Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1311 Ratings for the 2005 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 263 | Next

It's a good car.

By on Saturday, May 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Aside from the recalls, I have had no problems with this car. Most of my driving is city driving and I get a consistent 23 mpg"

Worst car ever

By on Friday, May 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Always in need of repairs, at almost 10 years old it's time for a trade in. Does not handle well in snowy upstate NY winters, even with exceptional snow tires and driving extremely cautiously. I do not recommend anyone buy a Cobalt. Key snapped in half and got stuck in the ignition...l had recall notice... The list goes on and on haha."

Good, cheap fun

By on Friday, May 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good price, fun to drive, cheap to fix"

Cons: "interior is meh, average mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought this car 2 years ago, and it really has been reliable and cheap to own. Many things that have broken were small and easy to fix. Interior is meh, but for a car that was 15-16 grand new in 07, I cant complain too much. Coupe has enough room for 2 people easily, and a 3rd if you have them stretch across the back. I put some bigger wheels and better tires on it for better performance, as well as a tune from trifecta and the GM performance exhaust and it really woke the car up. MPG was average, but I didnt baby it. If you want a cheap car thats easy to fix and very reliable, check one out."

Great vehicle for commuting

By on Saturday, April 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great mpg, radio features"

Cons: "cheap built, its a car, little passenger comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have over 150xxx miles on my cobalt and am the third owner. Over 75xxx miles have been put on by me. The only repairs I have had to do was Buying and reprograming new keyless entry remote, Battery, Belt, Blinker handle, Ignition recall, Brake pads, rear window electrical system, front speakers, passenger door unlock button"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

runs good. too many little things gone wrong ,

By on Wednesday, April 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Good runner"

Cons: "many recalls an small problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Too many problems want to trade in but owe way more than worth. Many recalls. Runs really good tho. Reliable that way."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 263 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Cobalt near Honolulu. See local deals