Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2011 Chevrolet Equinox

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 378 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Love this car!

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It is fun to drive. I have had this car for 4 year"

Cons: "I'm not sure if the price was a bit expensive. ???"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a "back problem" This is the only car that I have ever drove that supports my back-no pain. I feel rested after a long vacation drive. It handles well. There is a "blinds spot" (that most cars have). So, I am very careful wwhen changing lanes. The engine is "quiet". Lots of leg room in the back seat. I love the "back-up viewing screen". I love the way the car looks-inside & out. It's a pleasure to drive!"

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

i have owened this car for four years.no problems

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"ihave advaged 25 miles a gal. around town ,highway31 miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

love everything about this car

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "extreamly comfortable riding car"

Cons: "better gas milage would be nice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"LTZ model red with lots of chrome, even added a little extra chrome. Gets lots of looks. One of the sharpest looking cars on the road."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Second one, Love It

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "No eyeglass holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Equinox so far have given me great service, and I plan to keep for years to come."

Very reliable car

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable even for very tall people"

Cons: "Mileage not as good as hoped for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No problems and love driving but want better fuel economy"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

poor gas milage 20 not 32 mpg

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,020

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"poor gas milage 20mpg not 32 mpg other then that and low oil light dones not low oil comes not come on when 2 quarts low you have check or eingine make nosie"

14 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Under-powered Awesomeness

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "space, reliability, options"

Cons: "four cylinder is kinda low on power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love my Equinox. It's a very comfortable car to drive, and has exceptional leg room in the back seats. I'm self employed and often have clients in the car, so that was a big plus for me. The cargo area is also quite spacious, and has several loops to attach bungee cords or other storage enhancements. It's very reliable on long trips, and as long as you stick to the recommended maintenance schedule, you're not going to spend a lot of money on this car's upkeep. The only thing I would do differently would be buy the 6-cylinder vs the 4. Its just a tad under-powered for the size, especially when merging or passing on highways. I'm either going to get another one next year, or go for a bigger vehicle like the Yukon (life changes mean I need more storage room for lots of trips). Buy one, you won't be disappointed unless you're looking to race."

12 people out of 19 found this review helpful

milage controversey

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, design, gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Seems like a big gripe with this car has been mileage. I don't get it. I drive with the MPG screen on all the time. Over any given 50 miles (city and hwy) I'll average between 26 and 29 mpg... that's the average. Maybe some people need to wear lighter shoes."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Never would buy again,

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "61000 miles on original brakes"

Cons: "Leather seats are to hard and not confortable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The 4 cyl.AWD Equinox is rated at 29 mpg highway, best we ever got is 24.5 our 2002 jeep with 135000 miles on it got better gas milage on the hwy.The 4 cylinder AWD equinox is totally gutless unless you get a running start don't try passing anyone,if anyone should buy one get the 6 cyl. The leather seats in our Equinox are as hard as rocks, I don't understand their thinking on this one they could be a little softer, not a confortable car on long trips.On the positive side still have the original brakes and tires but need new rear brakes as they are down to 20% left and tires before winter if we keep it."

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

nice small suv

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very good overall. Dealer is awsome. Shifts a little funny but drives well"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, gas mileage, price & handling!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I need a vehicle that is reliable with good gas mileage but is roomy enough to carry real estate signs & people plus be able to safely traverse dirt roads. My 2013 Equinox does it, does it well and looks good doing it! It also handles well in heavy city traffic and mountain driving...I have driven it in both places and it handles like a dream. If you're looking for a vehicle that can do it all, this is the one, plus it's affordable!"

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

no rear air and heat back needs to wider

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"to be able to haul 4 sets of golf clubs"

11 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Not what dealer told me

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Poor gas mileage

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comforts, interior."

Cons: "GAS MILEAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Overall I was pleased with the comfort and quality of the Equinox. It drove and handled quite well. However, the mpg was "grossly" overrated, and the miles between fill ups was a joke. It also shifted awkwardly, lunging forward at time."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Glad I bought this car

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage. Plenty of room."

