Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2008 Chevrolet Equinox

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 788 Ratings for the 2005 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    7.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    7.8/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

Most uncomfortable vehicle I've ever been in.

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "The color."

Cons: "That GM actually sold that to the public."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've never owned anything but GM products. This SUV had the normal GM issues (brakes, i.e.) but the turning range was horrible. The air noises from bad seals were annoying. The cooling and heating had problems with in the 75,000 miles. The dash board over heated the second time we tried to play a cd. The head lights fogged up from condensation. But the worst part was the road noise and the poor representation from the GM Service Departments we took the vehicle into for repairs."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Car, very satisfied

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,330

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "So Smooth, you can't even tell it's running"

Cons: "Needs a bit more trunk space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased this equinox 2006, back in 2008. I did my homework and it seemed this was the only year to previous ones that did not have a recall on it for something going wrong. I purchased it while residing in kansas and now moved to new york, it took me across 8 states with very good gas mileage and no issues what so ever. Its a good relaible car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever!

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good mpg, good traveling car, room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First car bought it new had for 9 years never had problems just love it!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car, no major repair problems.

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Roomy back seats and leg room. Inside shows more wear than my previous cars. Trouble with blind spot, but this was my 1st SUV. Good chance that I will buy another Equinox."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great car for price

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "turn radius, gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great off road and in the snow. Nothing has stopped it. AWD and 4L is great. I wish gas mileage was better."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned,

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, room, comfort"

Cons: "centre console mediocre, otherwise nothing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I brought an '08 Equinox LS in late december so from then until now it has been driven only 5.5 years. I have put 352,000 km on it. I drive 150+/day average. Fuel is 8.7l/100 km (about 26MPG). not one major repair. was out of town and needed an oil change, the mechanic was floored when I gave the mileage. runs like a top. handles like a dream, confortable and quiet.Tons of space and tows great. recommend following the maintenance schedule (as with any car) and you will not be dissapointed."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great vehicle!

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives easily, very roomy."

Cons: "Roof rack needs side openings for tie downs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've owned this car for 9 years. The worst I've had to do is put on new tires, rear brakes, and a battery."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Minor Inconveniences and Design Flaws

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good price, nice styling, comfortable seating."

Cons: "Leather seat cracking, carpet wears poorly."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Visor mirror covers both broke twice. Sunroof leaks. Engine fans required replacement. Leather driver seat cracked."

12 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Very roomy!

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Roomy"

Cons: "Blind spots and repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I purchased this car used in 2011. 2 months after purchase, my heater went out (defect later recalled by chevy). luckily i still had a warrenty so they fixed it for free. The first year i had this car the traction conrol worked wonders.The second winter i could barely get around. I also dont like the giant blind spots on the front and rear windows. On the up side.. this car is very roomy and can easily sit my 6' husband in the backseat with leg room to spare."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love the vehicle, but also very disappointed

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,300

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of room and fun to drive when it works"

Cons: "Very expensive to keep running."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased this vehicle because it was exactly what I wanted, but it wasn't two months after I purchased it that I began to see I was in for trouble. Every four to six months I have had to put hundreds sometimes over one thousand dollars into it. I have not yet owned it two years and have spent over $3,000.00 in repairs. I am now faced with a very expensive issue - four months after the last fix, and have decided I can no longer afford this vehicle. So even though I absolutely love the vehicle and the room associated with it, I am so very disappointed in the running and maintenance issues. This vehicle may have cured me from ever wanting another SUV. So sad. :-("

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

has been very reliable so far

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Chevy should have used better quality fabric inside and made the radio more friendly and better paint on dash controls. But has been reliable."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

LT AWD - Great SUV

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Comfortable but slightly harsh ride. Roomy 5 passenger seating. The only complaint I have is the window switches are between the seats instead of on the door. They have since remedied this on the 2010 and later models."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car new in the fall of 2005. I have had my Equinox longer and put more miles on it than any other vehicle I have owned. The engine is sound, I like the 6 cylinders for pick-up and the AWD. It is great to use to transport larger items. I do agree that the seat material is not great and stains very easily. I especially agree with the reviewer about paint chipping off the console/radio buttons. It started happening to my vehicle soon after I got it and had the radio buttons replaced once while it was still under warranty. Whoever designed the lighter/cell phone outlet directly below the cup holders, not one of your more brilliant ideas! The car, overall, has been very reliable through the years and I hesitate to get rid of it. I am considering replacing it with a new Equinox. I have spoken to some owners and they say it doesn't have great pickup, I assume it is a 4 cylinder. I haven't checked to see if it still comes in a 6 cylinder model."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This is a great vehicle..

