and love the SUV. It sits high where you can see everything. This is a young persons car. Handles great and has a short turning radis. Great in snow and ice. You have to step up to get in the SUV."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Good MPG, great interior room, quiet and smooth.

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good MPG, good passenger room, nice options/ride."

Cons: "Backup camera, visibility, heater & A/C controls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Was driving a Silverado, so kind of miss the power, but wanted an AWD vehicle with good interior room, better gas mileage and good for winter driving and I think I found it. Almost bought a KIA Sorento, which has more cargo room but not as good gas mileage or driver/passenger room and comfort. Got the 2LT loaded with sunroof, heated cloth seats (unusual but great) and MyLink (which I absolutely love). Also got the remote start that automatically turns on heat and heated seats if cold outside, which is absolutely wonderful, would highly recommend getting these features. Only complaints so far is the visibility and the fact that you can only see the heater and A/C stats when you are adjusting them, as they come on at the bottom of the nice, large touch screen monitor. Oh yeah, and they should (not could, should) have put the guide lines on the back up camera that show how close you are to the bumper of the car you are backing at, cause it looks like you are still far away, but almost hit someone the first few times I used it. It is very misleading."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Thursday, January 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Pretty well love everything about it."

Cons: "The dash material is hard to get lint off of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the third Equinox we have owned. All were purchased new from a dealer. We had a "09, '11, and now a 2012. We loved them all. I was hesitant about buying this 2012, because of the engine. It's a 4 cylinder. I was SO wrong. It has plenty of power!!!!!! I average between 25-30 mpg and driving it takes zero effort. Cannot go wrong purchasing this vehicle."

32 people out of 54 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle!

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Well built, reliable, comfortable, quiet, good loo"

Cons: "Old foot-styled parking brake."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After 43,000 flawless miles I am quite impressed with this vehicle. I am now in the middle of my 4th Ohio winter with this car and it handles very well in the ice and snow, even without AWD. The ride is quiet and comfortable and it doesn't have a rattle or squeak. It is what I would call an "honest" vehicle. Good looking, comfortable, reasonable V6 power and efficiency and rock-solid dependability."

17 people out of 27 found this review helpful

very uncomfortable

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"it is a good car except for the fact that it is very uncomfortable. on long rides my wife and I both have back and neck aches"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Verry good condition. We are retired. Low millage

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good looking and in very good condition"

Cons: "very small dent in rear door. no damage to paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Vehicle has been good to us. A deer hit us two years ago but I was not injured because this vehicle is very safe. All repairs were done and no problems"

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Comfortable and Reliable Crossover

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Overall, I'm very happy with the vehicle. I bought it because of the adjustable rear seat, which allows me to add leg room for passengers or cargo space if I need to move anything. I splurged a bit on some upgrades and have not been disappointed! I love the backup camera and the remote start/heated seats rock in the winter.. I purchased an AWD because of unpredictable weather and my frequent trips into the mountains. It's come in useful on many occasions, but eats into the fuel economy. It would be nice to be able to switch to 2WD for my daily commute and improve the MPG. I purchased some WeatherTech floor liners, so my family car is super easy to clean up. I was a bit disappointed at the amount of cheap plastic accessories in the vehicle, especially at that price point. Also, Chevy seems to be a bit behind the power curve when it comes to their computerized systems and pairing of devices/features. I can make calls with the Bluetooth, but had to purchase a cable to project any other sound/navigation from my phone (since I didn't spring for On-Star's Navigation package). I definitely recommend this vehicle.. even talked my best friend into getting one of her own (now we match!!)"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I like this car goes great in winter conditions

By on Sunday, January 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "drives good in snow"

Cons: "dont buy one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car with 19,000 miles, it has many recall/service notices. I bought this so I could have peace of mind and the last GM car I had I put 150,000 miles on it and loved it. This car needed major work on the engine @ 42,000 and has always used oil. Now they admit there are engine oil issues but won't fix mine because it didn't use enough oil what a joke this car burns a quart of oil in 2000 miles and has since we got it. We have always bought GM vehicles that is over!!!! Now I have to hope to get some value out of it to buy something else. I'm done also no way to check tranny fluid or change it great feature NOT."

17 people out of 30 found this review helpful

very comfortable

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We enjoy this vehicle very much. We are averaging about 28-30 mpgs. My only complaint is that there is not a whole lot of get up and go, so to speak."

15 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.