Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1307 Ratings for the 2005 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 262 | Next

runs good. too many little things gone wrong ,

By on Wednesday, April 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Good runner"

Cons: "many recalls an small problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Too many problems want to trade in but owe way more than worth. Many recalls. Runs really good tho. Reliable that way."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

I like it

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "decent gas mileage, sporty look"

Cons: "trunk opening, difficult to get things in and out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I really like my Cobalt. It gets me where I need to go and is comfortable to drive someone over 6' may not be all that comfortable and will probably feel cramped. Have taken several out of state trips and it gas mileage has been good. After knee replacement surgery though I'm finding it harder getting in and out."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best car for its price."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a review of a previous car I have owned. The car stuck with me through thick and thin! Especially with my extensive cross country driving! I put around 133000 miles on my 2006 red cobalt LS and the motor and transmission still ran like the day I bought it. Ive driven imports from the same year and they did not handle or perform like my LS. I would recommend this car to anyone looking to buy an eco car for the most bang for the buck. Sure, its no Subaru Impreza or BMW, but if youre looking for an affordable car that you can trust, the cobalt, from any year, is just that."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

IMO the best compact car sold in the last 20 years

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value / fun to drive"

Cons: "thin paint / high insurance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Cobalt at Multinoma Falls.

"Arguably this is, in my opinion the absolute best compact FWD car sold in the last twenty some odd years. This car handles fantastic, has great brakes (as long as you don't cheap out on service parts), has ample power in stock form, and contrary to some period reviews, the interior really isn't bad - I have to intentionally touch a hard surface, otherwise it's all soft to the touch. The only downsides of this car are (in no particular order): 1) Paint quality; thinly applied from the factory, it's common to see front end paint chips - the more it's driven the more it will chip. Also look the the inside of the door bottoms. 2) High insurance premiums; the '08-'10 Cobalt SS was produced in low numbers, and most of the buyers were and are younger drivers who get into trouble very fast. These are not rocket ships, but they do have roughly double the horsepower of a base Cobalt, or pretty much any regular compact cars."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

My Cobalt at Multinoma Falls.

Good Car

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fuel Economy/ Reliability"

Cons: "Recalls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought my Chevy Cobalt LT coupe in 2012 with 134k on the dash. Its now 2015 and its got 183000 miles on it and it still runs very well. Had some issues with the computer that were about a grand to fix but thats the only repair I've made on the car outside of oil changes and tires. The interior is meh but the car is comfy and roomy. Fuel economy is good. i got as high as 40mpg highway but typically I'm getting 28-32 depending on my speeds. The car has a couple non mechanical inconveniences. The latch on my drivers side door broke in the inside. The power windows don't work on the passenger side and the sun roof doesn't work. But i love the car would definitely recommend it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 262 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Cobalt near Honolulu. See local deals