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,357

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well for some reason I could not type anymore in the (Review summary) it just stop letting me type anything else, what I was trying to put is since I bought it, it has been a great and very dependable vehicle. It has never not started for me or had any other problems ,I would trust it to drive from Michigan then to California to Florida then back to Michigan and do it all over again. That's how much I trust this vehicle, After I bought this vehicle,it was..I think at lease 2 yrs. later... I have it on record,anyway Equinox has a problem with there head gaskets,they used plastic head gaskets on there motors and it was a very bad idea because the antifreeze which was Dex-cool..well the Dex-cool eat the plastic head gasket and over $1700. dollars later and machined the heads and new tune up,it runs better now then ever..now it will see over 300.000. easy."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

well maintained, purchased new, highway miles

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had any major mechanical problems. Transmission fluid changed out once and thermostat. One owner, one driver."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I believe this is a good vehicle overall

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,724

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good Small Family Car"

Cons: "Only a Five seater"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The gas cap is an after market key cap that doesn't create a good air tight seal. So this has caused the emission symbol to aluminate. the vehicle still gives me good gas mileage. The interior needs detailing due to kids so a good shampooing and it will be as good as new inside. Exterior is in very good condition. A/C very cold."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Never Buy This Car

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "NOTHING"

Cons: "EVERYTHING"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This is the worst car I have ever driven. I would never reccomend this to anyone! I have owned this car for 6 months and I have already replaced the engine, breaks, spark plugs, axels, and my starter. I have also had $3K worth of front end work done to this car. I am almost $7K deep into repairs for this car and I CANNOT wait to get rid of it... What a lemon!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS CAR

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"LOVE THIS CAR"

No problems, No worries!

By on Saturday, February 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "DIY maintenance, very sturdy"

Cons: "comfort during very long trips."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a 2005 Chevy Equinox LS since I bought it brand new in May of 2005. I honestly have had no worries since I have owned the vehicle. The only thing I have replaced on the vehicle has been the thermostat. Other than the typical replacements, tires, brakes, oil, etc. I have been extremely happy! I would recommend this vehicle to anyone, as long and the daily maintenance has been kept up with."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Gold Color good car drives grreat

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Engine is strong, Great pickup power Handles very good, has allwheel drive, reg. maint."

Transmission issues

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Was great til everything went wrong at once."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Purchased new Oct 2004. Wife's car. She loves it!

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good acceleration, low maintenance."

Cons: "Front cup holder too close to hand brake."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My wife drives this car. She wanted something not too big, but big enough to go to garage sales. This car has been just right. Very few maintenance problems in the more than nine years we've owned it. One long trip from Fla to Va and it was fine on the road. This car has surprising acceleration when you need to get into traffic, it will get the job done quickly and smoothly."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

An outstanding performing vehicle!

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, good quality, climbs ice/snow hills."

Cons: "Drivers door armrest and interior light placement."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The vehicle is very dependable and climbs a steep hill in winter ice with NO PROBLEMS! (4WD/AWD). I was amazed! It got the fuel economy as advertised and if driven conservatively, did even a little better. It was comfortable to drive but I will say the drivers door armrest was uncomfortable for me. My wife was fine with it however so ok. Highly recommend this vehicle to anyone and if the one we are about to buy does as well, we will be extremely satisfied. Can't say enough good things about this little Chevy. Like I said, we are buying another one. Test drove a Japanese suv and it wouldn't hold a candle to this one taking off from the red light. The Equinox has get up and go."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,123

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable"

Cons: "Doesn't turn sharp"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle for 5 years now and it has been a very good vehicle. I have 2 children that are in car seats and they both fit nicely in the back seat. Cons: This vehicle does NOT turn sharp AT ALL. The trunck isn't as big as I'd like it to be. The radio control buttons have lost just about all the "paint". Other than those few minor cons, this is a very reliable vehicle! I would recommend it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Little old lady car

By on Tuesday, January 07, 2014

I don't own this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent Vehicle"

Cons: "little old ladies car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car owned by a 74 year old from Sinton Texas. She is now in assisted living and cannot drive. Car was in the Garage when not in use. All maintenance done religiously."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Equinox near Honolulu. See local deals