Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2012 Chevrolet Equinox

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 409 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 41 | Next

Great vehicle

By on Thursday, January 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Pretty well love everything about it."

Cons: "The dash material is hard to get lint off of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the third Equinox we have owned. All were purchased new from a dealer. We had a "09, '11, and now a 2012. We loved them all. I was hesitant about buying this 2012, because of the engine. It's a 4 cylinder. I was SO wrong. It has plenty of power!!!!!! I average between 25-30 mpg and driving it takes zero effort. Cannot go wrong purchasing this vehicle."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle!

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Well built, reliable, comfortable, quiet, good loo"

Cons: "Old foot-styled parking brake."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After 43,000 flawless miles I am quite impressed with this vehicle. I am now in the middle of my 4th Ohio winter with this car and it handles very well in the ice and snow, even without AWD. The ride is quiet and comfortable and it doesn't have a rattle or squeak. It is what I would call an "honest" vehicle. Good looking, comfortable, reasonable V6 power and efficiency and rock-solid dependability."

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

very uncomfortable

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"it is a good car except for the fact that it is very uncomfortable. on long rides my wife and I both have back and neck aches"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Verry good condition. We are retired. Low millage

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good looking and in very good condition"

Cons: "very small dent in rear door. no damage to paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Vehicle has been good to us. A deer hit us two years ago but I was not injured because this vehicle is very safe. All repairs were done and no problems"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Comfortable and Reliable Crossover

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Overall, I'm very happy with the vehicle. I bought it because of the adjustable rear seat, which allows me to add leg room for passengers or cargo space if I need to move anything. I splurged a bit on some upgrades and have not been disappointed! I love the backup camera and the remote start/heated seats rock in the winter.. I purchased an AWD because of unpredictable weather and my frequent trips into the mountains. It's come in useful on many occasions, but eats into the fuel economy. It would be nice to be able to switch to 2WD for my daily commute and improve the MPG. I purchased some WeatherTech floor liners, so my family car is super easy to clean up. I was a bit disappointed at the amount of cheap plastic accessories in the vehicle, especially at that price point. Also, Chevy seems to be a bit behind the power curve when it comes to their computerized systems and pairing of devices/features. I can make calls with the Bluetooth, but had to purchase a cable to project any other sound/navigation from my phone (since I didn't spring for On-Star's Navigation package). I definitely recommend this vehicle.. even talked my best friend into getting one of her own (now we match!!)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I like this car goes great in winter conditions

By on Sunday, January 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "drives good in snow"

Cons: "dont buy one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car with 19,000 miles, it has many recall/service notices. I bought this so I could have peace of mind and the last GM car I had I put 150,000 miles on it and loved it. This car needed major work on the engine @ 42,000 and has always used oil. Now they admit there are engine oil issues but won't fix mine because it didn't use enough oil what a joke this car burns a quart of oil in 2000 miles and has since we got it. We have always bought GM vehicles that is over!!!! Now I have to hope to get some value out of it to buy something else. I'm done also no way to check tranny fluid or change it great feature NOT."

12 people out of 23 found this review helpful

very comfortable

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We enjoy this vehicle very much. We are averaging about 28-30 mpgs. My only complaint is that there is not a whole lot of get up and go, so to speak."

15 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Good but not Great

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Positives - nice ride, quiet, smoother on highway than other compact SUV's. Styling is nice although getting a bit dated 5 years after debut. Most back seat room in class. After 61K miles, it has held up pretty well - no major flaws and only one trip to the shop for a recall on the camshaft position sensor. Negatives - a bit heavy for the 4 cyl - its a dog if you need to pass and you are already going at highway speed. Raspy when you make the 4 cyl work. The HVAC was not well thought out. Gas mileage on the highway was never close to the advertised 29 MPG for an AWD. Best I could achieve with no A/C and a steady 60 on a flat road was 27.2"

20 people out of 31 found this review helpful

This car has been dependable and safe.

By on Thursday, December 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "handles pretty well, good fuel economy"

Cons: "not too much to complain about yet!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I am pleased with this vehicle. Nothing special, but it has been very dependable and safe. I would consider purchasing Chevrolet products in the future."

16 people out of 24 found this review helpful

nice vehicle with inadequate engine

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable ride and good sound ststem"

Cons: "lags enough engine power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"liked everything about this car but the 4 cylinder engine. Not enough power to get up and go when needed. Struggled on steep hills. Compressor went out on air conditioner at about 55k miles. Now have noise when air conditioning is on."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 41 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Equinox near Honolulu. See local deals