Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1996 Chevrolet Corvette

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 281 Ratings for the 1984 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

This car is a fun machine

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought this car five years ago and it has been the highlight of my life since then. I have family and friends that have Corvettes, and we cruise all over in the summer time. Zero problems, fun to drive, and get lots of looks!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

fair

By on Thursday, November 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,873

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "5,500.00 new parts and labor from dealer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"fair"

fun to drive - many repairs

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This car is fun to drive and looks great but GM does not make many parts for this vehicle anymore and GM was not helpful at all when some of the electronics went out and car would not run at 50,000 mile = had to go aftermarket parts at a GM dealer and had many problems getting it running again (sat in dealership shop for 6 months)- between this and the transmission going out at 102,000 miles (100,000 mile warranty) on my 07 Impala and no assistance from GM I will never buy GM again"

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

See Below

By on Thursday, October 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Actually this is a 40th Anniversary 1993 Ruby Red Convertible. It has 23,000 miles, new tires, has never been driven in the winter and has always been kept in a AC/ Heated garage, it is in excellent condition."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

From that day forward, every time I uncover her in

By on Thursday, October 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "The best handling car I've driven made in America"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I'd always dreamed of owning a Corvette. But I gave up on it when for the forth time a car salesman said to me, "You don't want one of those, that's not a car for a lady". Oh yeah? a few weeks later a beautiful shiny new red corvette was delivered to my home. I had tears in my eyes as I watched it backing off the long ramps. Then I drove it and realized it was only a quarter as pretty as it was fun to drive! It is the only thing that I own that STILL makes me smile every time I use it! Dreams really do come true."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

1 0wner garage kept.

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives and rides like a new car."

Cons: "Drives and rides like a new car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Solid white paint with no stripe down the middle,, factory. Beige leather interior, new tires, 2 tops, K & N air intake, Hypothec computer program, garage kept, 1 owner, LT4 6 speed."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Rare color combination. Only 720 same combination

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "$10,500. 42,000 miles"

Cons: "Small. Crack in fender"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only needs new window weather striping."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

best car ever

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "new exhaust new paint low miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"none"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

white, with a white vinyl top, red interior

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything about this car is perfect"

Cons: "Just a little wear around the accelerator area."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is in perfect condition."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent shape

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been garaged since 2000 New tires 2 yrs ago new clutch and master cylinder 2 yrs ago Red on red"

4 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Worth what I paid

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price and fun to drive"

Cons: "parts are expensive but I expected that"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

finally I can afford this

"Although the dealer said it was in excellent condition, it does need some work (new shocks, rubber moldings) although there are no major problems. I just bought it this week, had it detailed and had time to really look at it. I am impressed as I and found the ride and handling great. Bought it for just over what is listed in Blue Book Price if I sold it to a dealer. Looking forward to restoring the worn out parts, Interior was in excellent shape."

12 people out of 19 found this review helpful

finally I can afford this

love it

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,876

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "a blast to drive, perfection"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my car. It's quick,comfortable, and reliable. By far the best car I've ever driven, and I've driven top of the line Mercedes."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

the corvette was my dream car,now a airloom.

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great handling and power"

Cons: "traction when road is wet easy to spin out..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is this ultimate drive for the mountain side on a nice dry day. The reaction in cornering and acceleration out is well worth buying another one. my wife now wants her own, so be careful of who you let drive your corvette it's addicting."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Fast

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very powerful strong engine"

Corvette Prestige

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power, handling, unlimited fun, prestige"

Cons: "Fuel and maintenance cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My first Corvette and hopefully not my last. I bought this vehicle 8 years ago from a co-worker. I have never been disappointed. The C4 cars are a great introduction to the family. Super strong power plant, comfort (for what it is), and the prestige of being a Corvette owner. You don't buy a Corvette to race around everywhere you go. You buy a Corvette to enjoy the experience, there is none other like it, and to "show off" it's ability on occasion. The only drawbacks to this model is the dogged GM plastic dash display / console finishes, fuel, and maintenance cost. I guess everyone believes that because it has the Corvette badge, you have plenty of money. I would encourage anyone with an interest in a true sports car to consider this American icon."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great driver, not much room for any cargo though!

