Go

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 1339 Ratings for the 2005 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 268 | Next

Interesting experience

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "gas mileage, reliability"

Cons: "comfort on long drives"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car in early 2008 and the car had been a rental and already had around 40k on the dash when I got it. I have since driven it for 6 years and have just under 200k miles on it. It has been quite the champ for what I have demanded from it. I have driven it from Utah to: Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina(x2), New Jersey, California(x10), and I drove back to Utah in between each journey. Also, I drove the car for doing installations for a home security system company I worked at for 5 years, so the car was driven a minimum of 30k a year. In the time I have owned it, the fuel filter went out causing the fuel pump to go out twice. Recently the engine will randomly just turn off so it's time to take it to the shop again for only the 3rd time in it's life. I did get a new car last year and have retired this one to being a in town commuter since then, but I must say those 5 years of being a work car it was really reliable. It did get a little bit uncomfortable to sit in on long drives (it is only the coupe so I am sure it's worse than the sedan) but it was well worth the sacrifice for the gas mileage I was getting. I averaged around 29 to 30 mpg between city and highway both and I was doing about 50/50. Also, the trunk is huge, the entrance is a little small but I was able to fit an amazing amount of stuff in it."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Awesome small car with good ride for price.

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "economical, reliable and sporty"

Cons: "ext. dents easily,int.stains easily,not powerful"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been an economical reliable vehicle with a good ride for such a small car. I have had very few mechanical problems most of which were fixed while under warranty. I get close to 30 mpg highway and 24 to 25 in city! Interior looks nice and exterior design is smart. It is comfortable to drive even on long trips. The exterior however dents easily and the interior stains easily. Other than that I would recommend this car to anyone who needs a small car with good fuel economy and sporty look. It is roomy for front seat but close quarters in back. I have never been sorry for purchasing this car."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great car...For a little while

By on Thursday, March 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,150

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good price, good ride"

Cons: "Maybe too fragile for is own good, short lifespan"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I got mine used in '06 with 18000 miles on it and it was a great car. No complaints. Then 2 years ago, at about 65000 the trouble started (not out of the ordinary stuff for 65000 mile GM car). Like a domino effect all sorts of problems started and continued faster than I could keep up with. Simple stuff like brakes, rotors, struts, shocks, motor mounts, compressor, CV joints, some unexplained rattling in the front that no one seems able to find the source of, and now, having just broke 100,000 miles the transmission is going. Expected a much longer lifespan, but I've grown tired of dumping so much money into it every couple weeks. I've kept up with maintenance and repairs through the years, and I didn't beat it up too much, but over the last year I probably put about $2500+ into repairs and every month or so a new problem arrises. I was once madly in love with this car, but now I'm looking forward to getting her out of my life."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Horrible durability.

By on Thursday, April 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Cheap car"

Cons: "not reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Bought this car as a certified used car. No where near my expectations from a Chevy vehicle. Went in multiple time for many things. Engine is good but everything else interior and comfort is horrible. Replaced front speaker, fan blower motor was replaced and after 10K miles is squealing, center shift column, drivers door panel, passenger interior door handle, ambient temperature does not register properly, water leaked inside fan air box, resulting in mold smell, rear shocks went bad and were replaced, front strut mounts replaced, seat belt buckles replaced, cam shaft solenoids, all covered under the certified warranty. What if I things went bad and there was no warranty? Only thing that wasn't replaced under warranty was the recall for the power steering motor. All i can say is buyer beware for putting 30K on a car in 2 years without a warranty I would have been BROKE!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

In love...

By on Wednesday, June 17, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have been the proud owner of a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt for seven months now, and I have loved every minute of it. I am used to driving a six cylinder, so I was worried about the Cobalt being a four cylinder, but after test driving it, I was sold! With the Cobalt, you can get the pep of a six cylinder with the gas mileage of a four cylinder! In this economy, you cannot beat that. I have an average of 30 mpg with about 50/50 city/highway driving. It rides smooth, even over our Mississippi roads! The only pitfalls are the seat comfort, but, as another reviewer pointed out, this is not a luxury model. Also, if you change your own oil, you have to buy a special little gadget to get the cap off easily. These are small prices to pay with everything else you get. It's a very cute car, too! However, my boyfriend doesn't mind driving it, for it's not too feminine for a guy to drive. If you are looking for an attractive, small, gas efficient, affordable model, this is the one for you!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 268 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Cobalt near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement