Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1308 Ratings for the 2005 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 262 | Next

Great vehicle for commuting

By on Saturday, April 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great mpg, radio features"

Cons: "cheap built, its a car, little passenger comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have over 150xxx miles on my cobalt and am the third owner. Over 75xxx miles have been put on by me. The only repairs I have had to do was Buying and reprograming new keyless entry remote, Battery, Belt, Blinker handle, Ignition recall, Brake pads, rear window electrical system, front speakers, passenger door unlock button"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

runs good. too many little things gone wrong ,

By on Wednesday, April 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Good runner"

Cons: "many recalls an small problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Too many problems want to trade in but owe way more than worth. Many recalls. Runs really good tho. Reliable that way."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I like it

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "decent gas mileage, sporty look"

Cons: "trunk opening, difficult to get things in and out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I really like my Cobalt. It gets me where I need to go and is comfortable to drive someone over 6' may not be all that comfortable and will probably feel cramped. Have taken several out of state trips and it gas mileage has been good. After knee replacement surgery though I'm finding it harder getting in and out."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best car for its price."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a review of a previous car I have owned. The car stuck with me through thick and thin! Especially with my extensive cross country driving! I put around 133000 miles on my 2006 red cobalt LS and the motor and transmission still ran like the day I bought it. Ive driven imports from the same year and they did not handle or perform like my LS. I would recommend this car to anyone looking to buy an eco car for the most bang for the buck. Sure, its no Subaru Impreza or BMW, but if youre looking for an affordable car that you can trust, the cobalt, from any year, is just that."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

IMO the best compact car sold in the last 20 years

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value / fun to drive"

Cons: "thin paint / high insurance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Cobalt at Multinoma Falls.

"Arguably this is, in my opinion the absolute best compact FWD car sold in the last twenty some odd years. This car handles fantastic, has great brakes (as long as you don't cheap out on service parts), has ample power in stock form, and contrary to some period reviews, the interior really isn't bad - I have to intentionally touch a hard surface, otherwise it's all soft to the touch. The only downsides of this car are (in no particular order): 1) Paint quality; thinly applied from the factory, it's common to see front end paint chips - the more it's driven the more it will chip. Also look the the inside of the door bottoms. 2) High insurance premiums; the '08-'10 Cobalt SS was produced in low numbers, and most of the buyers were and are younger drivers who get into trouble very fast. These are not rocket ships, but they do have roughly double the horsepower of a base Cobalt, or pretty much any regular compact cars."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My Cobalt at Multinoma Falls.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 262 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Cobalt near Honolulu. See local deals