Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2012 Chevrolet Equinox

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 397 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

quality is above normal

By on Monday, November 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to drive"

Cons: "AWD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"One of the very best small SUV's on the market in its price range. I like the power of the V6 engine. The four cylinders are too under powered in SUV's. I would buy the LTZ model again. The only thing I am worried about is the all wheel drive compared to my trailblazers four wheel drive."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best SUV ever!!

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best SUV ever!!!!"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

like to car

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"interior fold down seat is my major complaint"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

great car but

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,270

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "I like the feeling of sitting higher."

Cons: "Too much black interior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"It is a great car for convenience and comfort but it has too many blind spots. That is the major complaint. Outside of that I love this car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best all around vehicle for me

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to drive and get in and out of"

Cons: "Rear seat doesn't fold down flat. Seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Traded in 2010 Mailbu for my 2014 equinox. The Equinox is gets better gas milage and easy to get in and out. No longer have to pull my self out like the mailbu. I drive from Ohio to Chicago once a month and can get 37 mph if I were to drive the speed limit. I usally get 30 to 31 at 75 to 80 mph. Really like this car. Wish the back seat would fold flat and the front seats were softer."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great value for a luxury car

By on Sunday, October 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outstanding product for the price"

Cons: "C pillars could be smaller for better visibility"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the most reliable and worry free car I've ever driven from GM. It has dodged every recall bullet to date, is a very classy design and have had zero problems. Also best mpg average is rated at 32.2 which you can press a button to see as well as tire air pressure that adds to that goal! Only suggestion I would have is to design the front C pillars for best windshield visibility. The rear camera view should be standard as is an added safety feature."

15 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Good little car but not reliable.

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Looks nice!"

Cons: "Not reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The 2010 Chevy Equinox 2.4L handles well and has comfortable interior. However, the many engine related problems I have had with this car makes reliability a concern. I have had the high pressure fuel pump replaced twice, timing chain once, and a throttle body (which was not covered by the power train warranty). The last time I had engine problems the car "reduced power" and I suddenly could not go more than 25MPH on the interstate. I am glad my kid was not in the car at the time!"

13 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Just a nice running and reliable car

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great on gas."

Cons: "Haven't had any CONS yet."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Equinox is 2 years old and I have had no problems with it. I have 2 knee replacements but this car is easy to get in and out of. Love it."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

not impressed

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Looks nice rides ok"

Cons: "way to much money for what you get."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Under powered w/ 4 cylinder. Unimpressive gas mileage, have not seen 30 mpg yet. Dislike all the controls. Seem cumbersome at best. Have to push or turn knobs to see any info on heater and a/c needs to stay up. Rear view mirror causes a blind spot for me. Drives down the road ok and is comfortable to set in but the tires are very noisy. Overall not impressed at all wished I had gotten something else but the wife likes it."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Will not buy another

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,953

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Attractive"

Cons: "no dual air controls no back seat air vents"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Equinox is the size I wanted. It is attractive. HOWEVER it has no back air vents! Unforgivable! The seats are a poor grade of leather, if it is really leather like advertised. The road noise is horrible. It is very hard to hear the radio while driving on the interstate.and I have perfect hearing.My 2002 Buick was quieter and smoother than this thing.Please improve this suv."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

awful car

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,500

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "don't know of one"

Cons: "awful car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"this car has been towed in three times. I have not had to get a car towed in since the 80's. gas mileage is poor, only about 24mpg. rated 34mpg. this is my highway mileage. in town about 18 mpg."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Fun car to drive, comfortable.

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,850

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I look forward to driving it."