Cons: "More sound proofing, Better seat comfort."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was the first model year after it's nip and tuck. I was impressed with my 30 mpg on 2 trips to North Carolina from Delaware. The styling of the exterior and room in the cabin and way back is what originally sold me on this vehicle. The fit and finish on this vehicle, no problem. The sound system is as promised. Mechanically, a bit noisy but a great engine and trans. This car was the best of breed in that model year in a year of not so much to choose from. What needs improvement: This is a quiet car,but they should have used acoustic glass to cut out some of the road noise as well as more sound proofing. The door stop needs to be improved so the doors don't swing back at you in a wind or just when you open the door too hard. They really needed to step up their game on seat comfort. They were a tad behind other brands on creature comforts. Bottom line. A little overpriced, but what GM isn't. I am happy I bought this car. In fact, I may give it to my daughter and go buy my wife a new 2015. On balance, its a really good car that fit my needs. That is what really counts."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Awful gas mileage and reliability

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,200

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable and drives nicely"

Cons: "horrible mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We have a 2014 Chevy Equinox and are not happy. It has weird electronic glitches, at only 3000 miles, the battery has randomly died three times, and the fuel efficiency is not as advertised- we actually are getting more like 15 city/ 19 highway, and it's not us because our other car we get better than advertised mpg. The car has already been into the shop twice in 6 months. So much for getting a brand new car.... It is beautiful, spacious and comfortable. Just not reliable!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great gas mileage 28 town 32 road

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "rides good for its size"

Cons: "back up view screen is a good feature"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good car, wife love it. not to small not to big!!!"

Excellent car. Only needed minor repairs.

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, nice design in/out"

Cons: "Outside temp. isn't accurate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been an excellent car. Ordered it from the factory exactly as I wanted it. Has only been in the shop a couple of times for minor repairs in the 4 years I've had it. MPG isn't quite what is advertised, but good, none-the-less."

Good vehicle

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "See above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I just totaled my Equinox. Had to have the top cut off to get me out, I've been told the SUV protection, was one reason I wasn't hurt badly. My son tells me this is the vehicle, I should buy when I replace."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice car, good value

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quiet, rides nice"

Cons: "Minor blind spots, interior plastic not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been a really good vehicle for me. Looks good, reliable, comfortable, lots of room, decent gas mileage. I get 24-25 mpg in the city and 29-30 on the highway. You'll never get the 32 mpg unless you set the cruise for 65 mph. I kind of laughed when I read some other reviews though. People complaining about the acceleration (it's a 3700lb SUV with a 4 cylinder engine, what did you expect) and gas mileage (again, 3700lb SUV). I've noticed that eco mode only changes the shift points (will shift into OD at 40 mph in eco, 45 mph normally) but that's only if you are accelerating slowly. Step on it and the shift points are basically the same. Overall I'm very pleased with my Equinox."

13 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Excellent versatility, and great gas mileage.

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, lots of room for people and stuf"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Buying the car was a hassle, but that's off-topic. The Equinox itself has been a great car, except for one major flaw. There are several bulletins out for a knocking sound in the engine and random swings in rpm/stalling. I experienced all of this. Luckily, the powertrain warranty is 100,000 miles. Once I found a good reputable dealer, they fixed everything under warranty and now she feels brand new! Overall, the capacity is great, driving is fun, and there's almost too much leg room. Does well in the snow too. The stabilitrack can be tricky, but I know it's probably saved my life."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great Crossover

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,050

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Front view of Equinox

"This is a great crossover. It handles great and has enough cargo room for a lot of groceries. It came with the child car seat latch system in place to help keep the car seat secure. I love my crossover."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Front view of Equinox

had better

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"gas mileage statement is not true"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Chevey is best!!!

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,300

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Spouse walked away from a very serious collision."

Cons: "Too many warranty repairs for first 2-3 years....."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Spouse walked away from very serious front drivers side collision with only minor muscle strains and airbag abraisions. Other car was a 4 door Honda and it was totaled. Equinox is probably totalled too but it didn't look nearly as bad. Thanks Chevy, while we had a lot of problems with this vehicle originally(all fixed under warranty repair) I still trust the Chevy Frames and bodys to protect my family."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

For purchase price, not much bang for the buck.

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Road noise / Comfortability

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Decent mileage @ around 32MPG"

Cons: "Definitely not a touring vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"For the price of this vehicle, I wish I had bought a Buick, the driver is unable to carry on a conversation using Bluetooth,there is so much cabin noise inside the parties are unable to hear the conversation without turning the volume up. Long trips are also uncomfortable due to the seat dynamics."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Not My Blazer - but o.k. as a substitute.

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas Mileage, Roominess"

Cons: "Turning radius, Seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"After driving Chevy Blazer's for a few decades, I was hoping the Equinox would be a better substitute. I love the Equinox's improved gas mileage but not the handling. The turning radius is slightly increased and my body fatigues sooner on long drives. Granted I'm older now but I could get in my Blazer and drive for 5 hours and get out feeling fresh. The seats are like buckets that you have to climb out of and I forsee having to replace the seat due to the extra wear. The adjustments for the driver's seat are a little bit funky, moving on an axis as well as forward/back, up/down. The Equinox is a bit more roomy in the front and back seats and my passengers love that. This is an excellent car pool vehicle due to the roominess and gas mileage. I can beat the Eco mode for gas mileage!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Equinox near Honolulu. See local deals