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Fun to drive. Pretty reliable. Adequate power, great handling."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I CANT BELIEVE HOW GREAT MY VETTE HANDLES

By on Friday, February 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,256

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "No capable mechanics"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

MY STRESS RELIEVER

"IVE OWNED MY 96 COLLECTOR EDITION FOR NINE YEARS NOW AND IT LOOKS AS GOOD AS THE DAY I BOUGHT IT. IT HAD 13K ON IT AND IVE ADDED 31K MORE ENJOYING EVERY MOMENT BEHIND THE WHEEL. I HAVE A BAD BACK YET THIS CAR IS EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE FOR ME. THE SIX SPEED ALONG WITH THE Z51 SUSPENSION MAKE DRIVING A PLEASURE. NO MAJOR ISSUES WITH MY CAR OTHER THAN THE CHEVROLET MECHANICS NEAR ME ARE UNDER EDUCATED WHEN IT COMES TO DIAGNOSTIC STEPS ON THE VEHICLE. LOCATING ORIGINAL PARTS IS GETTING DIFFICULT AS MORE AFTERMARKET PARTS ARE COMING TO THE SURFACE. THE MAIN THING I STAY AWAY FROM ARE DIRECTIONAL TIRES WITH RIM GUARDS. I NOTICED A SIGNIFICANT LOSS OF CONTROL IN THE CORNERING ON WINDING ROADS DUE TO THE RIGID SIDEWALL. I WILL CONTINUE TO ENJOY MY VETTE AS LONG AS IM ABLE TO DRIVE AND SOME LUCKY PERSON WILL BE PLEASANTLY SURPRISED WHEN THEY TAKE OWNERSHIP."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

MY STRESS RELIEVER

Great run around fun car and it's beautiful!

By on Wednesday, December 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Rough ride on bad pavement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Have all service records. One owner for 19 years. Car is stock and flawless. Great for FL when its cooler. Gets 30 MPG on highway, not so good in town! Have had to fix some minor things such as Bose rear speakers and back up lights but now seems perfect."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Had the car for 3 years and loved every minute!

By on Saturday, November 16, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: crashed it and sold the wreckage.

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cheap, fun to drive, great gran tourer"

Cons: "gas milage, rough ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"In 2009 i bought the car and immediately feel in love with it. It may have not been the best on fuel economy, but it drove like a dream. Never had a problem with it until i flipped it. Im not getting into that story, just saying that i survived because of the pillar above and behind your head. so great crash protection. All in all, this car showed me that fun didnt have to be expensive."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great investment!

By on Sunday, November 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great investment, great quality"

Cons: "hard to do touch up paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i had this car for almost 10 years, i never had any problem, regular oil change and break pads, car runs the same way like that day when i bought it. I am about to buy my brand new corvette! :-)"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This is my 5th. Vette and by far the best yet!

By on Sunday, November 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fit's like a glove, and handle's amazing"

Cons: "Ride's like a buckboard!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 5th. Corvette, and the one best yet! I just traded for it and I Love it! Everything work's perfect! and it is a Convertible with BOTH top's! She's Triple Black with all opp's! Couldn't have found a better 93!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my Ruby

By on Thursday, October 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "It's a vette!!!"

Cons: "Ruff ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 40th anniversary edition (Ruby Red) vette is great. The ride is ruff but sticks like glue to the road. Bought it used with only a few minor things that need repaired. The digital dash will blink on and off ($350 repair) and the drivers seat side bolster needs repaired. I have found these are common problems with this car with the mileage. On a trip I got 30MPG which I did not expect."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

most fun type sport car that i have owned

By on Thursday, September 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "bought it a great price and fun to run"

Cons: "cup holder in wrong place in console"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

sitting at work

"bought this car 3 months ago after owning mustangs most of the time. took it on a reno nv run from vancouver wa great comfort handling and the amazing part with this 6sp standard and cruse on i actually got (no kidding) 30 mpg hwy and back roads to reno. city i am about 20 mpg its better than the mustang."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

sitting at work

Fun to drive. Very reliable car. Turns heads, love

By on Saturday, August 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very affordable, sports car. Great highway mileage"

Cons: "Cheap seats, Easily worn leather. Targa top bolts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Still summer!!

"I have owned this car 3 years. I have had to change the oil only. Has original plugs , wires and distibutor cap. Got 28 mpg on rt 77 to North Carolina from Ohio, both ways! Fun reliable car. Has appreciated 16% in value in just 3 years. Great investment, glad I bought it!"

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Still summer!!

Perhaps THE BEST VALUE In a Sports Car Today

By on Monday, July 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handling and "Its a Chevy" easy to service."

Cons: "Fall In (fine) but Climb Out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The 1996 Is The "Best of The C4's". Mine is the LT4 Collector Edition.(bought in 2007) Well documented the LT4 Engine was dramatically underrated by GM at 330HP. They did not want it to outshine the 1997 C5 at least officially. Many LT4's dyno north of 370hp.Mine is a 0-60 in 4.7sec car. What is often overlooked these days is that the original C4 was the "Best Handling Production Car Ever" upon its release. Went for a nice drive just yesterday through the twisty's outside town. Great fun to drive and like others mentioned, always get looks and compliments. I had to rate interior and convenience at 8 as egress is a challenge due to the high sills but when seated it is a true sports car cockpit. I mention value as my 1996 LT4CE is now starting to climb in value. Fine condition later C4's are a true sleeper in the market."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Corvette near Honolulu. See local deals