Cons: "City gas milage could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new, it's a 2014 model. Handles very nice on all types of roadways. The AWD does really good in the snow. All the features that come with it are great."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great value car with some great features

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Back seat. Gas mileage with 4 cyl. Quiet"

Cons: "Back-up camera needs grid lines on screen"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought the LTZ version (loaded) - we did NOT get the V6 engine as it was too noisy and a gas hog. The 4 cylinder averages 30mpg and have gotten 37.5mpg on a long trip according to the on-board computer (I saved the setting)! Wish the car had a blind spot warning system and also wish the back-up camera had lines to help gage where the car was when backing up. More good points - the car is VERY quiet on the road - no wind noise or tire noise. Sound system is excellent. Back seat is more than ample for adults. Love the back seat! 2 years free maintenance is an added bonus."

14 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Nice, except hard shifting

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "electronics, styling"

Cons: "transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Love this car in every way: the V6 has a lot of power, the car is comfortable, the automatic liftgate and auto-start are handy and the interior electronics are great. However, I wish Chevy spent more time on the basics - my AWD 6cyl is very jerky. When you stop at a light and then accelerate, you get a little jerk at regular intervals until you reach cruising speed. When you are close to a stop, but then accelerate (as in stop and go traffic) you'll find the car a bit jerky. Dealers will tell you that it is normal and that is how Chevy makes them. If that is true, Chevy should be out of business very soon."

5 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Worst upgrade of my life!

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Roomy, Smooth ride"

Cons: "Steering is awful, Blind spots are terrible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Traded 4 cyl. 2012, for the 6 cyl. 2014. Worst decision i have ever made. The steering is awful, and the noise it makes is even worse. The dealership says its fine. GM customer service brushes you off like your concerns are not important. Vehicle has been in shop on a total of 5 different occasions for same issue, with no resolve. my 2012 was by far a more sound, solid vehicle. Choosing the upgrade was not worth the stress and concern i have had over my safety since."

8 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Very Honest Vehicle - Enjoyable

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drives well, very comfortable, solid."

Cons: "Old style emergency brake."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my 2012 Equinox LTZ new in 2011. First brand new Chevy since 1981. No disappointments. This is a very honest, comfortable, well built, good locking, comfortable and reliable vehicle. I have had zero problems in three years and over 36,000 miles. I have the V6 and power is more than adequate and I get 25-27 mpg on the highway. Nice job GM!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

An Amazing Buy

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort Economical Reliable Auto Rear Lift & Cam"

Cons: "add the parking sensors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Chevy Equinox and I love both of them! Comfortable, reliable, plenty of safety features and, really all the bells and whistles of a high-priced "name" model, but with lower gas mileage and lower price."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Have loved this car.

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfort and spacious"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Very comfortable and spacious interior."

Best option for a smaller SUV

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car because I wanted a smaller SUV and did not want a crossover. This car has options that have spoiled me; most notably the backup camera. When I decided to buy a car for myself so my wife could have the Equinox to herself, I ended up buying my wife a car. She was ticked off."

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It is fun to drive. I have had this car for 4 year"

Cons: "I'm not sure if the price was a bit expensive. ???"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a "back problem" This is the only car that I have ever drove that supports my back-no pain. I feel rested after a long vacation drive. It handles well. There is a "blinds spot" (that most cars have). So, I am very careful wwhen changing lanes. The engine is "quiet". Lots of leg room in the back seat. I love the "back-up viewing screen". I love the way the car looks-inside & out. It's a pleasure to drive!"

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

i have owened this car for four years.no problems

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"ihave advaged 25 miles a gal. around town ,highway31 miles."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love everything about this car

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "extreamly comfortable riding car"

Cons: "better gas milage would be nice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"LTZ model red with lots of chrome, even added a little extra chrome. Gets lots of looks. One of the sharpest looking cars on the road."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Second one, Love It

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "No eyeglass holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Equinox so far have given me great service, and I plan to keep for years to come."

Very reliable car

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable even for very tall people"

Cons: "Mileage not as good as hoped for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No problems and love driving but want better fuel economy"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

poor gas milage 20 not 32 mpg

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,020

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"poor gas milage 20mpg not 32 mpg other then that and low oil light dones not low oil comes not come on when 2 quarts low you have check or eingine make nosie"

18 people out of 33 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Equinox near Honolulu. See local deals