Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2005 Chevrolet Equinox

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 784 Ratings for the 2005 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    7.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    7.8/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next

Great car for price

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "turn radius, gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great off road and in the snow. Nothing has stopped it. AWD and 4L is great. I wish gas mileage was better."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned,

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, room, comfort"

Cons: "centre console mediocre, otherwise nothing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I brought an '08 Equinox LS in late december so from then until now it has been driven only 5.5 years. I have put 352,000 km on it. I drive 150+/day average. Fuel is 8.7l/100 km (about 26MPG). not one major repair. was out of town and needed an oil change, the mechanic was floored when I gave the mileage. runs like a top. handles like a dream, confortable and quiet.Tons of space and tows great. recommend following the maintenance schedule (as with any car) and you will not be dissapointed."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great vehicle!

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives easily, very roomy."

Cons: "Roof rack needs side openings for tie downs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've owned this car for 9 years. The worst I've had to do is put on new tires, rear brakes, and a battery."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Minor Inconveniences and Design Flaws

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good price, nice styling, comfortable seating."

Cons: "Leather seat cracking, carpet wears poorly."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Visor mirror covers both broke twice. Sunroof leaks. Engine fans required replacement. Leather driver seat cracked."

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Very roomy!

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Roomy"

Cons: "Blind spots and repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I purchased this car used in 2011. 2 months after purchase, my heater went out (defect later recalled by chevy). luckily i still had a warrenty so they fixed it for free. The first year i had this car the traction conrol worked wonders.The second winter i could barely get around. I also dont like the giant blind spots on the front and rear windows. On the up side.. this car is very roomy and can easily sit my 6' husband in the backseat with leg room to spare."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love the vehicle, but also very disappointed

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,300

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of room and fun to drive when it works"

Cons: "Very expensive to keep running."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased this vehicle because it was exactly what I wanted, but it wasn't two months after I purchased it that I began to see I was in for trouble. Every four to six months I have had to put hundreds sometimes over one thousand dollars into it. I have not yet owned it two years and have spent over $3,000.00 in repairs. I am now faced with a very expensive issue - four months after the last fix, and have decided I can no longer afford this vehicle. So even though I absolutely love the vehicle and the room associated with it, I am so very disappointed in the running and maintenance issues. This vehicle may have cured me from ever wanting another SUV. So sad. :-("

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

has been very reliable so far

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Chevy should have used better quality fabric inside and made the radio more friendly and better paint on dash controls. But has been reliable."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

LT AWD - Great SUV

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Comfortable but slightly harsh ride. Roomy 5 passenger seating. The only complaint I have is the window switches are between the seats instead of on the door. They have since remedied this on the 2010 and later models."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car new in the fall of 2005. I have had my Equinox longer and put more miles on it than any other vehicle I have owned. The engine is sound, I like the 6 cylinders for pick-up and the AWD. It is great to use to transport larger items. I do agree that the seat material is not great and stains very easily. I especially agree with the reviewer about paint chipping off the console/radio buttons. It started happening to my vehicle soon after I got it and had the radio buttons replaced once while it was still under warranty. Whoever designed the lighter/cell phone outlet directly below the cup holders, not one of your more brilliant ideas! The car, overall, has been very reliable through the years and I hesitate to get rid of it. I am considering replacing it with a new Equinox. I have spoken to some owners and they say it doesn't have great pickup, I assume it is a 4 cylinder. I haven't checked to see if it still comes in a 6 cylinder model."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This is a great vehicle..

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,357

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well for some reason I could not type anymore in the (Review summary) it just stop letting me type anything else, what I was trying to put is since I bought it, it has been a great and very dependable vehicle. It has never not started for me or had any other problems ,I would trust it to drive from Michigan then to California to Florida then back to Michigan and do it all over again. That's how much I trust this vehicle, After I bought this vehicle,it was..I think at lease 2 yrs. later... I have it on record,anyway Equinox has a problem with there head gaskets,they used plastic head gaskets on there motors and it was a very bad idea because the antifreeze which was Dex-cool..well the Dex-cool eat the plastic head gasket and over $1700. dollars later and machined the heads and new tune up,it runs better now then ever..now it will see over 300.000. easy."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Equinox near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details